We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hahei Holiday Resort
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Loved our stay”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We planned our trip for New Years earlier in the year and during that time people had pulled out and dates were changed. We changed our reservation twice and Hahei holiday resort were more than happy to rearrange our booking with complete ease! We loved the environment and the facilitates were great plus direct access to Hahei beach.
Staff was friendly and we were happy with the price too. We loved our time there and will definitely look to book again :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonMonJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaheiHolidayResort, Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments. We are proud of the environment and feel very lucky to be close to such to some of the most spectacular coast line on the Coromandel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    210
    47
    26
    7
See reviews for
286
230
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed here very recently. Wendy at the reception was awesome - very accommodating and helpful even when we arrived around 9 pm. The backpackers room where we stayed was also good. The toilets & showers were clean. The location is excellent too considering it is very near Hahei Beach, Cathedral Cove and just a short drive to Hot Water Beach. There were many people staying here during summer which made the place seem festive. We would definitely go back...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaheiHolidayResort, Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you, and you have made Wendy's day :). We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Hahei Holidays and look forward to sharing our knowledge of the area and other attractions and activities with you when you next come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Great location to enjoy the beach and nearby to hot beach and other bays and coves. Gentle surf beach which was great for young kids. Accommodation at the villas was super clean and very well laid out. Views are genuine and vast, you can see and hear the ocean all day. Awesome family holiday.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asdfgberichfic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Our villa was located just a minute walk from the beach facing the garden, the bbq was provided and we easily reached Cathedral Cove =)) There were also villas with a sea view and its own bbq however it was quite costly but i believe worth it to stay next time

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anya91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Unlike other lodgings of similar cost, we found that this facility did not provide soap for the bathroom, blanket for the second bed, missing tv remote and no coffee or tea for breakfast; also wi-fi cost $4 for an hour. Staff, however, were friendly, helpful and sympathetic.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaheiHolidayResort, Front Office Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thanks for your comments. Luxury accommodation, such as the Garden View Studios, and the Sea View Villas provide tea, coffee and milk. Basic, kitchen and comfort cabins have traditionally not come with these trimmings. It has been a policy not to provide remotes in the cabins, however this is now under review. Unfortunately internet access throughout NZ is expensive – the internet provider that we use offers one of the best deals available to this area. We hope that you enjoy your stay in NZ.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamz
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

we stayed at hahei holiday resort for several days to explore coromandel and whitianga.
the place looks old but this is our first time in an accommodation site like this. the kitchen was good with all the plates and cutlerys and etc.. the bathroom and toilet were ok - the light in the toilet needed changing but it didnt bother us since we could just use the light from the shower area and there was ample toilet paper supply but the faucets needs to be changed since its still the old hot and cold 2 separate faucets. our double bed was comfortable and the linens were clean! the heater was excellent, though we had to wake up sometime during the night to turn it off, hehehe but not too bad at all. got disappointed because the tv was newish but didnt have a remote! they usually go together. anyway, our room looked very simple but gave us the necessary comforts.
will probably come back with insect repellant lotion as well! :-)

Room Tip: go for the comfort cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ela1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaheiHolidayResort, Front Office Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased that you had a comfortable stay at the Resort. Our apologies regarding the remote – it has been a policy not to provide remotes in the cabins – as a result of your comments this is now under review. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We paid for a beach front site for our camper van - beautiful outlook right on the beach and within walking distance to Cathedral Cove. However, the amenities were a trip back to the 1950/60's era. Such facilities must be a challenge to cleaners as structurally run down. The toilets closest to the sites were so small and close to each other it became quite an intimate encounter with others coming and going at the same time!
It was our first night in our camper van and we did laugh as the amenities were unbelievably poor yet the location had so much potential. We wondered if this was typical in NZ - expensive too.
However, we did have a view and the showers were hot.

Room Tip: Choose a high site with a view and use your own facilities!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2wombats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaheiHolidayResort, Front Office Manager at Hahei Holiday Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Hahei Holidays has been established for 50 years and is family owned and operated. Opened in its day to offer families a camping holiday, no running water, camp kitchen or porcelain toilets - mail was dropped in by aircraft....the hey day of camping!

The amenities in question are loved for their old school appeal by as many as they are disliked by those who have visited more recently built facilities.

Hahei Holiday Resort offers luxury accommodation for those who would like luxury – and clean facilities for those who would like to camp retro in our slice of paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hahei
5.8 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
18.0 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
3.4 mi away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tatahi Lodge Motel
Tatahi Lodge Motel
#2 of 6 in Hahei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Church Accommodation
0.5 mi away
Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hahei Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hahei Holiday Resort

Property: Hahei Holiday Resort
Address: Hahei Beach | 41 Harsant Avenue, Hahei 3542, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Hahei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Hahei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hahei Holiday Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience beautiful Hahei Beach in a Sea View Villa, Garden Studio or Beach Bungalow. Also available are comfortable cabins,large powered sites and tent sites.Walk along the beach to Cathedral Cove or collect a spade from the big reception office for constructing the natural spa bath at Hotwater Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hahei Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hahei Holiday Hotel Hahei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing