We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Camping in style”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Paperbark Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Paperbark Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Camping in style”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

I discovred this place by chance, and once I did wanted to try it.
The tents:
Very comfortable and spacious with ensuite (open air) and soft bed. We tried the deluxe and I recommend this option. It is not luxury as an african safari tent but is nice all the same. A possum tried to enter each night - a part of the bush experience
The logde: good food and service. Breakfast was ok but only instant coffee included in the price.
The area: beautiful beaches!! It was wonderful even if the weather wasn't great.
Do I recommend it? It depends. Sure it means having a shower with a gigantic spider, but it also means waking up to the sound of the bush and seeing kangeroos jumping around the tent, so for me I do recommend it. But if you are pure " city slicker" then not so much....

Room Tip: Book the deluxe tent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missy2011Oslo_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    61
    28
    13
    2
See reviews for
30
172
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Having read about this luxury campground in the BA Highlife magazine months earlier I was delighted to be brought here for a night of ‘glamping’ as a surprise following my boyfriend proposing to me during our vacation in Australia. We had a deluxe tent ‘Kookaburra’ on the edge of the site and the décor and amenities could be compared with a luxury hotel. We strongly recommend eating dinner at the restaurant. The menu was divine, and particularly memorable was the iced chocolate mousse for dessert which could be the nicest sweet we’ve ever enjoyed. Breakfast is also top notch - best granola ever.

Our stay was brief but we were able to take advantage of the bikes and kayaks offered to guests to explore the area further. One note, the hotel provides a number of mosquito repellent products so use them in abundance to ensure itchy bites don’t detract from a dream stay!!!

Shona at reception couldn’t have been more helpful, from the start when my boyfriend was planning the surprise to wishing us off as we left the hotel and is part of a smashing team of staff.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms aren't overlooked by neighbours so a bit more private, especially as the bathroom i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueSilvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We have driven past Papper Bark many times on our visits to Huskisson and recently booked for dinner, we had a very pleasant evening in the natural bush surroundings, the meal and service was exellent, its worth a visit if you are looking for something different.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We had the most amazing time at this unique style of lodging. It really is a glamping experience. it is very peaceful and quiet and you feel like you are in a remote area. We loved that you could relax in your tent with no Tv and no noise, yet walk to the restuarant and eat and be social and then go back to your treehouse and feel apart of nature. The Restuarant was a highlight of the night and we never got sick of it. At the end of our meal we would sit on their lounges and talk and drink and laugh while being surrounded by other camping moguls. There is a main issue that everyone keeps mentioning and it is the mossies. yes they are pretty vicious and very real. Be prepared!! Paperbark camp does provide you with all the utensils though to get this little suckers. We did attempt the canoeing, however the river was pretty melow and not very adventourous for us. so we went back to the camp and ventured off to huskinsins. Another highlight of the trip was the cinema. It is tiny and a great experience and has been around for decades.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGattino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MasterGlamper, Guest Relations Manager at Paperbark Camp, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Hello TheGattino,

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Paperbark Camp is situated in 88 acres of Australian bush. The tents are solar powered with limited telephone signal allowing guests to 'switch off' whilst here.

The Gunyah, being aboriginal for 'meeting place' is nestled right in the middle of the camp and as you mentioned, is the social heart of Paperbark Camp. Often to be found, are guests making new friends by the open fire. Unfortunately, you are spot on about the mozzies too; like any nature based activity, there are discomforts that must be managed. While we are busy working on an eco-friendly solution, we have provided both natural and deet based mosquito repellents to be found in each of the tents.

Thank you for the lovely review. It means a lot to all the staff here. Hope to see you back with us again soon!

Warm regards,

Shona Philps
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
85 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Had a fantastic two night weekend stay last November! We stayed in Pelican, one of the standard tents, and it was awesome. The bed was so comfortable, loved the outdoor shower under the stars and the comfy chairs on the deck out front. We had no problems with privacy using the bathroom as some other reviews have mentioned. Both mornings we saw a kangaroo with its Joey right outside our tent. The Gunyah Restaurant was brilliant - we only planned to eat there on the first night, but ended up eating there both nights as it was so good. Loved the free bikes (a beautiful ride to Jervis Bay and along the beachside cyclepaths) and the Kayaks. Management was very helpful - unfortunately we had a problem with our car on the second day and they were really good about helping us out and looking after us. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyNik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MasterGlamper, Guest Relations Manager at Paperbark Camp, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Hi SydneyNik,

Thank you for your lovely and honest review. We do get a lot of Eastern Grey Kangaroos hopping around the camp but to have seen a joey as well was an extra treat. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the delicious local produce in The Gunyah. Chef's Doug, Filip & Lou put a lot of effort in to sourcing local, sustainable produce and take great pride in their work.

One of the pleasures of being a small establishment, is that we are able to connect with our guests and offer a more personal service, I hope everything was easily sorted out with your car.

Warm regards,

Shona Philps
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

What a unique experience this was!.. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and stayed only one night as we live fairly close by.The accommodation is very comfortable and unique tucked away in the bush with peace and quiet and only the birds to break the silence.The king sized bed was comfortable and made for a good nights sleep despite some of the animal noises. We only stayed in a regular tent (not the luxury) but felt it was perfectly fine. The staff were extremely friendly and the 'tents' are really quirky bush houses with canvas walls and everything you need for a relaxing break. There is no tv or much mobile phone reception so it really is a place to 'get away from it all' and relax. They are placed far enough apart so you cannot see anyone at all which is lovely.
The highlight though, was the dinner in the Gunyah restaurant. It was outstanding and very memorable. Even the pre dinner drinks on the elevated veranda were beautifully presented and the olives were local produce (as was much of the dinner ingredients). It was one of the most interesting menus I have seen (and I have travelled extensively worldwide.. all stars) with unusual combinations which worked beautifully. Although it was expensive it was a case of 'you get what you pay for'... and it was worth every cent and we will be talking about it for years!. (and we will be back).
The only complaint I have, I suppose is that the bathroom products were rather tacky and the shower timer didn't work.. but that is a minor complaint in an otherwise perfect stay .

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmandaOZ09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MasterGlamper, Guest Relations Manager at Paperbark Camp, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Hello Amanda,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We always take guest feedback on board and it’s so nice to hear when we get it right! We really enjoyed your visit.

We use Out Of Eden bath products created specifically for Paperbark Camp containing mandarin peel and peppermint oil. In keeping with our green thumb, we had ceramic pumps made locally rather than single use plastic dispensers typically found in hotels.
If you have any thoughts on how we could improve, please don’t hesitate to let me know.

We’re so glad you enjoyed dinner at The Gunyah and really do look forwards to welcoming you back to stay with us again!

Warmest regards,

Shona Philps
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We loved glamping at Paperbark Camp! The location is gorgeous and loved the roaming Kangaroos with their joeys, possums, birds etc. The food was amazing at the Gunyah as was the service.

You need expect that you are in the bush, in a gorgeous tent. This means the walls are not soundproof (we loved hearing the animals & rain on the roof), there are elements of luxury - but not mod cons, insects are about - but spray, repealant and mozzie coils are plenty in supply and the bed has a mozzie net, and the bathrooms are private, but not enclosed. It's camping at the very top end.

I loved that all the bits and pieces were included like bikes, canoes/kayaks, hot water bottle (for gf) etc which allows you to do as much or as little as you want.

Thanks Ben & Shona for a fantastic mini-moon!

Room Tip: Deluxe tent was luxury with the bath. We loved Kookaburra as it seemed very secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dylward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MasterGlamper, Guest Relations Manager at Paperbark Camp, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Congratulations again to you both on your recent nuptials! Thank you for leaving us such a lovely review, It was such a pleasure to meet you both. Hope to see you here soon (first anniversary is traditionally paper.. hint hint!)

Warmest regards,

Shona Philps
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woollamia
4.5 mi away
Dolphin Shores Hotel
Dolphin Shores Hotel
#1 of 1 in Vincentia
267 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jervis Bay Caravan Park
Jervis Bay Caravan Park
#1 of 7 in Huskisson
225 reviews
2.3 mi away
Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay
Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay
#2 of 6 in Huskisson
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Dungowan Holiday Accommodation
7.6 mi away
By The Beach B & B Self-Contained Apartments
By The Beach B & B Self-Containe...
#2 of 2 in Sanctuary Point
61 reviews
2.3 mi away
Huskisson Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paperbark Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paperbark Camp

Property: Paperbark Camp
Address: 571 Woollamia Rd, Woollamia, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2540, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven > Jervis Bay > Woollamia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Woollamia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paperbark Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining unique luxury tented accommodation with wonderful food & warm hospitality, Paperbark Camp is a peaceful bush retreat in beautiful Jervis Bay - think camping for grown-ups! Just over two hours drive from Sydney on the unspoilt south coast of NSW, Jervis Bay is a nature lovers paradise with spectacular coastal scenery, clear and calm water for swimming and pristine white sand beaches for strolling and relaxing on... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paperbark Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paperbark Camp Hotel Woollamia
Paperbark Camp Australia/Woollamia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing