We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“canoeing on woollami creek”
Review of Paperbark Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Paperbark Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We loved the uniqueness of this place. When travelling we avoid resorts because of their predictability in food and accommodation. Paperbark camp tents were special, with their outside showers and toilets I felt like a hippy communing with nature (but in a private and discrete way)The bed was one of the best I have ever slept on. If you can afford it stay in the king deluxe tent. It is the biggest with the best furnishings.The food was excellent. Given it was a set menu I ate food that I wouldn't normally choose, and wasn't disappointed.

Room Tip: If you decide to canoe to Husskinson (6km) make sure you travel with the tides each way. To do this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wildsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 233 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2013

Each campsite was beautiful, private and surrounded by bush.

We were visited by kangaroos, possums and parrots.

The accommodation was very comfortable, intimate, well designed and well finished.

Standard breakfasts and optional dinners were a treat for our tastebuds.

The staff were enthusiastic, friendly and most obliging.

The coastal delights of Huskisson and Jervis Bay were only 10 minutes away.

Resting in the floating hammock was a real joy.

With one day intermittent showers and one of sunshine, we experienced the best of the weather conditions the camp offered.

I would recommend this eco retreat to family and friends.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights, and did not enjoy it as much as I had hoped. Advertised as luxury camping, it certainly wasn't up to SouthAfrican standards, with somewhat worn furniture, and little space round the bed, which I will say was extremely comfortable. There is no electricity, and the battery lights hardly bright enough to read by. It was also very cold when we stayed, and in temperatures approaching zero the bath, shower and toilet being open to the outside was not a plus feature. There was no heating at all, and I felt frozen.
The food was good, but no choice at all for the evening meal. Also you are only allowed one cup of coffee for breakfast. If you want another they will charge $3.50, which, considering the cost of a stay I think is disgraceful.
One good feature was free wi-fi in the reception area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Levoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShonaPhilps, Front Office Manager at Paperbark Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Hi Levoyageur,

It was lovely to meet you both last week and we really appreciate you leaving a review for us. However, It sounds like we didn't communicate very well with you and for that, we are really sorry.

The solar powered lights ought to be bright enough to read and play by, when they dim it's simply a very quick job for one of our more-than-happy to oblige staff, to make them shine bright again. We almost certainly could have helped you keep cosy warm as after 15 years of operation, we have a host of tricks up our sleeves. I hope that the cooler weather did not put too much of a dampener on your stay.

You've noted the set menu for dinner. Thank you for bringing this up, we love a chance to share our enthusiasm. We're aiming to give our guests a better experience at a much more cost effective price point. To date we've had lots of good feedback. Ideally, you just turn up and we take care of the rest!

If you're ever back in Australia and would like to experience Paperbark Camp again, please do get in touch on Info@paperbarkcamp.com.au

Warm regards,
Shona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We booked 3 nights at Paperbark Camp via the Travelzoo Top 20 Newsletter - and I'm so glad we did.

The tents are amazing and we have not had a better night sleep in a long time (that is once my partner got over the existence of possums scurrying around the place!). We woke up to a perfectly still morning only to find kangaroos hopping past our tent, before enjoying an amazing breakfast buffet (best granola I've ever had).

The outdoor bathrooms were a very cool experience, with every amenity you need being supplied.

That afternoon we borrowed one of the complimentary canoes and paddled to Huskisson - which took about 2.5 hours. Be aware that the current in this river is very strong, and on our return journey we were forced to rent a tinnie from Huksy Hire Boats and tow ourselves back.

Dinner at the restaurant was just okay. A little disappointing for the price that you pay. There are a number of very nice restaurants in Huskisson that I'd highly recommend. Locals tip - go to the Husky RSL for a beer afterwards and take advantage of their free shuttle bus back to the camp (or pay the $20 cab fare).

Most of our time was spent relaxing on our extremely large balcony with a drink and book in hand. I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MattyWhyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShonaPhilps, Assistant Manager at Paperbark Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Hello Whytie78,

Thank you so very much for your lovely review. The team here work so hard and are so passionate about making sure you enjoy every moment. Feedback like yours keeps us going!

I do want to apologise for not being able to get your canoes back to camp. We would usually have a vehicle available to collect guests in emergencies. Unfortunately, they won't fit in my little hatch back!

Many thanks again and we do hope to see you here in camp in the future!

Warm regards,
Shona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

As others have said, the tent was very comfortable, but do beware - the solar lighting is not strong enough to read or play games by - you need to walk through the trees to the main lounge in the evening if you are not going to go to bed at sundown - and we got very cold - there is no heating at all. The restaurant is excellent - the best meal in weeks - I actually felt it was more a restaurant with tents, rather than a camp, as most diners were not staying at Paperbark when we were there. It did seem a little odd that there was no heat in the tents - the nearest village is only 5-10 minutes drive away, so you are not miles from anywhere as is the case with other camps we have stayed at.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Such a great place to stay and escape. Everything you need is in and around the camp. Food was amazing! Highly recommend this to all and try to stay at least 3 nights to truly experience the Aussie bush. The outdoor bath a must along with visits to the many surrounding beaches

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We chose Paperbark Camp for a much needed weekend away to rejuvinate, away from the hussle and bussle of life. We booked the 'Pamper Package' and it was everything we expected and more. Absolutely amazing accommodation, in immaculate condition, right in the middle of nature.
We stayed in one of the Deluxe safari tents, 'Boobook'. The tents are extremely clean and very tastefully done, bearing a luxurious yet minimalistic feel. I specifically enjoyed the open-air bathroom. There are no power points, so leave your hairdryer at home and don't bother charging your phone! Although if you're desperate, the front desk are more than happy to do it for you.
The restaurant in itself is worth a trip to, if you're ever in Jervis Bay. We had a three course meal on both nights, and can hands down say that Gunyah has world-class food. Incredibly fresh produce, carefully selected and balanced flavours, with precision plating. The breakfast included as part of the B&B was also great, with an array of fresh options as part of the buffet, together with a selection of hot breakfast dishes which change each day.
The service at both Paperbark and Gunyah was almost faultless and we were made to feel completely at home, and almost like part of the family. We met Jeremy, the owner, and enjoyed hearing the story of how Paperbark came to be.
I would absolutely recommend this to anyone I came across looking for an experience like no other, only 2.5 hours away from Sydney. Book the pamper package and take full advantage of the hour-long massages on your deck, the three course dinners, the buffet breakfasts, the canoes/kayaks, bikes, campfire, service, location and incredible accommodation.
It was one of the best experiences we have had and would not hesitate to return at the next opportunity.
Thank you to the wonderful Paperbark team for providing such an amazing weekend for us!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KSmith44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woollamia
4.5 mi away
Dolphin Shores
Dolphin Shores
#1 of 1 in Vincentia
299 reviews
23.7 mi away
Bannisters by the sea
Bannisters by the sea
#2 of 8 in Mollymook
585 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jervis Bay Holiday Park
Jervis Bay Holiday Park
#1 of 7 in Huskisson
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Huskisson Beach Motel
Huskisson Beach Motel
#1 of 4 in Huskisson
277 reviews
2.3 mi away
Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay
Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay
#2 of 6 in Huskisson
156 reviews
3.2 mi away
Huskisson Beach B&B
Huskisson Beach B&B
#4 of 6 in Huskisson
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paperbark Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paperbark Camp

Address: 571 Woollamia Rd, Woollamia, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2540, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven > Jervis Bay > Woollamia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Woollamia
Price Range: $289 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paperbark Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining unique luxury tented accommodation with wonderful food & warm hospitality, Paperbark Camp is a peaceful bush retreat in beautiful Jervis Bay - think camping for grown-ups! Just over two hours drive from Sydney on the unspoilt south coast of NSW, Jervis Bay is a nature lovers paradise with spectacular coastal scenery, clear and calm water for swimming and pristine white sand beaches for strolling and relaxing on... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paperbark Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paperbark Camp Hotel Woollamia
Paperbark Camp Australia/Woollamia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing