We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience - Loved the area”
Review of Paperbark Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Paperbark Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado, USA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience - Loved the area”
Reviewed July 7, 2008

This was our first visit to Australia from the US. We stayed at the Paperbark Camp in April for 3 nights and it rained considerably. Everything stayed dry in the tents but the bedding always felt damp. The beds were comfortable and the tent contained conveniences you would need such as bug spray and candles. Minimal towels. Nice covered porch area to sit and read or just enjoy the rainforest. The canvas sides of the tent did leak a little in a couple areas but fortunately we kept our belongings away from the tent walls and they stayed dry. The tents are on the small side but sufficient. Far apart enough for privacy. The outdoor bath was nice (not totally private but close enough), plenty of hot water and ours came with a frog that kept appearing in the toilet! I would suggest to the owners a real screen door instead of the zippered tent door to the bath area. In the middle of the night, the zipper is loud and a hassle. The owners should also really consider paving the road to the camp because it was a muddy mess due to the rain. Our rental car agency gave us a little flack when we returned the car telling us taking the car 'off road' was not allowed. The food in the restaurant was excellent, as was the service. You have to drive to the beaches but they are well worth the drive!

  • Liked — Beauty of the area
  • Disliked — The muddly road to the camp
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank COTravelers22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    62
    28
    13
    2
See reviews for
30
175
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level 6 Contributor
369 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2008

My wife and I stayed here in November 2003, as part of our Australian trip of a lifetime. The tents are fabulous, luxury hotel rooms surrounded by canvas. The staff was very nice and accomodating. We hiked the nature trail, and while we were daunted by the vast number of aggressive mosquitoes, the complimentary bottle of "Mozzie F.O." worked incredibly well. (We made sure to pick up some of that before we left.)

We loved being surrounded by the incredible birdsong, of which there is nothing comparable in the USA. The butcherbirds made regular trips to our tent to see if we had any food worth nicking. A pair of possums came up to the window to check us out when we were dining at the restaurant, and while we were careful with all our belongings they did manage to eat our bar of soap one evening.

The food at the restaurant was incredible. One evening they seemed to be taking a long while to present us with the check, and when I inquired they informed me that they were preparing our hot water bottle! It had gotten quite chilly, so they presented them to all their guests. I had never used one before, but it really did the trick.

A wonderful experience in a wonderful setting.

  • Liked — Eco-tents
  • Disliked — Lack of nearby activities
  • Stayed November 2004, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank renfield1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2008

We went here for my husbands birthday over a weekend. It is nicely set "tents" surrounded by bush. You wouldn't know that there is more than your tent. Breakfast and dinner are included in the rate and both are scrumptous. if your lucky the local flying possums will come and check you out over dinner.

The town of Huskison is a great place to browse and the camp provides cannoes and bycilcles for guest to use.

  • Liked — The interaction with the outdoors
  • Stayed March 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelChick78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2008

My girlfriend and I spent a night at Paperbark last week after deciding to spend some time outside Sydney. It was mentioned in the LP, and after googling it and seeing the pics of the tents, decided it was a must do.
The location was great, it only being a short drive from several gorgeous beaches (Murrays beach in particular being absollutely postcard perfect and very quiet - you have to pay couple of dollars to enter national park is all to be aware of).
The tents were superb, safari style, lovely inside, great outside shower which was lots of fun! Tents have isolated feel which is welcome given the fact the walls are only fabric thick!
The food at the restuarant was quite simply outstanding, very high quality in presentation and taste. The menu was very good and well priced. Dining in the main treehouse by candlelight while looking over the trees was special.
The camp provide bikes and kayaks for the creek which was also pretty cool.
Finally, the staff were incredibly helpful, offering a wealth of advice on local activities which was invaluable. It was a shame we couldn't stay longer.

The only downpoints are:
cost - quite expensive despite how good it was, we got midweek special and otherwise might not have went
The website does not make it clear that the beach is not right on the doorstop, we were surprised on arrival to find it was a drive away after planning to kick off driving shoes and head straight to the white sands!

  • Liked — Tents and Food
  • Disliked — Cost
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaunGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2008

paperbark camp was an interesting experience, glorified camping i call it. the tent itself was a bit smaller than i had expected but it was very nicely laid out with pergo flooring, high ceilings and a full (outside) bathroom. the water was hot for showering, we were a bit hesitatnt becuase prying eyes could see us from the right angles, but since its a small camp, everyone pretty much keeps to themselves so it was fine.

at night, i wish there was more light, but we enjoyed the eco-friendliness of the camp overall, using solar power in the tents, reducing plastic, etc. so it was all understandable. noise wasnt really an issue per se, its just the natural sounds of the outdoors including crickets, birds, animals. actually the first night it was a bit difficult sleeping becuase my wife was freaked out due to the possums. you could hear the tent door velcro slowly unsnapping as they tried to get into. the rest of the nights, making sure the tent was secure and some strategically placed lugguge out our minds at ease. by the end, the sounds didnt bother a bit and waking up with wallabies calming eating grass just 2ft from the tent was a real treat.

service in the gunyah (main lodge) was great for us. breakfast cooked to your order were delicious and at night complimentary coffees and hot chocolate was so good. the staff for us made sure all our needs were met to and arranged activities outside the camp for us to do also with plenty of recommendations. all in all we enjoyed our stay here, it was certainly something out of the ordinary!

  • Liked — kind staff, great food, eco-sensitive, fun being in a tent
  • Disliked — hard to find, paths to tents not well defined/lighted
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JuniorAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2008

My wife and I needed a break after the madness of Christmas. We wanted something different and not the usual commercial hotel stay, but definately not camping.
The Paperbark Camp is not really a camp but a hotel with unconnected rooms joined only by a short but pleasant walk in the bush to the restaurant and reception. The tents were bigger than some hotel rooms I've stayed in and certainly more romantic. They were like something from a scene from 'Out of Africa' (lucky Robert Redford or the lions did'nt turn up!)
The staff were freindly and helpful and after a couple of days of great fresh breakfasts and gourmet dinners they felt more like family than staff.
If you only have a short break but want it to feel timeless and far from the madding crowd this is the place.
Quintessential Australia without the quintessential...

  • Liked — Theres no rush, just take your own time.
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renderman_306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2007

Phenomenal! Given the pages of positive feedback in the camps guestbook, I would guess that anything less that complete satisfaction is far from the norm.
The camp tents were, indeed, tents, so this may not suit everyone. These tents however, are in the tradition of African Safari accommodation and take on the provision of 5 star luxury. Not being one that is overly keen on the usual form of camping, I think just about anyone willing to chance bad weather would enjoy this fantastic environment. Out of town, it is peaceful and surrounded by the true environment of the area and the wildlife can be heard and seen as they inhabit the surrounding bushland. The tents, themselves, are extremely well insulated from the cold (we had a fair bit of wind, but otherwise beautiful weather) and well set out with a real bed, timber floors, lighting and, my favourite element, outdoor bathroom (partially screened) with steaming hot water – perfect after snorkelling the fresh waters of the South Coast. The tents are surrounded by natural scrub with cleared tracks to each tent and to the river. This means that you are completely private and we absolutely loved the idea of being able to shower whilst appreciating the natural beauty of a fantastic part of Australia.
Our expectations were blown out of the water by the completely original and divine flavours of the food served in The Gunyah Restaurant. The staff were informal, but friendly and extremely helpful – perfectly suited to the environment of the camp. With its relaxed ski lodge feel, our dining there on both nights of our stay cemented our love of Paperbark Camp and the feeling that we had a truly relaxing and romantic weekend.

  • Liked — outdoor bathroom - showering with views of the bush
  • Disliked — using the toilet with my new partner in the tent (being separated by canvas) - the relationship, however, grew leaps and bounds!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travadplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woollamia
23.7 mi away
Bannisters by the sea
Bannisters by the sea
#2 of 8 in Mollymook
561 reviews
4.5 mi away
Dolphin Shores Hotel
Dolphin Shores Hotel
#1 of 1 in Vincentia
285 reviews
2.3 mi away
Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay
Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay
#2 of 6 in Huskisson
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Jervis Bay Caravan Park
Jervis Bay Caravan Park
#1 of 7 in Huskisson
255 reviews
2.6 mi away
Huskisson Beach Motel
Huskisson Beach Motel
#1 of 4 in Huskisson
265 reviews
8.5 mi away
South Coast Retreat
South Coast Retreat
#1 of 2 in Greenwell Point
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paperbark Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paperbark Camp

Property: Paperbark Camp
Address: 571 Woollamia Rd, Woollamia, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2540, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven > Jervis Bay > Woollamia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Woollamia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paperbark Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining unique luxury tented accommodation with wonderful food & warm hospitality, Paperbark Camp is a peaceful bush retreat in beautiful Jervis Bay - think camping for grown-ups! Just over two hours drive from Sydney on the unspoilt south coast of NSW, Jervis Bay is a nature lovers paradise with spectacular coastal scenery, clear and calm water for swimming and pristine white sand beaches for strolling and relaxing on... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paperbark Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paperbark Camp Hotel Woollamia
Paperbark Camp Australia/Woollamia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing