We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place, beautiful lodge, great guides”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Yasuni National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Napo Wildlife Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing place, beautiful lodge, great guides”
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

We did the 4 day, 3 night package here and I would thoroughly recommend it. The lodge is beautiful, the food was great, the staff friendly and the guides were incredible at spotting wildlife. The jungle and rivers are stunning, and we saw a huge amount of wildlife from our canoes, from the huge observation tower in the jungle, from the observation tower at the lodge and even just sitting on our balcony. The local guides have lived here all their lives and know the jungle and waterways so well that they can spot wildlife really well. We had great fun watching lots of different monkeys and the antics of the giant otters, plus spotting hundreds of birds. The fact that you mostly do the wildlife spotting from small kayaks (paddled for you) makes this a very peaceful experience, with the main noise being the sound of the water and the jungle. Perfect.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Graeme W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapoWildlifeCenter, Public Relations Manager at Napo Wildlife Centre, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thanks for you visit and supporting the Kichwa Anangu Comunnity whit your help We can to continue with our projects.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    48
    14
    5
    0
See reviews for
138
293
34
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We are a family of 5 with kids 9, 11, and 12. We did the 4 day three night package and paid extra for private guides which gave us a lot of flexibility. Our English speaking guide Danny, native guide Bolo (Bolivar) and paddler Carlito were all amazing. Bolo is our kids new superhero. He has an amazing ability to spot things, clears trails with his machete, fashions lifelike origami from palm leaves, shrugs off bullet ant bites like they were nothing and was able to retrieve my Sony 4K camcorder from neck deep water after I dropped it out of the canoe.

I loved watching the Giant River Otters fish and the kids favorite activity was the tree tower and the night hike.

The food and service were amazing, especially in that remote location.

Transportation was seamless from Quito.

The Anangu Community are very hard working and there is the same feeling of involvement you get in great restaurants where the owner is always there. The foresight to preserve an area with no hunting and fishing makes this place unique.

This adds up to what I feel is probably the best ecolodge in the Amazon Basin. Truly a life changing experience.

Room Tip: Loved rooms 6 and 7 next to the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmoody6240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapoWildlifeCenter, Public Relations Manager at Napo Wildlife Centre, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for supporting the Anangu Kichwa community with your help we can continue to develop our projects you will be always welcome to Ecuador.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Simply stunning.

I was lucky enough to enjoy Napo Wildlife Center as my first stop on a solo Ecuador adventure. It was truly one of the most amazing experiences of my life.

The wildlife viewing was outstanding - we saw several species of monkeys, caymans, anaconda, more birds than I can count, incredible flora, an otter family battle for turf in the lagoon, creepy crawlies (i.e. lots of different jungle bugs), tarantulas, frogs, fish...and this is only a snapshot.

The guides were outstanding, the food delicious, the rooms clean and comfortable, the hammock heavenly, the beer ice cold, and the company fantastic.

This was only the start of a long journey for me but I left feeling like I could go home and it would all have been worth it.

A few tips:
- Bring good bug spray (not the health food store essential oil crap). You're in the middle of a tropical forest. There are bugs. And they will find you. Unless you wear the good stuff.
- Bring breathable synthetic clothing. It is humid and if you run like me you like to pack light and rinse and rewear clothing. Quick drying athletic wear works great and dries out even in the humidity.
- Don't expect to be posting to Facebook or Instagram while at the center. Yes there is internet but it is limited. (Remember you are in the middle of the tropical forest.). Save the mass photo uploads for your hotel in Quito and use the WiFi to send your family a text to let them know what a great time you are having.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapoWildlifeCenter, Public Relations Manager at Napo Wildlife Centre, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thanks Kelly for supporting the Kichwa Añangu community, with your help we can continue to develop community tourism.You will always be welcome to Ecuador.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

After much research I decided on Napo. I will start by saying that their website does not do this place justice. It is the the furthest lodge off the main Napo river so is incredibly peaceful and beautiful with no motorized boats or roads any place close. The setting is pristine.

We have a 9 and an 11 year old so decided to book a private guide. This was a great choice. Our naturalist guide was Julio Rojas who was incredibly knowledgable about the entire ecosystem and was able to find an amazing amount of wildlife we would have definitely missed. He was also great with our girls and was able to keep them engaged while also providing an education for us all.

The service was very good and the staff was friendly. The food was excellent and buffet style which was great for picky eaters. Our room was very, very nice and spacious, which surprised me. These guys have definitely thought through all the details to keep guests comfortable, include mud boots, rain ponchos, trail snacks etc.

Room Tip: We loved our family room number 13. Very private, lake front and furthest from kitchen so no breakf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ambers817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapoWildlifeCenter, Director Comercial at Napo Wildlife Centre, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
We are working on the restructuring of the web site. Thank you for using our services, we are happy to assist you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

On the initial paddle canoe ride (about 2 hours) from the Napo river to the lodge we spotted 5 species of Monkey, a sloth and many birds. Each day I saw something new.

Our guides Daniela and Hugo were great at spotting and explaining the wildlife and plants and very enthusiastic. They truly made the trip a delight.

Accommodation was excellent, had my own personal hammock on my porch. Food was buffet style with limited choice but fine. But really the point of this place is not the room and food but to see the jungle.

If you love nature this is a must. But be warned, you will get sweaty, a little muddy, rained on and harassed by some insects (not too bad though). About half the spotting trips are by canoe and half by foot. It will vary depending on weather and where wildlife has been seen recently.

One day we had 6 Tamarin monkeys eating fruit only a few meters away and at eye level. They all posed for pictures. Another we had a juvenile Emerald tree boa (about 24 inches long) curled up on a branch right next t us. What you see will be different of course, but there is always something!

I'd give 6 stars for location if I could!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapoWildlifeCenter, Gerente at Napo Wildlife Centre, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
It really is a beautiful place. Thank you for your visit, always happy to assist you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

What an experience! We traveled with another couple and we will always treasure this experience. Much has been written about how you get to Napo. It is a grand experience. The wildlife viewing was fantastic. We saw an anteater eating ants in a tree, monkeys, birds and sloths. Food and rooms was great. Highlight for us were the guides. Their willingness to share their stories and culture was fascinating and inspiring. Our guide, Delphin, was truly an amazing man and we will treasure his story of achievement. He can also see and hear anything!

The four of us know this was a trip of a lifetime.

Room Tip: We had a fabulous room on the water. Highly recommend!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vlogmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapoWildlifeCenter, Gerente at Napo Wildlife Centre, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you very much for your valuable comment. Happy to assist you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed three nights at this wonderful jungle camp in mid May; what a pity it was not one or two nights longer as we had the most incredible time.
This was our first trip to South America, and we started in Quito for a few nights which was great, then flew to Coca for the canoe ride to Napo. That canoe journey, as others have mentioned is, in itself, something not to be missed. You start in a very fast motorised canoe for about two hours, carrying about 20 or more persons, and during the trip will see both the good and the bad of the Napo river; wildlife in large amounts, and also the flares of the oil industry's industrial style, deforested camps. I suppose one has to accept that the motorised canoe was burning fuel from that industry, and the journey to Napo withut that transport would be almost impossible, but nevertheless it does seem a bit misplaced to see such industrial sites in the jungle. You then transfer to the paddled canoes that will be used for all the remaining trips from napo, each carrying up to 8 or 9 people, and it is in this part of the ride which is probably longer than the two hours of motorised canoe ride that you will see even more of the local wildlife.
Be prepared to be amazed by the animals and wildlife you see on your jungle treks, but be also aware that you may (will probably?) get very wet occasionally as when it rains it really rains hard, and once wet it is almost impossible to dry your clothing; it is the rain forest after all!
The guides and canoe paddlers were absolutely wonderful; incredibly knowledgable and so enthusiastic that it was impossible not to be utterly engrossed and amazed by all we saw; birds, animals, insects, reptiles, plants, etc etc. We were even lucky enough to see a huge tarantula while on the platform of the tree-top canopy tower (207 steps up to the top so be prepared for a climb!) along with so many birds it is impossible to count, monkeys of several types, a sloth actually climbing down its palm tree trunk, and much else besides.
The camp itself is very smart, comfortable and beautifully positioned on the side of a lake filled by the river you travel on to Napo, and the food is glorious. It is also great that the guides all eat with the guests at every meal so you feel that you know your own guide very well after just a couple of days. The camp is staffed by the local indiginous people of the area, so the benefits of this eco-tourism are returned to those people and not to some faceless company.
This is not an easy-going, restful holiday experience giving you a lot of down-time in which to read any books you may have brought with you, but a very busy, early rising in the mornings, type of experience. It is, however, something not to be missed.
Make sure you have plenty of thin clothing, both short and long legged and sleeved, as insects can be a problem to some guests, and it is just about essential to have a good pair of binoculars and a camera with as long lens as you can afford, (or beg or borrow) as a lot of the wildlife is a long distance from you.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapoWildlifeCenter, Gerente at Napo Wildlife Centre, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su visita. Es un placer atenderlo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yasuni National Park
22.6 mi away
Yarina Eco Lodge
Yarina Eco Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yasuni National Park
78 reviews
12.6 mi away
Sani Lodge
Sani Lodge
#2 of 3 in Yasuni National Park
246 reviews
5.0 mi away
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge
#1 of 4 in Yasuni National Park
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Yachana Lodge
Yachana Lodge
#1 of 57 in Napo Province
169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Guacamayo Ecolodge
Guacamayo Ecolodge
#4 of 9 in Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve
193 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cuyabeno River Lodge
Cuyabeno River Lodge
#8 of 9 in Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napo Wildlife Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napo Wildlife Centre

Property: Napo Wildlife Centre
Address: Yanez Pinzon N26 -131 | la Nina. Edificio Las Carabelas, oficina 101, Yasuni National Park, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Yasuni National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Yasuni National Park
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napo Wildlife Center offers visitors a number of vantage points from which to admire and experience the spectacular, awe-inspiring diversity of the Amazon Basin. Climb the 120-ft. High galvanized-metal stairs to the jungle tower for otherwise impossible eye-to-eye views of canopy dwellers such as monkeys, eagles and macaws...Spy on clay licks teeming with parrots and occasionally visited by jungle cats or a magnificent elephant-muzzled tapir...Experience Man's ageless interaction with the jungle through the native community's perspectiveEnjoy evening walks to witness the astounding nightlife of the dense, entangled understory...Explore the many trails through "terra firme", "varzea" and swamp forest in search of the best that Amazonia has to offerBe it from the ground up, or from the canopy down, from hidden viewing blinds to silent paddling up black-water creeks, we deliver the biggest most intricate picture possible of this wonderful world. Napo Wildlife Center not only provides the educated perspective of bilingual guides but also the hands-on knowledge of the true guardians of Anangu, who live and witness the marvels of their jungle home every day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Napo Wildlife Centre Hotel Yasuni National Park
Napo Wildlife Centre Ecuador/Yasuni National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing