We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our secret”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cottages On Mount View
Ashfield, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Our secret”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We have been staying at the Cottages for the past 3 years and have taken many of our friends with us when we stay, everyone agrees that it is a beautiful place set deep in the valley. With no mobile phone s to bother us and the sounds of bell birds as you drive into Mount View, I just start to relax and feel at home.The Cottages have just changed hands but the feel of the place hasn't changed, John and Andy have kept the charm going. It's out of the hustle and bustle and tucked away amongst the wineries. The wine tour is fantastic, be prepared for a whole day of eating and drinking. We are going back again in March and probably again later in the year. We can't stay away.

Room Tip: We like the 2 cottages at the bottom of the hill, but even the 2 at the top are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polley01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    12
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
32
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

A girlfriend and I took a mid-week getaway with my 4yr son. On arrival John was more than accommodating. We located our cabin, conveniently positioned away from the others for privacy. A breakfast hamper awaited us complete with local eggs, bacon and fresh milk. The cabin itself is roomy yet cozy with everything you need for a short break. All that was needed to complete the features was a cheese platter and cheese knives. Better quality wine glasses would have been a bonus but not a concern. Beds were super comfy with bedrooms providing extra blankets, pillows, 2 bedside lamps (always annoys me with only one) and hooks for clothing. Bathroom is neat and tidy with a hot shower and plenty of towel racks. One of the best features is the heated outdoor spa - we enjoyed 2 nights under the stars tasting our cellar door selections. The spa was clean, hot and the neon colour-changing under water lights added a touch of drama. We took a stroll around the property whilst not flat terrain was easy to navigate and a good way to burn off some energy of a 4 yr old. Accessed via dirt roads, the property certainly gives the feeling of seclusion. It is only a 10 min drive into the heart of the Hunter. We had a sensational stay at the cottage and will definitely return whether it be with friends, with my partner or family. Thank you to John & Andy who are running a wonderful business. You definitely get what you pay for and more!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jemo147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

My wife and I have been to the Hunter Valley many times and this one (after our wedding) had to be one of the best. It is very off the beaten track and you feel very hidden away in the forest. The sound and smell of nature is all around, yet you can still reach all the wineries easily. We had the bigger cabin with the Jacuzzi, which made for a very refreshing change during the hot weekend. Loved it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timmeronline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed here one with my boyfriend and his parents. Through no fault of his own, the owner was not expecting us - we arrived around 9pm from Sydney on the Friday and still the owner provided us with a breakfast basket that he put together there and then. He also made us very welcome and managed to book us onto a wine tour for Sat morning - he couldn't have been any nicer! The location was perfect - close enough to the vineyards but not close to any other properties apart from the other cabins, and they still are a distance from each other. The cottages themselves are very well furniished for all amenities and provide a very cosy cottage feel with a log fire, BBQ and a hot tub!! Just what you need for a weekend away from the City life. I will be making this my hub for every future visit with other family members to the Hunter. Perfect location, and perfect service from the owner ensuring our stay was a comfortable one! Loved every miinute of it :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaAnneJ86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I took my partner away to Cottages On Mount View as an early Birthday celebration; we had a fabulous time.

Located a stone throws away from some gorgeous boutique Wineries (Briar Ridge and Tallavera amongst our favourite), we loved that it was away from the main touristy hub of the Hunter. I would make this my base hands down for every future trip to the Hunter in future! Such a lovely place to escape to at the end of the day. Accessed only by dirt roads, I couldn't help but feel at times as though I was driving amongst the vineyards in France (not that I have been!) especially the outlook from Tallavera whilst taste testing some of their superb wine (especially the sticky dessert selection) and away from all the hustle and bustle of tourist buses. Our lunch at Briar Ridge was superb and next time we are keen to also try Mollines at Tallavera for lunch, close our eyes and pretend we are in the south of France amongst the vineyards.

From the hammock amongst the gumtrees to the hot spa under the stars, the cosy fire place in the cottage, the BBQ on the verandah to help enjoy dinner, the very generous breakfast hamper (which consisted of juice and bubbly, bread, eggs, bacon, tomatoes,milk, butter and chocolates) and the hospitality and warmth we were greeted with by John...all of these made our stay at Cottages On Mount View a very memorable one, and how could I forget the gorgeous Bellbirds, what a way to wake up; pure bliss!

We will certainly return and perhaps even share with some friends next time.

Room Tip: Next time we would perhaps aim for one of the Cottages whose main verandah faces the bush and not th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed in one of the cottages with a spa as a treat for my husband's birthday. We were able to arrange a late night self check-in on short notice with the owner, which worked out very well for us and which we appreciated. The welcome basket was a lovely touch, and included bread, eggs and tomatoes for breakfast, as well as a bottle of champagne. There was milk and butter in the fridge, and some tea bags and instant coffee available. The kitchen had a dated but functional electric oven and stove, and there was no dishwashing machine. The local Cessock supermarket was only a 15 minute drive away, and we bought ourselves some strawberries and chocolate dipping sauce and enjoyed them with a glass of champagne before using the outdoor spa under the stars. The log fire in the open plan living/dining/kitchen area warmed the cottage nicely. There was no internet or optus phone reception, and there was a stereo but we weren't able to use it because it was only compatible with i-pod phones. This was a shame, because I would liked to have played some relaxing music in the background whilst we ate dinner. The bed and doonah were very comfortable, and extra bedding was available in a blanket box at the foot of the bed. Overall our experience was very pleasant and we enjoyed our stay at this quiet bush retreat, despite a few missing luxuries.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MetalHorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed in one of the cottages this weekend fri and sat night 14th and 15th sep 2012 for our first year wedding anniversary it had a hot tub a log fire it was amazing very quiet relaxing very neat and tidy and the fire just makes it feel warm and cosy we loved our stay it also has a very romantic feel . We went on a wine tour they picked us up and dropped us back to the cottage The owners John and Andy are beautifull John made sure that the cottage was all ready for our stay when we arrived the hot tub was already hot and bubbling there plenty of fire wood and a nice breakfast basket with bubbly and a nice note wishing us both a happy first wedding anniversary whitch we thought was sweet Thanks so much John & Andy for a wonderfull stay very nice can't wait to come back next time we might bring the kidlets ;-))))

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount View
11.1 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
854 reviews
7.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
9.1 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
0.7 mi away
Cedars Mount View
Cedars Mount View
#1 of 4 in Mount View
153 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hunter Valley Resort
Hunter Valley Resort
#8 of 15 in Pokolbin
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottages On Mount View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages On Mount View

Property: Cottages On Mount View
Address: 1329 Mount View Rd, Mount View, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Mount View
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Mount View
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cottages On Mount View 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
120 bushland acres with abundant birdlife and wildlife, minutes to many cellar doors, restaurants, concert venues and Hunter Valley favourites including Hunter Olive Centre, Hunter Valley Chocolate Company, Smelly Cheese Shop, Blue Tongue Brewery and Hunter Valley Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cottages On Mount View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottages On Mount View Greater Newcastle, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing