We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent but make sure you know what you are getting.................”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Yasuni National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent but make sure you know what you are getting.................”
Reviewed March 5, 2007

Napo was a great experience. The wildlife was excellent and the guides very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. The rooms are apparently very luxurious for the amazon. You still get a lot of creepy crawlies inside the rooms though...........additionally the bed sheets are horrid and need replaced. The setting is beautiful by the lake. Be warned though.........there is no opportunity to enjoy this peace and tranquility. Mornings are 5.30am and there is no let up or choice. I opted out of one activity for some relaxation and was treated like a leper! There is also an extremely rude barman.........and the food is average.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
7 Thank Karen-inLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapoWildlifeCenter, Guest Relations Manager at Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We hope you still remember your Napo adventure. Feel free to share your experience with others
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    47
    13
    5
    0
See reviews for
132
284
32
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 26, 2006

NWC is like a paradise -remotely located in the midst of the jungle. The rooms were very clean with a beautiful view of the lake. The view from the tree tower is absolutely beautiful. The food was very good -especially since we were all vegetarian. They have done an excellent job at conservation by working very closely with the community. The naturalist guide and the local guides were excellent. Their hospitality was remarkable - they took care of the smallest detail. Had never expected such luxury in the midst of the jungle. Strongly recommend.

  • Liked — Location and People
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank blackmamba09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapoWildlifeCenter, Guest Relations Manager at Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We hope you still remember your Napo adventure. Feel free to share your experience with others
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2006

We chose Napo Wildlife Center based upon the blurb in Lonely Planet and a NY Times travel article. Both are accurate. Be prepared for a very long boat trip down the Rio Napo and up the Anangu Creek; but the seats are well padded, snacks are provided, and there are birds to be seen (and monkeys along the creek). I can't compare with other lodges, but I was impressed that a naturalist leading a group tour had a clear preference in returning to NWC. The setting is idyllic and the units are clean and comfortable, with good mosquito screening and netting, so we slept well until the 5AM wake-up calls. Meals were good and the staff guides are excellent and knowledgeable.

  • Liked — setting and wildlife
  • Disliked — long travel time to get there
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pug-owner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapoWildlifeCenter, Guest Relations Manager at Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Hi, we hope you still remember your time at Napo fondly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2006

The stunning location of the Napo Wildlife Centre will take your breath away. It is a little difficult to get to but that makes it all the more worthwhile. As it is run by the local community, you are also contributing directly to the local economy. Food is fantastic, staff are really friendly.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Damp - it is a rainforest!
  • Tips/Secrets — Take minimum luggage as the damp permeates everything
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YW4YW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapoWildlifeCenter, Guest Relations Manager at Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We hope you still remember your Napo adventure. Feel free to share your experience with others
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yasuni National Park
22.6 mi away
Yarina Eco Lodge
Yarina Eco Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yasuni National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tapir Lodge
Tapir Lodge
#3 of 3 in Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
12.6 mi away
Sani Lodge
Sani Lodge
#2 of 3 in Yasuni National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge
#1 of 4 in Yasuni National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
95.1 mi away
Cotococha Amazon Lodge
0.0 mi away
Yachana Lodge
Yachana Lodge
#1 of 55 in Napo Province
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge

Property: Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge
Address: Yanez Pinzon N26 -131 y la Nina. Edificio Las Carabelas, oficina 101, Yasuni National Park, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Yasuni National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Yasuni National Park
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napo Wildlife Center offers visitors a number of vantage points from which to admire and experience the spectacular, awe-inspiring diversity of the Amazon Basin. Climb the 120-ft. High galvanized-metal stairs to the jungle tower for otherwise impossible eye-to-eye views of canopy dwellers such as monkeys, eagles and macaws...Spy on clay licks teeming with parrots and occasionally visited by jungle cats or a magnificent elephant-muzzled tapir...Experience Man's ageless interaction with the jungle through the native community's perspectiveEnjoy evening walks to witness the astounding nightlife of the dense, entangled understory...Explore the many trails through "terra firme", "varzea" and swamp forest in search of the best that Amazonia has to offerBe it from the ground up, or from the canopy down, from hidden viewing blinds to silent paddling up black-water creeks, we deliver the biggest most intricate picture possible of this wonderful world. Napo Wildlife Center not only provides the educated perspective of bilingual guides but also the hands-on knowledge of the true guardians of Anangu, who live and witness the marvels of their jungle home every day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Napo Wildlife Centre Hotel Yasuni National Park
Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge Ecuador/Yasuni National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing