We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved every minute of our stay”
Review of Paperbark Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Paperbark Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Paperbark camp must be as near to perfection as possible. We were warmly greeted on arrival. Shown to our "tent" and given a run through of all the amenities. We chilled out on our private balcony enjoying the solitude & peace. Ultra comfortable bed with luxurious linen guaranteed a great night's sleep. Breakfast was delicious. Best granola ever, fresh fruit creamy yoghurt, lovely hot options & excellent coffee - faultless. Lots of activities offered or do nothing - our choice. Then dinner - wow dinner. The restaurant at Paperbark Camp is homely - fire and relaxation areas and simple seating but the food is 6 star. Every mouthful was stunning. I didn't think the matching wines provided very good value - but the food was so good I couldn't complain. Service was friendly & professional. One very small point - please use linen napkins in such a good restaurant - paper napkins are not respectful of the quality of the food. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Paperbark camp and will definitely return with friends.

Room Tip: Understand that this is a luxury camp - but it's still canvas tents. You may get a little bit of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SurferPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 237 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Paperbark on Easter Monday and the day after. I was extremely disappointed with the overall experience considering the cost of staying for 2 days. We had dinner one night with a set menu which was different to the website and not really worth the money. The cost for 2 days was well over $1000. It is a glorified tent. The breakfast was terrible and the service was worse. I will never recommend this place to anyone. I felt the staff couldn't have cared about our stay or whether we enjoyed it. It was noisy all day, no time to relax and quite frankly, the Red Balloon company we booked this through would be best to distance themselves from this poor outfit.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
11  Thank Westerntravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShonaPhilps, Manager at Paperbark Camp, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Hi Westerntravelling,

I'm really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your experience at Paperbark Camp. Your feedback is really important to us and I'd love to talk to you about it a little further.

If you'd be so kind, please send me your contact details to Shona@Paperbarkcamp.com.au and I will be in touch.

Warm regards,

Shona Philps
Camp Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

2 night midweek stay. Check in was quick. We stayed in the deluxe tent called kingfisher, I liked the overall look of the tent it was clean and well presented. You can expect all the usual supplies robes,slippers,tioletries, also a good supply of aerogard and mozzie coils. the walk around the grounds showed us campfire, some canoes a huge hammock, also communal lounge, fireplace, station for recharge of all electronics like phone,laptop,etc. This is also the restaurant The Gunyah for breakfast and dinner and bar snacks its licensed. The food here is the star no doubt about it. The breakfast cooked to perfection both mornings. The dinners on both nights was exceptional the menu was completely different for dinners and completely loved both. Overall it was pleasant but not enough to warrant a second visit the tents are serviced so this must be relative to the price, the location yes its scrubland with some perfect paperbarks trees and peaceful with the odd kangaroo thumping past the tent with some local birdlife you would expect to see in the area. The staff were casual in their manner the stand out staff person to me was the french guy he truly looked happy to be there doing his job. It is a quick easy drive to hyams beach,greenpatch or huskisson.

Room Tip: go deluxe so you can experience a hot bubble bath in the bush take your own bubbles, I also took ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phillirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

The weather definitely has a huge bearing on this place.unfortunately for us it has rained the whole time and we will be relieved to travel on tomorrow to somewhere more civilised.
We are in a luxury tent,it is large and the bed is good,however just about everything feels and is,damp. There are the standard Mosquitos and cockroaches as well,we haven't seen any animals but that's ok
What is definitely not acceptable is supplying a battery to power a breathing machine which the ceases to work in the middle of the night.
We were told when this was requested that they deal withis sort of request every week so no problem. However at 3am it is a problem which is not fixable then
Also not acceptable is being told that your second cup of coffee( and bear in mind this is a small cup,not even a mug) has to be paid for!
Are they serious? If a full breakfast is included then surely that includes your coffee?
When we queried this, thinking the waitress was having some sort of joke,the answer was to direct us to the free chicory tasting powdered coffee.
Food for dinner was well presented but beans stringy and these are an extra!
We won't have the chance to return but would like to think they can improve so that my cynical nature doesn't just think that this place is a bit of scrubland with a few fancy tents on it selling a so called experience to people.

Stayed: April 2014
7  Thank joannaf272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MasterGlamper, Owner at Paperbark Camp, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear guests,
Thank you for providing your feedback, Management have taken it on board and have addressed these problems. We've contacted your travel agent who were not aware that special arrangements were required and would have informed us should they have known. Having met you at your tent in such a fine mood, we're deeply sorry your opinion has changed and hope that perhaps one day you may consider visiting again.
Kind regards,
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I wouldn't normally write reviews, but I felt compelled to so that other couples have some more info before they fork out $500/night.
We have stayed in a bunch of luxury Eco places before (Ratua private island being our favourite), and I think the trip advisor views of paperbark compared to that are quite misleading.
3 pluses, 3 question marks...
+ getting away!
+ tent and bathroom were very cool & natural & secluded
+ brekky very good
? It is built on a wetland (aka swamp) beautiful for bird spotting, but odd choice for a camp, regardless of time of year, suggest the whole place (including bedding your clothes tent etc) will be very damp
? Service - frankly there wasn't any. Receptionist and wait staff reminded me of a best western motel at best. Whilst it's nice to be left in peace, for a place with only 12 tents, the service could have been charismatic and could have made the weekend. Relais and chateaux call it the "mark of the innkeeper" and whilst I read a nice story on the website I didn't feel it at all at the camp
? The bed was 2 singles stuck together so had a big seam down it - not conducive to the romantic weekend thing...

Overall - a cool experience but very overpriced for wet location and lacking service. Surely there are better Eco camps in Australia??? If not, I'm opening one!!!!



  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank HungryHelensAdvent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Yes, the safari style tents (spacious, beautifully furnished, clean hardwood floors, supremely comfortable bed, hot water showers) made for a very special experience unto itself, but the star of Paperbark is it's food. We went for the Pamper package which included Dinner for Two for both nights, and Breakfast for Two each morning. The menu is exceptional, the ingredients fresh, and the plating exquisite. Each meal was a culinary experience rivalling a big city experience and we are picky diners! From the fresh baked corn bread, to the crisp roast chicken, the care and passion was blatant in every plate presented.

Beyond the food, we found Paperbark to be a beautifully quiet place, serene - "wild" enough to wake up to bounding kangaroos steps from the tent yet "civil" enough with great amenities. We stayed in the Bandicoot, which contrary to previous reviews was very quiet, we could glimpse the main building through the trees around the back of the tent, but it was no issue at all. We also took advantage of the free kayaks and had lovely early morning jaunts down the Creek.

A great value, and a lovely establishment. Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yeesumx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed here for a weekend - it was deadly quiet! very comfortable accommodation however there is no electricity in the rooms there are lights which are solar and thats about it! At first I thought oh no what have I gotten myself into but it was actually very nice not to have a tv, or fridge, etc. I loved the open air bathroom however I wouldn't recommend going any later than March because I imagine you would freeze! It was very enjoyable to get back to nature.

Room Tip: We had a delux tent - the Kingfisher it was the last tent and therefore very private!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woollamia
4.5 mi away
Dolphin Shores
Dolphin Shores
#1 of 1 in Vincentia
306 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jervis Bay Holiday Park
Jervis Bay Holiday Park
#1 of 7 in Huskisson
279 reviews
2.3 mi away
Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay
Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay
#2 of 6 in Huskisson
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Palm Beach Caravan park
Palm Beach Caravan park
#1 of 1 in Sanctuary Point
43 reviews
3.2 mi away
Huskisson Beach B&B
Huskisson Beach B&B
#4 of 6 in Huskisson
101 reviews
2.6 mi away
Huskisson Beach Motel
Huskisson Beach Motel
#1 of 4 in Huskisson
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paperbark Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paperbark Camp

Address: 571 Woollamia Rd, Woollamia, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2540, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven > Jervis Bay > Woollamia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Woollamia
Price Range: $283 - $405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paperbark Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining unique luxury tented accommodation with wonderful food & warm hospitality, Paperbark Camp is a peaceful bush retreat in beautiful Jervis Bay - think camping for grown-ups! Just over two hours drive from Sydney on the unspoilt south coast of NSW, Jervis Bay is a nature lovers paradise with spectacular coastal scenery, clear and calm water for swimming and pristine white sand beaches for strolling and relaxing on... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paperbark Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paperbark Camp Hotel Woollamia
Paperbark Camp Australia/Woollamia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing