We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Camp in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hahei Holiday Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed for 3 days and have just returned. We stayed in Block F so were a long way from toilets and kitchen, laundry etc. Sites were big and staff were very friendly. A great camp in a great location but charging a premium. The beach.... to die for!

Room Tip: Block F and G a long way from toilets, laundry, kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WellingtonRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaheiHolidayResort, Front Office Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

We appreciate you taking the time post a review. F and G blocks are little further from the Beach, as the price reflects. Within Hahei Holidays, there is not a site further than a 4 minute walk to the beach! Rates are at a premium during Peak Season in the Coromandel. Shoulder season is a cheaper, and quieter option. With Hahei Beach on our doorstep, it's no wonder the staff are always smiling! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (731)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

555 - 561 of 731 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2014

We camped under the trees by the river, only a short stroll from the beach. The week after New Year was busy but a good family feel, do expect the odd late night - not a worry, just catch up on your sleep the next day under a tree.
A must to kayak to Cathedral Cove then out to the hole in the rock. Don't forget to go through the cave under the Pa. Allow adequate time to explore and relax.
When you have had enough of the kids sneak up to the café for coffee and cake. The dairy is well stocked and there is a walk in chiller to pick up your cold beer or wine daily.

Room Tip: We had an unpowered camp site in E Block by the stream which offers some shade to the tent during th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaheiHolidayResort, Front Office Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

The sites in E block are popular. You can pop your kayak directly in the stream and enjoy the afternoon shade. We love the proximity and convenience of shops in the Village. The new Brewery will be opening shortly for a sneaky afternoon pint. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I have stayed at this lovely site in the past and had booked a powered campsite for one week this Jan, had a change of work plans back in October and phoned to request a change or transfer of the booking. No Go and very unhelpful so just beware that even three months out if your camping booking changes there are implications: like losing a 50% deposit if you are not prepared to rebook Only in peak season which finishes the 31st Jan. I had requested a transfer to Feb when our situation would allow us but NO GO! Very unfriendly and very unhelpful for such a gorgeous location.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Shiona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaheiHolidayResort, Front Office Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Thank you for reminding guests to read and understand all the paperwork they receive. As with any booking or transaction, it is always good to check the 'fine print'. Our Peak Season terms and conditions are very specific. We have these in place due to the high number of bookings we receive, and we do not make exceptions so that it's fair for everyone. We are sorry that this has not allowed you to join us for the summer. We hope you will be able to enjoy a holiday at another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Our first time at this campground and fairly new to camping in NZ. We had a large powered site which was big enough to accommodate our large bell tent plus a smaller tent for Grandad, our eazyup and our vehicle. There were lots of families which was great for our small kids (age 3 & 5), Plenty of grass space for them to ride their bikes. My youngest actually learnt to ride her 2 wheel pushbike here for the first time so we won't ever forget this hol! Never too long a cue for a shower, clean toilets. Not even too noisy in the mornings, we slept until 7.30am most mornings! The location of the campsite is unbeatable, Hahei beach is beautiful. We will definitely go back again next year. WOuld recommend to all.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaheiHolidayResort, Front Office Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Welcome to Hahei, and camping in the Coromandel. We certainly promote Hahei Holidays as a family camp. All our sites are roughly 8 square metres leaving ample room for most families. We really appreciate your comments, and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We have stayed at this camp ground twice recently. The large tent site was wonderful, fitting a large tent + a small tent + a shelter space + a car. This visit we noticed the trees where we'd been had gone, which no doubt removed the noisy birds but made it very spare and the people there looked hot, which is a shame.

The large basic cabin was great, with a nice spot to sit and watch the world go by, to eat meals and even a small bench seat as well. The double bed was squashy but two lots of bunks gave us places to put things and for the kids to move around which was nice. A real bonus was the fridge with wee freezer compartment, the inside table and the tiny TV.

Our only negatives would be the way noise travels between the pairs of cabins, so you all have to go to bed and wake up at the same time whether you like it or not, and the limited number of showers and toilets on the site.

Considering the cost of the campground I think they could definitely look at this as we have stayed at others with lots more facilities, daily activities, visiting services (hot bread, coffee, fresh fish trucks and more) that charged a lot less.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Like2Travel08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaheiHolidayResort, Front Office Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Thank you for your comments. Due to last years winds as a safety measure unfortunately trees in E block had to go. The majority of the camp still has plenty of trees and shade.

All beds in accommodation are queen beds, and all the basic cabins are equipped with small fridges and balconies to enjoy the morning or afternoon sun.

We have plans for another ablution block in the future.

The camp continues to make a conscious decision to be non-commercialised. Local services are all within a 10 minute walk. Reception staff have advice on many local activities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

A reasonably good place to stay but pretty expensive really. Don't stay over Christmas and New Year unless you have good earplugs..... screaming kids early morning and teenagers letting off fireworks until 2 a.m.
Some of the cabins are getting a bit tired and need makeovers... especially at $175 a night!

Beach is beautiful but this place is no longer the "hidden treasure" of the Coromandel.Everyone knows about it and I mean everyone.

Room Tip: From tents to luxury villas... but prices start at $50 per night for an unserviced camp site
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faroutfella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaheiHolidayResort, Front Office Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

We do appreciate all feedback. With the volume of guests during the summer holidays there is going to be some noise. Over New Years fireworks are popular throughout Hahei where the noise travels.
Our rates are comparable with most accommodation options around the area. There is always the option to visit outside of peak season when the rates are lower and the children are generally back at school. We love the fact that more and more guests come to enjoy Hahei and surrounding beaches. With our range of accommodation – there's a bed or site suitable for most budgets.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed here just before Christmas and it was very good. The site is well maintained and the staff friendly and helpful. The location is second to none, being tucked in just behind the dunes on a lovely sandy beach with beautiful views out to sea.

Room Tip: Powered sites in block H are right on the beach, with the best views and quietest location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SPM_Dorset_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaheiHolidayResort, Front Office Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

We thank you! The team have great pleasure in reading positives reviews. This is what makes the hard work so satisfying. See you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hahei
17.8 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
5.5 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
513 reviews
13.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.5 mi away
Tatahi Lodge Motel
Tatahi Lodge Motel
#2 of 6 in Hahei
440 reviews
6.1 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hahei Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hahei Holiday Resort

Address: Hahei Beach | 41 Harsant Avenue, Hahei 3542, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Hahei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Hahei
Price Range: $60 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hahei Holiday Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience beautiful Hahei Beach in a Sea View Villa, Garden Studio or Beach Bungalow. Also available are comfortable cabins,large powered sites and tent sites.Walk along the beach to Cathedral Cove or collect a spade from the big reception office for constructing the natural spa bath at Hotwater Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hahei Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hahei Holiday Hotel Hahei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing