We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very warm, friendly and helpful hosts; fantastic wine tour; very enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bimbadeen Mountain Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Mount View B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed at Bimbadeen Mountain Retreat for three nights midweek as part of our honeymoon. We also booked a private wine tour with them (see below). Chris & Joe are very friendly and helpful hosts. My wife & I did not hire a car in Australia, so Joe picked us up from a nearby train station for an extra fee (much better value than taxi would have been!). On our free day, Chris very kindly gave us lifts to and from the Hunter Valley Gardens for no extra charge. The room was nice, the view from the house is great, and there is a path leading into the bush. The breakfast was continental-style.

Wine tour: We went on a private wine tour with Joe on one of the days. Having looked into private wine tour prices elsewhere, the one Joe provided was extremely good value! Joe is local, knows the wineries well and likes wine, great criteria for a tour guide. He is flexible, and will arrange a tour based on your personal requests if you have any. We asked for his personal recommendations and were not disappointed. Knowing that I wanted to see kangaroos in the wild, he also took us to see some. In the early afternoon, we tried some local cheese and chocolate - I needed a short break from wine after the morning, so it was good that Joe could recommend these alternatives!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benjamin_S_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 51 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

I wouldn't stay anywhere else in the Hunter Valley. This was my third visit and I wouldn't hesitate to come back. The rooms are immaculate, views outstanding and the service second to none. It was great to wake to the sound of bellbirds. Loved the breakfast too and plunger coffee.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

This place has great views and very friendly hosts. We booked the cabin and loved it right away. Very private and comfortable with fireplace and lots of stocked wood. Bush walking nearby as well as short drive to wine country hotspots. Will visit again very soon.

Room Tip: Cabin for private romantic weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Canadalp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

This is an excellent B&B in the Hunter Valley, great house with 2 very well presented B&B rooms plus the self contained cabin.
We stay in one of the rooms that are very well appointed, including spa and fantastic views of the Valley all the way to the lights of Cessnock at night time.
Our host were absolutely great, she took care of us and our friends very well indeed.
I will love to go back there soon and I will indeed recommend this B&B to others.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oscar888_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

It was a lovely surprise when we meandered into this little gem of a place. With so many Hunter Valley B&B accommodation to choose from, this is definitely over and above some that we've been to if you are looking for tranquility, views and proximity to the wineries. We cannot believe how peaceful it was there despite being so close to Cessnock yet in a country side location. Our hostess Chris was welcoming the moment we set foot to her home which she and her husband Joe built. We stayed in the Barrington room with sweeping views of the valley below and Cessnock in the distance. Breakfast was lovely and was served in the private sunny balcony which we enjoyed. The spa was a plus and the room felt very comfortable the moment we stepped in. There is also a trail for those who enjoy bush walking. Joe runs a limousine service for wine tours or weddings which complements well.
Not only is the accommodation 5 star, but Chris was also the perfect host, accommodating, genuine and warm. We felt refreshed and would definitely recommend this B&B for couples looking to enjoy the wineries in a beautiful setting or just for a romantic weekend away.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MandMtraveltips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Our hosts were lovely and you really appreciated the back breaking work they did to build this b&b. Accommodating in every way, beautiful rooms and amazing view. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bballgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

What a fantastic place. From the moment we walked in I was in love. The furnishings are wonderful, the place is great and the views are breath taking. It was quiet, peaceful, and the perfect place to rejuvinate for the weekend! The breakfast was fantastic, and the owners were lovely. I have reccomended this place to everyone and will definately return to visit again. It is only a short drive to Polkibin where we stocked up on treats and wines.... but it didnt take long before we retreated back the the BnB for a spa bath to enjoy them!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CLUBCOLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount View
8.8 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
6.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
3.8 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Wine Country Motor Inn
Wine Country Motor Inn
#3 of 16 in Cessnock
351 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bimbadeen Estate
Bimbadeen Estate
#3 of 4 in Mount View
80 reviews
6.2 mi away
Pokolbin Village
Pokolbin Village
#5 of 15 in Pokolbin
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bimbadeen Mountain Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bimbadeen Mountain Retreat

Address: 37 Moon Mountain Dr, Mount View, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Mount View
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mount View
Price Range: $157 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bimbadeen Mountain Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Bimbadeen Mountain Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bimbadeen Mountain Retreat Mount View, Greater Newcastle, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing