We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely breathtaking!”
Review of Cedars Mount View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cedars Mount View
Certificate of Excellence
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
“Absolutely breathtaking!”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

What a wonderful way to start married life in a secluded, modern, stylish and romantic cabin. The romance package allowed my new wife and I to walk into soft music, candles, flowers and scattered rose petals with a antipasto plate and wine ready to go. Supportive staff assisted with organising a helicopter tour and any queries we had. We would love to return and would strongly recommend cedars to all our family and friends.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarryd89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
139
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Atherton, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

The best place we have ever stayed hands down -The edge. The attention to detail was amazing and whoever designed it has amazing taste - no expense spared. From the lights in the stairs to the fully stock spa fridge in the wall, the fresh oriental lily's and decadent complimentary dessert. Not a sole in site - the caretaker, if required, is a free call away with full knowledge of the area. I went all out and purchased the roses, champagne and cheese platter(not to mention there is a great complimentary mini bar). One day during our stay we had a long leisurely lunch at Bistro Molines restaurant (amazing food and the best views of all vineyards in Hunter Valley bar none)incredible views) which overlooks the wonderful vineyards in the area that we later visited. Will definitely be back to repeat and there is no other place I would stay while visiting Hunter Valley.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ourimbah, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2014

An absolutely amazing place to celebrate our 28th Wedding Anniversary. The Edge at Cedars was gorgeous. Beautiful cabin and very secluded. In room massage was fantastic. Looking forward to coming back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva662014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

This was our 4th time back at cedars (the 3rd at The Edge). Will we be back for more? Absolutely.

I've mentioned all the features in my previous reviews. To sum it up, The Edge has all the mod cons with the added bonus of it being near new. It was immaculately clean and the grounds are maintained. The spa and huge TV are the highlight for us. There's nothing like a glass of wine with chocolate in a spa surrounded by candles. The bed is also very comfortable. Breakfast provisions are still as hearty as always. It's such a relaxing place whether you're on a short or long getaway.

Cedars also offered us as returning guests a 10% discount on further stays. I'm not sure whether it was a promotion at the time or whether it is permanent but it's a great way to encourage repeat guests.

This time we visited the hunter valley chocolate factory and a few of the local vineyards. The Mount View area is lovely. We enjoyed a bottle of champagne from Briar Ridge Vineyars which was provided by cedars so went and visited Briars and purchased some semillon and shiraz. Highly recommended you check out Briar Ridge, very friendly people there and high quality wines.

Only thing I can offer feedback for (and someone else has already mentioned this) but The Edge would certainly benefit from a bigger outdoor setting (a sunbed would be amazing!)

Thanks Cedars, we will be back in Winter.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ets610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I took my husband away on a surprise weekend to Cedars to celebrate our 10 year wedding anniversary. My pre-requisites were privacy, snazzy rooms, no kids and quiet. Cedars certainly fulfilled my expectations and more. We were so secluded that we could not see or hear the other cabins. We haven't slept so well in years! Our room was extremely clean and as other guests have noted, beautifully presented for our arrival. We will definitely return and highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PipN77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jen8888, General Manager at Cedars Mount View, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Hi there,

Congratulations on your 10th Wedding Anniversary!! I am so glad to know that you both had exactly the kind of weekend stay that we promise. It's also wonderful to know you had the best sleep in years.Thank you so much for your wonderful review :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Of all the places we have been, our stay here was certainly the most memorable. Set on a huge property, the cabins offer amazing privacy- you will feel like you are the only couple for miles. After what ended up to be a shocking year for us and our families on a personal level, I look back fondly on our stay here (before life went pear shaped), and remember how peaceful and carefree we felt sitting on the hill in the grass with a champagne, and having lovely breakfasts on the verandah. This place is heaven on earth (and I am a super tough critic!)

We arrived to find the cabin spotless, with music on, and the place beautifully lit. We had breakfast supplies (muesli, eggs, bacon, sauce, pancakes, jams, juice, tea, coffee, etc) which was more than enough to last the stay.

The bathroom was complete with beautiful body wash and a luxurious Ecoya scented oil (I have since come home and purchased both! These products aren't cheap either.) There was also some chocolates and wine awaiting us, as well as current magazines, a huge range of dvd's, and Foxtel... these small touches are what sets this place apart.

The cabin is just as gorgeous as the photos (we stayed in the Terrace). The decor is gorgeous.

The check in and check out process is such that you never have to see another soul unless you wish to- it is all very romantic and is really lovely in comparison to the commercial feel of checking in and checking out and having a buffet breakfast at a hotel.

The layout of the cabin is gorgeous. You can have a spa or lay on the couch together to watch telly, however while it is spacious, you still feel like you are together no matter where in the cabin the other is.

Breakfast with the kangaroos and cows 'mooing' in the paddocks was just lovely. The Terrace has the most privacy (from what I recall), so you can sit out in your robe and enjoy a warm cuppa while the sun rises.

I felt like we were on a romantic escape like ones you see in movies- it really was that wonderful. The owners really have raised the bar with this accommodation- it really is perfect. they have thought of everything. I am very excited to return to hopefully stay in the new Edge cabin!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lilydale17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jen8888, General Manager at Cedars Mount View, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Hi there,

Thank you for such a wonderfully informative & positively delightful review!
Nothing makes us happier than to know guests truly enjoyed their stay with us and to know you will remember your time here so fondly is what really drives us to keep lifting that bar higher. Thanks for adding the photo of the kangaroo family on the lawn! They particularly like to hang out around the Terrace in the mornings and late afternoon and are definitely getting friendlier with each generation. I do hope you get to return again and stay in the Edge, please feel free to contact me at anytime as we offer discounts for return guests :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Staying at Cedars was the most amazing experience, it was more then we had ever imagined! We arrived to a stunning cottage situated in the heart of Mount View. The views from the cottage were amazing, fields, gumtrees, vineyards, and wildlife. Our time staying in the Gums couldn't have been more peaceful and relaxing, the perfect city get away. I can not wait to come back again soon!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount View
10.5 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
862 reviews
8.6 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
4.0 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
5.6 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#12 of 15 in Pokolbin
249 reviews
8.5 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedars Mount View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedars Mount View

Property: Cedars Mount View
Address: 60 Mitchells Rd | off Mount View Road, Mount View, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Mount View
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Mount View
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cedars Mount View 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Hunter Valley accommodation for couples in split level open plan one bedroom spa villas or a two bedroom/2 bathroom spa cottage. Cedars Mount View offers the rare luxury of absolute privacy and quiet combined with modern, elegant interiors and all the modern conveniences including two person spas, gas flame log fire, flat screen satellite TVs, DVDs and IPOD docks.These secluded villas are fully self contained to dine in or on the deck and full breakfast provisions are supplied for your stay - espresso machine. Personal itineraries, indulgence packages and restaurant transfers are available on request. Indulgence packages include Helicopter pickups from your door for lunch or events, to in-house massage by prior arrangement.The villas are thoughtfully scattered over 100 acres (40 hectares) with a meandering Cedar Creek running through the property. There are parklike vistas, easy walking trails and abundant wildlife.Mount View boutique wineries nearby and chefs hatted Bistro Molines. Twenty minutes scenic drive to the centre of Pokolbin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Cedars Mount View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedars Mount View Greater Newcastle, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing