We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Paperbark Camp
Nearby Hotels
Jervis Bay Motel(Huskisson)
$89
$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dolphin Shores(Vincentia)(Great Value!)
$97
$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Golf View Motel(Sanctuary Point)
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay n Basin Lodge(Sanctuary Point)(Great Value!)
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Culburra Beach Motel(Culburra Beach)(Great Value!)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Anchor Bay Motel(Greenwell Point)(Great Value!)
$77
$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveler rating
145
68
30
14
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
68
30
14
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboth nightsmain buildingjervis bayaustralian bushbreakfast and dinnerthe riveramazing experiencedeluxe tentgunyah restaurantsafari stylehot watercouldn toystersamazing foodfresh produceeach morningextra blankets
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
190 - 195 of 260 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2012

What a unique experience this was!.. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and stayed only one night as we live fairly close by.The accommodation is very comfortable and unique tucked away in the bush with peace and quiet and only the birds to break the silence.The king sized bed was comfortable and made for a good nights sleep despite some of the animal noises. We only stayed in a regular tent (not the luxury) but felt it was perfectly fine. The staff were extremely friendly and the 'tents' are really quirky bush houses with canvas walls and everything you need for a relaxing break. There is no tv or much mobile phone reception so it really is a place to 'get away from it all' and relax. They are placed far enough apart so you cannot see anyone at all which is lovely.
The highlight though, was the dinner in the Gunyah restaurant. It was outstanding and very memorable. Even the pre dinner drinks on the elevated veranda were beautifully presented and the olives were local produce (as was much of the dinner ingredients). It was one of the most interesting menus I have seen (and I have travelled extensively worldwide.. all stars) with unusual combinations which worked beautifully. Although it was expensive it was a case of 'you get what you pay for'... and it was worth every cent and we will be talking about it for years!. (and we will be back).
The only complaint I have, I suppose is that the bathroom products were rather tacky and the shower timer didn't work.. but that is a minor complaint in an otherwise perfect stay .

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmandaOZ09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MasterGlamper, Guest Relations Manager at Paperbark Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2012

Hello Amanda,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We always take guest feedback on board and it’s so nice to hear when we get it right! We really enjoyed your visit.

We use Out Of Eden bath products created specifically for Paperbark Camp containing mandarin peel and peppermint oil. In keeping with our green thumb, we had ceramic pumps made locally rather than single use plastic dispensers typically found in hotels.
If you have any thoughts on how we could improve, please don’t hesitate to let me know.

We’re so glad you enjoyed dinner at The Gunyah and really do look forwards to welcoming you back to stay with us again!

Warmest regards,

Shona Philps
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We loved glamping at Paperbark Camp! The location is gorgeous and loved the roaming Kangaroos with their joeys, possums, birds etc. The food was amazing at the Gunyah as was the service.

You need expect that you are in the bush, in a gorgeous tent. This means the walls are not soundproof (we loved hearing the animals & rain on the roof), there are elements of luxury - but not mod cons, insects are about - but spray, repealant and mozzie coils are plenty in supply and the bed has a mozzie net, and the bathrooms are private, but not enclosed. It's camping at the very top end.

I loved that all the bits and pieces were included like bikes, canoes/kayaks, hot water bottle (for gf) etc which allows you to do as much or as little as you want.

Thanks Ben & Shona for a fantastic mini-moon!

Room Tip: Deluxe tent was luxury with the bath. We loved Kookaburra as it seemed very secluded.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dylward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MasterGlamper, Guest Relations Manager at Paperbark Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2012

Congratulations again to you both on your recent nuptials! Thank you for leaving us such a lovely review, It was such a pleasure to meet you both. Hope to see you here soon (first anniversary is traditionally paper.. hint hint!)

Warmest regards,

Shona Philps
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Just returned from a 2 nights stay at the lovely camp. They do the luxury safari style tents very well - we have stayed at some other luxury tented camps in Australia and this was by far the best - tents on raised wooden platforms, with outdoor (but private) bathrooms. Tents are well separated (we were in Possum) and although only shielded from nature by nets, very private. You can put roll-up blinds down but we kept them open to awake to filtered sunlight. The sounds of the birds and animals is fantastic - we heard possums but didnt see them (if you leave the tents open they can come in - one visitor even had a glider in their tent). We saw several kangaroos every day. There are lots of mosquitos but plenty of spray and coils provided. One night I did go for an evening walk with no anti-bug spray on - big mistake as I was bitten about 25 times!

We took out the free kayaks on 2 occasions - we are very inexperienced so fell in the river both times! The water is clean and shallow, so not a problem - although we had to get a kayak rescued on one occasion as it floated away! The staff were very helpful and understanding.

We had dinner at the Gunyard restaurant which was pricey but great food - and when service was a bit slow (they were full) we were offered free drinks. On the second night we had flathead and chips at the Husskie pub and then a deluxe dessert and drinks at the Gunyard which worked very well.

Breakfast is also great - large quantity and high quality, so we needed only a small nibble for lunch.

On this occasion I was staying with my sister so we had requested twin beds - the tent is so large it can accomodate the king bed and a double put-up bed. Quality of bedding was lovely and we both slept well to the sounds of nature. Shower is powerful, water warm and excellent quality toiletries.

Everything about this place is peaceful and relaxing, and the staff are super helpful. I intend to come back with my husband.

Room Tip: We found the ordinary (not luxury) tents to be of a high quality. All tents are around the central mess building and all shielded by trees - if you want total quiet and privacy ask for a tent away from the central building.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerbilsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MasterGlamper, Guest Relations Manager at Paperbark Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2012

Hi GerbilsOnTour,

It was so lovely to meet your sister and yourself, we had great fun during your stay. I must confess to being slightly disappointed Ben (General Manager) didn’t fall in the river too! Thank you for your lovely and honest feedback. We are definitely looking forward to welcoming you and your husband soon.

Warmest regards,

Shona Philps
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

I want to thank every staff for the service and efforts they've put it to make our stay very pleasant. The facilities as described, the restaurant exquisite, the service great. Thank you all and look forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: All tents are fine. The packages are well prepared and flow very well throughout the stay.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheMontparnasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MasterGlamper, Guest Relations Manager at Paperbark Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2012

Hello ‘TheMontparnasse’,

It was truly our pleasure! It’s reviews such as yours that quite honestly keep us working as hard as we do for our lovely guests. Thank you so much. We look forward to making your next stay just as special.

Warmest regards,

Shona Philps
Reservations Manager
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Stayed one night - arrived in pouring rain but gave a nice atmosphere. Check in staff were friendly and helpful - drove us to our tent in a buggy.
There was a problem with the toilet in our original tent but were moved to another fairly quickly.
Beautiful outlook over, surprisingly, paperbark trees - able to roll up/down flaps for privacy. The toilet/shower is "open-planned" but we had no issues with privacy since there were shades up/overlooking bush with no tracks. There are no 240V outlets in your room so make sure your electricals are fully charged - otherwise can recharge in the restaurant/lobby.
Very quiet night and comfortable sleep with the sounds of nature - I find it difficult to believe that you could hear other people talking in their tents unless they were shouting!
Eating at the restaurant was also very nice with an interesting menu. Staff were all very nice.
My only issue is that it is probably overpriced for what you get. I've stayed in similar style eco-resorts in Australia for less - mind you, we did stay during the "peak" school holiday season, but still not really worth it.
I agree with another reviewer that if you are charging that amount per night for a B&B - it's a bit petty to charge $3.50 extra per espresso with breakfast - surely it could be absorbed into the rate.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oh_crumbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews