We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hahei Holiday Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing location”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We have stayed at this campsite a few times over the last couple of years and we come back because despite being expensive the location is incredible. Hahei is a beautiful beach and the campsite is right on the beach. Over the peak Christmas and New Year period the camp is extremely busy and you will wait for everything - showers, cooking etc. Outside of these times, the facilities are fine. Adding some showers (particularly female ones!) wouldn't go amiss but otherwise the camp has been slowly improving and it is noticeable that feedback is being considered. We have never had an issue with booking and have been accommodated near friends and family - but this is partly because we always choose the cheaper pitches.

Room Tip: If you are tenting - choose the lots further back as they are cheaper, quieter and still really clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarrieAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaheiHolidayResort, Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
WE SAY... Thank you for your support and great tip! Sites are cheaper in F and G block throughout the peak season, and a little quieter. Rigorous over hauling in the booking systems has meant that this year we have met over 90% of customer requests. We are aware that the facilities are stretched to the max over the ten day period from Christmas. Our Tip: February March is a stunning time to visit Hahei Holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    210
    47
    26
    7
See reviews for
287
230
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Great stay at Hahei once again. Lovely big camp sites right near the sea. How wonderful to wander over the sand dunes onto the beach. Friendly staff and the facilities were always clean. Thanks, we'll be back again!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaheiHolidayResort, Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you so much – it is always a pleasure to have you stay! There is nothing quite like collecting bunny tails off the sand dunes on your way back from a morning swim :). Autumn, Winter and Spring are beautiful also if you are able to take time out of a busy schedule.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Great location but terrible facilities. There were nowhere near enough toilets and showers for the number of people staying on the campsite. There were constant queues for everything. It would seem that the owners rely on the fabulous location to pull customers in. They really ought to look at investing some of the profit they must make from the high prices they charge....more toilets and showers needed..and they need to be cleaned more often and more thoroughly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephieDevonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaheiHolidayResort, Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Hi there – thank your for your comments. Many of the guests over this time book from year to year, and generation to generation, it is a popular destination and time of year. Facilities are pushed to the max for the 10 day period from Christmas Day through to the 7th or 8th of January. It is the busiest time in almost every coastal village or settlement, where you will queue for toilets showers supermarkets restaurants takeaways and ice creams. It is unfortunate that you are not able to come and enjoy the camping experience at a less busy time. We believe our team of cleaners, maintenance, security, office and admin staff are far from lazy, they are a team who work very hard all year to ensure that it is a pleasant experience for all who stay – we are sorry you did not enjoy your time in Hahei.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We planned our trip for New Years earlier in the year and during that time people had pulled out and dates were changed. We changed our reservation twice and Hahei holiday resort were more than happy to rearrange our booking with complete ease! We loved the environment and the facilitates were great plus direct access to Hahei beach.
Staff was friendly and we were happy with the price too. We loved our time there and will definitely look to book again :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonMonJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaheiHolidayResort, Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments. We are proud of the environment and feel very lucky to be close to such to some of the most spectacular coast line on the Coromandel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed here very recently. Wendy at the reception was awesome - very accommodating and helpful even when we arrived around 9 pm. The backpackers room where we stayed was also good. The toilets & showers were clean. The location is excellent too considering it is very near Hahei Beach, Cathedral Cove and just a short drive to Hot Water Beach. There were many people staying here during summer which made the place seem festive. We would definitely go back...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaheiHolidayResort, Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you, and you have made Wendy's day :). We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Hahei Holidays and look forward to sharing our knowledge of the area and other attractions and activities with you when you next come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Great location to enjoy the beach and nearby to hot beach and other bays and coves. Gentle surf beach which was great for young kids. Accommodation at the villas was super clean and very well laid out. Views are genuine and vast, you can see and hear the ocean all day. Awesome family holiday.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asdfgberichfic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Our villa was located just a minute walk from the beach facing the garden, the bbq was provided and we easily reached Cathedral Cove =)) There were also villas with a sea view and its own bbq however it was quite costly but i believe worth it to stay next time

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anya91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hahei
5.8 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
485 reviews
18.0 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
13.5 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
The Church Accommodation
0.4 mi away
Tatahi Lodge Motel
Tatahi Lodge Motel
#2 of 6 in Hahei
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hahei Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hahei Holiday Resort

Property: Hahei Holiday Resort
Address: Hahei Beach | 41 Harsant Avenue, Hahei 3542, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Hahei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Hahei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hahei Holiday Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience beautiful Hahei Beach in a Sea View Villa, Garden Studio or Beach Bungalow. Also available are comfortable cabins,large powered sites and tent sites.Walk along the beach to Cathedral Cove or collect a spade from the big reception office for constructing the natural spa bath at Hotwater Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hahei Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hahei Holiday Hotel Hahei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing