We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hahei Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Grumpy's Motel(Whitianga)
View Hotel
Anchorage Motel(Whitianga)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mana-Nui Motel(Whitianga)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Peninsula Motel(Whitianga)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (829)
Filter reviews
829 results
Traveler rating
487
247
59
29
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
487
247
59
29
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscamping groundbeach frontpowered sitecomfort cabincathedral covethe kitchenbeautiful beachhot water beachtoilet blockbeachfront villasea viewstray busgreat facilitiesgreat familycamper vandouble bedpeak season
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
660 - 665 of 829 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Friendly staff and a great spot! Inspite of a drop or two of rain (!) we had a lovely time and with small kids the facilities made the holiday really easy. Amazing to see rubbish bags collected from the tent every day - we'll be back thank you :-)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaheiHolidayResort, Front Office Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Thank you for your positive comments! Hahei was more fortunate during the brief downpour than some local beaches. Our ground staff are kept extra busy during Peak season to ensure the campers have clean surroundings. We'd love to see you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Thanks for a lovely relaxing stay. We were camped close to the beach, awesome listening to the waves close by. New Years Eve was great fun too. We did have a bit of rain but the excess water soon dried up when the sun came out again. Enjoyed the clean facilities and free showers too - nice surprise.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josheba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaheiHolidayResort, Front Office Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

You are welcome! Our long-term campers organise the popular new year celebration. We were thankful the rain was short lived this year. Smiles returned quickly once the sun started shining again. Thank you for noting the cleanliness of the facilities staff work so hard to maintain. See you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Gorgeous location, our campervan was parked directly in front of the beach. nly a short drive or walk to access the Cathedral Cove walkway. Toilet/shower facilities were clean and adequate facilities were provided. A great start to our NZ holiday!!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Anna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaheiHolidayResort, Front Office Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Excellent! We're happy your introduction to New Zealand started here. Enjoy the remainder of your holiday. We look forward to seeing you again, and really appreciate you taking the time to comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Fantastic location - right on the beautiful beach front and only a short drive or 30 min walk from the Cathedral Cove walkway. Small village close by with cafe/pizza/icecream and a shop with most of the basics for camping etc.
Toilet/shower facilities could perhaps do with an upgrade, but there's hot water (albeit in 5 min restrictions) and they do the trick.
BBQ area and kids play area are excellent.
Friendly staff
I will definitely be visiting again, I love this area of NZ.

Room Tip: We were camping in a motorhome - most spots are fine, some on the beach front. There are also cabins which I have stayed in before and are clean and some (at least) are ensuite and have kitchenettes.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuthAnna79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaheiHolidayResort, Front Office Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment. Our proximity to the stunning Hahei beach makes the resort a popular choice for visitors. The Hahei village provides most necessities and treats. There are future plans for ablution upgrades. We have a variety of accommodation options to suit all budgets and holiday syles.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stayed in one of the Cathedral Cove Villas on the beachfront and it had the most stunning view out over the ocean and the islands dotting the Coromandel. The Villa was perfect for us, as we stayed with our 15 month old daughter and it provided all the comforts of home, self-contained kitchen (decent fridge size), bath and shower etc. It also has a wonderful grassed area out the front of the apartments where our daughter could wander and play. The beach access was via a one minute walk and the location of the park to the store (small convenience store) was good. The staff were helpful and provided us with assistance in providing information on the nearest grocery stores, bookings for boat trips etc.

We would recommend families prepare for their stay in Hahei as it is very small with limited options for shopping and/or eating out. We ended up driving 45 minutes to another town to buy food supplies etc. Other than that though we had an absolutely wonderful time relaxing here and doing some great walks and drives to explore this truly beautiful part of the world.

Room Tip: The villas were very good, although the ground level room at the back of the villa did get very hot in the late afternoon (sun setting at the back of the villa) with limited air circulation.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMO80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaheiHolidayResort, Front Office Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thank you for your comments. The entire team at Hahei Holidays work hard to ensure guests enjoy their stay. Villas 7 and 8 are ideal for families with young children. The grassy area provides a safe area for playing. All necessities are provided to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Our reception staff have extensive local knowledge and are happy to answer any questions. We look forward to accommodating you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews