We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Spot in the Amazon”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Yasuni National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Our family spent 4 days experiencing all the riches Napo had to offer. I specifically picked Napo after research showed it is the only lodge located in the reserve. We had connecting bungalows (Units 15 and 16) on stilts over the lagoon. If you can request as it was wonderfully situated over the water where we could watch monkeys, birds and caimans. Our guide. Julio, was wonderful. Everything met expectations and more; the food, accommodations, experience. We highly recommend!!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank barbarac43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapoWildlifeCenter, Public Relations Manager at Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Thanks for supporting to Kichwa Anangu Community ,with your assist we can to continue whit more projects for this. Greetings from Napo Wildlife Center.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (591)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 591 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2014

Recently returned from a five day stay. The cabanas were very clean, beautifully appointed and comfortable. The dining area was right on the lagoon with beautiful views of lake, caiman, trees and in hearing distance of the howler monkeys. The cooks must work around the clock to provide meals for groups with staggered schedules. Every meal was buffet style with multiple choices of entrees, vegetables, fruit and dessert. The vegetarian cook, was very attentive to guests needs, even though we were not vegetarians. With 2-3 excursions per day, the pace of walking or water travel was comfortable and around every turn their was something to look at! We were placed in a group of five guests originally and that grew to seven. We were escorted by a local guide, Patricio and a naturalist, Edwin...the local guide only spoke Spanish, but Edwin's English was excellent. Both guides continually worked to find local animals and plants of interest to the guests. Patricio showed us plants used to treat ailments as well as to play games with children. Edwin took meals with our group and we enjoyed quizzing him about Amazonian and Ecuadorian history, culture and life. He was fun and highly engaging. Airport transfers were well supported. We brought head nets and lots of bug spray, we never needed head nets and used very little bug spray, but were glad we had it. Grounds where the guests meander were beautifully appointed. The tall building you wee on the website is a future building for more guests or something that they have been working on a couple of years...in our opinion this project is overly ambitious and might impact the quaintness of the place. As it is every single item, furniture, food,wood, propane is brought in by canoe...no idea how they do this, but sure am glad they do. It easily took five hours of travel to get to and from the lodge, but the time was enjoyable with the sights along the way. The stay surpassed our expectations.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kathi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapoWildlifeCenter, Public Relations Manager at Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Thanks for supporting to the Kichwa Anangu Community. With your help we can to develop our projects. Greetings from Napowildlife Center.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

I have had the privilege to have visited Napo twice. It is fascinating area. The camp is run very well. All of the cabins have a great view of the lagoon. The food is done well and presented beautifully. The guides are some of the best that I have had. If you are looking for that Amazon jungle experience, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: There is not a bad cabin location. They all have a view of the lagoon. Forget your alarm clocks, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Dee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapoWildlifeCenter, Public Relations Manager at Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Thanks for your commentaries and sharing your experiences whit us.You will always be welcome to Ecuador. Greetings from Napowildlife Center.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

It is fascinating to be deep in the Amazonas jungle, experiencing the unique wildlife and flora.
The experience was strongly enhanced by the highly competent guides working at Napo.
The accommodation and the food in the hotel were excellent. They even managed to cater delightfully to a vegetarian celiac (gluten intolerance), which we know is not a simple task. Thank you very much again to the restaurant staff for these additional efforts.
We were a family of 4 travelling, two adults and two teenage girls, and everybody loved it. We can strongly recommend staying in Napo and taking their tours as the Amazonian part of visiting wonderful Ecuador.

Niels Christiansen and family, from Helsingborg, Sweden

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NBCH61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapoWildlifeCenter, Public Relations Manager at Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Thanks for sharing your experience and commentaries,with your supporting we can to continued with the develop of Kichwa Anangu Community. Greetings from Napo Wildlife Center.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We had a wonderful time at Napo! The wildlife viewing was great. Our guides were incredibly friendly, helpful and informative. Thank you Pedro and Favian:) As everything comes in via canoe, it is amazing that they are able to provide such luxe accommodations. Our room was cleaned and freshened twice a day, food was very tasty and good quality.
The parrot Clay Licks were nothing short of spectacular! We saw several species of monkeys, lots of birds, boas, and otters.
Every member of the staff was delightful and it was just a pleasure being there. If you are looking for the best of both worlds- wildlife and luxury accommodations, this is the place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrsrTampa_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapoWildlifeCenter, Public Relations Manager at Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Thanks for your commentaries and sharing your experiences, You will always be welcome to Anangu Community and Ecuador.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Many people have written about the lodge and the wildlife viewing. I echo all the positive comments that have been said. We saw 8 species of monkeys, over 56 species of birds, caiman, giant river otters, snakes, frogs, insects, dragons, etc. However, what I want to comment on most is the people. You will not find people who work harder than at the Napo Lodge. The work ethic is top notch. I mentioned in passing that I was craving bananas and that night at dinner the chef, Jorge, made banana cake and provided a tray of bananas. I indicated that I hoped to see snakes, and our guide didn't rest until he found them. After 5-days at the lodge, your native guide, bilingual guide, paddler and group members feel like family. You eat together, travel together and go on excursions together. Our native guide, Favian, was eagle-eyed, smart, and had a jovial personality. Our bilingual guide, Lena, was as passionate about the rainforest, the animals, and the indigenous people as a National Geographic employee. She took us out in the pouring rain, at our request, to see owl monkeys. She patiently helped our younger son mark all the wildlife he had seen in his bird and mammal guidebook.

It took me a day to adjust to the jungle after the Galapagos. The wildlife experience is less intimate because the Amazon animals are on the constant alert for predators. Also, as some have said, this is an adventure vacation, not an R+R one. You will wake up early each day, but there is rest time in the afternoon.

The food is copious-you will eat too much because it is so tasty. The Kichwa people are top notch-kind and informative. They really appreciate the tourists who support their community by staying at the Napo.

Expect to spend extra money on tips, laundry, soft drinks, and items at the Kichwa community shop. Bring high quality binoculars and a camera with the strongest zoom you can. If it pours (which it did one afternoon), your wildlife viewing is more limited. The boots and ponchos provided are top quality.

FYI, there are suites, which we did not know. We were, however, lucky enough to be in Cabanas 11 and 12 which overlooked the laguna (lake). We saw the beautiful sunrise from our room.

We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanRanfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapoWildlifeCenter, Public Relations Manager at Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Thanks for sharing your great experience and help the Kichwa community Anangu. Yo will always be welcome to Ecuador.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We did the 4 day, 3 night package here and I would thoroughly recommend it. The lodge is beautiful, the food was great, the staff friendly and the guides were incredible at spotting wildlife. The jungle and rivers are stunning, and we saw a huge amount of wildlife from our canoes, from the huge observation tower in the jungle, from the observation tower at the lodge and even just sitting on our balcony. The local guides have lived here all their lives and know the jungle and waterways so well that they can spot wildlife really well. We had great fun watching lots of different monkeys and the antics of the giant otters, plus spotting hundreds of birds. The fact that you mostly do the wildlife spotting from small kayaks (paddled for you) makes this a very peaceful experience, with the main noise being the sound of the water and the jungle. Perfect.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Graeme W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapoWildlifeCenter, Public Relations Manager at Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Thanks for you visit and supporting the Kichwa Anangu Comunnity whit your help We can to continue with our projects.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yasuni National Park
143.6 mi away
Yarina Eco Lodge
Yarina Eco Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yasuni National Park
83 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Auca
Hotel El Auca
#4 of 5 in Coca
30 reviews
12.6 mi away
Sani Lodge
Sani Lodge
#2 of 3 in Yasuni National Park
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge
#1 of 6 in Yasuni National Park
457 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shiripuno Amazon Lodge
0.0 mi away
Yachana Lodge
Yachana Lodge
#2 of 67 in Napo Province
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge

Address: | Añangu Lake, Yasuni National Park, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Yasuni National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Yasuni National Park
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napo Wildlife Center offers visitors a number of vantage points from which to admire and experience the spectacular, awe-inspiring diversity of the Amazon Basin. Climb the 120-ft. High galvanized-metal stairs to the jungle tower for otherwise impossible eye-to-eye views of canopy dwellers such as monkeys, eagles and macaws...Spy on clay licks teeming with parrots and occasionally visited by jungle cats or a magnificent elephant-muzzled tapir...Experience Man's ageless interaction with the jungle through the native community's perspectiveEnjoy evening walks to witness the astounding nightlife of the dense, entangled understory...Explore the many trails through "terra firme", "varzea" and swamp forest in search of the best that Amazonia has to offerBe it from the ground up, or from the canopy down, from hidden viewing blinds to silent paddling up black-water creeks, we deliver the biggest most intricate picture possible of this wonderful world. Napo Wildlife Center not only provides the educated perspective of bilingual guides but also the hands-on knowledge of the true guardians of Anangu, who live and witness the marvels of their jungle home every day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Napo Wildlife Centre Hotel Yasuni National Park
Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge Ecuador/Yasuni National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing