We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Exceptional Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bimbadeen Mountain Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Mount View B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We just returned to the US after three months in Australia and Bimbadeen still stands out as one of our most favorite places visited. Chris and Joe made us feel at home in every way. The accommodations were exactly what we wanted for a retreat to wine country. The bedrooms had comfortable beds, private balconies, and spacious bathrooms. The main area had comfortable couches and a large dining table where we met our group for a delicious continental breakfast each morning. The private wine tour with Chris was top notch in every way. She spoke with us before we arrived and planned and scheduled our tour based on our preferences. Her suggestions were perfect, and we enjoyed a day of great wine and delicious food. She even took us on a side tour to get to see some kangaroos, which was a big hit with our entire group. As for the few reviews that mention the steep drive to Bimbadeen, I can only say that we had no problem navigating the terrain in a late model Ford sedan. We truly enjoyed our time in the Hunter Valley and would not only recommend Bimbadeen, but look forward to returning there on our next trip to Australia.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 52 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend surprised me with a fantastic two days getaway in Hunter Valley. This place is Sensational, and the view is breath taking. The courtesy of the owners was exceptional and we felt like home!
The best birthday ever!
We loved it so much that we will definitely go back!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Rachele N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Fantastic place to stay! Breathtaking views from our balcony and a gorgeous room. Chris, the owner brought breakfast to our room every morning and we sat and enjoyed it on our private balcony and enjoyed the morning sun. We also booked a private wine tour with Chris and the day could not have been better. Chris tool us aroun in a beautiful car to 5 different boutique wineries as well as a chocolate factory and cheese shop. She knew the people who worked at each cellar door and was able to introduce us to staff so we got a very personal service at each winery. Chris was so friendly and easy going and she recommended a beautiful spot for lunch.
I can't recommend this place enough it was well worth the money (which was very reasonable) and I will definitely recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erintoutounji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We recently returned from a stay at Bimbadeen Mountain Retreat and can't recommend it enough. The views from the property are amazing and eating breakfast on our balcony and enjoying the spectacular surroundings was a great way to start each morning. The hospitality of hosts Chris and Joe was wonderful and we were made to feel right at home in their beautiful house. If you haven't been to the Hunter Valley before, they have some great suggestions on where to go, what to see, etc.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Webson2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Bimbadeen Mountain Retreat in May for our 10 year wedding anniversary.

Chris & Joe were so lovely and nothing was too much trouble.

We stayed in the cottage which lovely and had a wood fire, which Joe offered to start for us, but my husband was keen to give it a go, and was the highlight of his weekend!

We loved the view from the cottage and the privacy we had. The location was great for visiting wineries also. We didn't want to go on a tour bus, and preferred to drive ourselves. Chris gave us a map and after asking about our wine tastes, marked out the wineries she thought we would like to stop at. She was spot on, all her recommendations were exactly what we liked!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I can't recommend this B&B highly enough. The house itself is gorgeous, lovely wood floors and stone walls, with breathtaking views over the Hunter Valley. The room had every possible amenity, including an amazing spa bath and a private balcony, which was perfect for eating the amazing breakfast the lovely owner brought to our room each morning. We had a wonderful long weekend there. It was tranquil, private, hugely comfortable and very welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble for the owner, when they found out I was gluten-free they made a special trip to buy me bread and cereal for breakfast. They even gave me the loaf to take away at the end of our stay. If you're looking for peace, solitude and relaxation, Bimbadeen Mountain Retreat will definitely tick all the boxes.

Room Tip: I'd definitely recommend the room with the spa bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harriet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Perched at almost the top of the mountain, we stayed in the one bedroom cottage. Wow what a view. The cottage was plenty big enough with a comfortable bed and all the necessary touches. Christine & Joe are so friendly without intruding and gave us great advice on where to eat, whilst we were in the Hunter Valley. Definitely on my stay again list and is situated at the end of a quite road. So no noisy neighbors or traffic problems. Whist not exactly central, it certainly is easy to navigate around the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnaandrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount View hotels
0.8 mi away
Bimbadeen Estate
Bimbadeen Estate
#2 of 4 in Mount View
86 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cedars Mount View
Cedars Mount View
#1 of 4 in Mount View
164 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cottages On Mount View
Cottages On Mount View
#3 of 4 in Mount View
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bimbadeen Mountain Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bimbadeen Mountain Retreat

Address: 37 Moon Mountain Dr, Mount View, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Mount View
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mount View
Price Range: $151 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bimbadeen Mountain Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bimbadeen Mountain Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bimbadeen Mountain Retreat Mount View, Greater Newcastle, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing