We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hahei break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hahei Holiday Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hahei break”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Great location, right on the beach. Beautiful area of New Zealand. Facilities are well maintained and clean. Good range of accommodation options, we hired a kitchen cabin, which had everything we could need.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaNZ798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaheiHolidayResort, Front Office Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Hi there. Thank you for your review. Coromandel truly is a beautiful area, and we are fortunate to be located right on the beach! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    207
    47
    26
    7
See reviews for
280
226
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Nice outlook but the service is caravan park style (also no phone in room). This is possibly the furtherest distance from cathedral cove compared to other options and cafe and store are almost 15min walk from the villas. The villa had pests in the front curtains. We ran out of gas in our BBQ (which we had used once) on the 2nd night and as it was after 8pm we couldn't get assistance (stuffed up our dinner and breakfast plans). If they were refurbished and run seperately to the holiday park I may consider recommending to others. However my recommendation is stay somewhere else. Our best accomodation / experience was at the Pioneer Waterfront Apartments in Paihia. In retrospect, we would have been better off spending an extra 2 days in Paihia and not going to Cathedral Cove at all, which would have saved alot of time wasted on the road as well.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheWanderer1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaheiHolidayResort, Front Office Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2014
Hi There. Its unfortunate your visit with us wasn't enjoyable. The general store and surrounding restaurants are a short walk, only 700 metres and the walk to Cathedral Cove starts from Hahei Beach (which is just a few steps from the Villas). You are the first guest we've had complain about Cathedral Cove, which is one of New Zealand most enjoyed and visited natural tourist destinations. You won't find accommodation much closer! We're sorry you weren't aware staff are on duty 24/7 to assist you. This information is in your Villa compendium. We're unsure what you mean by 'pests'? It's really great that you enjoyed Paihia, another of New Zealand's popular holiday spots. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in Feb, having driven a rental car from Auckland. Easy to get to on a scenic drive. Friendly staff and very clean, comfortable room. We stayed in a garden studio unit of the Cathedral Cove Lodge, which is right on a beautiful beach. The unit has a pretty complete kitchen, so we could do breakfast and lunch in the room, and went out for dinner (althought there are only two restaurants in the vicinity open for dinner, they are quite good). The unit is airconditioned and has wi fi, and TV. We would definitely recommend this motel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaheiHolidayResort, Front Office Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Hahei Village will soon have a new eatery & boutique brewery providing further dining options within walking distance of the resort. Within 10 minutes drive there is also a range of superb restaurants and cafes. The Coromandel is often the first stop for overseas visitors flying into Auckland. Whether you take the Thames Coromandel Coast drive, or the Kopu Hikuai mountain range option, both are equally scenic. Thank you for noting our little piece of paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2014

This campsite is amazing, a real kiwi getaway! staff were very helpful, grounds were kept very clean and the location is perfect.The campsite we had was huge and was in a great location it also has a very safe feel to it which is important when camping. We would definately be returning in the future, loved it!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keentraveller_sara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaheiHolidayResort, Front Office Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Our staff enjoy sharing local knowledge and helping with any queries. We actively work to provide a safe and comfortable experience for all our guests. We're proud to be one of the few family owned, beachfront holiday parks in New Zealand. We look forward to hosting you well into the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Love Hahei and campsite makes for an exceptional family holiday.
Plenty of kids, tourists, young people and oldies. Great mix. Good camping spirit. Facilities adequate and well kept in busy times. Staff friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Nottooblond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaheiHolidayResort, Front Office Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Hahei Holiday Resort aims to keep the traditional Kiwi beach holiday alive by offering options for every family and traveller. Thank you for your positive response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Loved it, the new bungalows were incredible. Defo going back asap, true kiwiana right there. We went on our honeymoon, enough space for many more people though. Hot water beach had great surf, ideal!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maasive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaheiHolidayResort, Front Office Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Excellent! Hot Water Beach often turns out good surf. Great timing on such an occasion. Congratulations, we sincerely thank you for choosing Hahei Holiday Resort for your Honeymoon. See you again for your Anniversary! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We travelled up from Rotorua for the weekend to celebrate Valentine's Day and have a well needed break from work. We had an absolutely fantastic time. The holiday park itself was large but well spaced with decent sized sites. This allowed the place to feel quiet despite actually being quite busy. Facilities were clean and the showers were great, which were well needed after a hot day on the beach. The location is absolutely stunning- both nights we walked 50m from our site onto the beach with a bottle of wine to watch the sun go down. Absolute peace and tranquility.You cannot beat falling asleep to the sound of the sea. The place is also extremely well located to both Cathedral Cove and Hot Water Beach and also to the cafes and shops of Hahei. Would strongly recommend to others.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stugallimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaheiHolidayResort, Front Office Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for choosing to spend your special Valentines holidays at our resort. Our aim is always for our guests to leave happy and relaxed. Thanks for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hahei
5.8 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 17 in Whitianga
480 reviews
18.0 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
3.4 mi away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tatahi Lodge Motel
Tatahi Lodge Motel
#2 of 6 in Hahei
403 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Church Accommodation
0.5 mi away
Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hahei Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hahei Holiday Resort

Property: Hahei Holiday Resort
Address: Hahei Beach | 41 Harsant Avenue, Hahei 3542, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Hahei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Hahei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hahei Holiday Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience beautiful Hahei Beach in a Sea View Villa, Garden Studio or Beach Bungalow. Also available are comfortable cabins,large powered sites and tent sites.Walk along the beach to Cathedral Cove or collect a spade from the big reception office for constructing the natural spa bath at Hotwater Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hahei Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hahei Holiday Hotel Hahei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing