We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing place to experience the best of the amazon”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Yasuni National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing place to experience the best of the amazon”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Takes about 3 hours to reach this place after you have flown ot Coca but that is all part of the expereince. travelling along the river on the motorized canoe shows you the effectsof the oil mining - you pass a refinery with large flames burning of the excess gases - to the smaller tributary where you get into a dugout canoe nad are paddled for another hour. Eventually you reach a beautiful lagoon where the reserve has been built - very sympathetically to blend in with the forest.

This is primary forest at its best. the reserve is very luxurious considerign where it is located away from all electricity supplies!

i exepcted to be surrounded by insects and bugs and snakes but it is surprisingly hard to see these - you have ot go hunting for them.

the hotel have built a lovely watch tower which puts you at eye level withe birds and monkeys.

I love the fact that this all benefits the Yasuni people

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapoWildlifeCenter, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Hey turty!

Thanks for your comment. Please feel free to follow us on our social networks in order to stay in touch with the wildlife.

Our best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    47
    13
    5
    0
See reviews for
132
284
33
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We certainly enjoyed our holiday at Napo. The lodge was clean and comfortable and the food very good.
We also saw a great deal of wildlife (which is why we came) but there were a few things that we felt could have been better.
Our guide was very knowledgeable and able to spot many things. Unfortunately, he was also half-hearted in his work (he seemed most animated on the last day when tips were forthcoming and he was off to a new resort). Unless you were close to him in the boat, he was hard to hear and half the boat relied on relayed comments from others. As with other places in South America, tour guides are usually freelance, so this may just have been ‘luck of the draw’.
The (optional) night walk was a joke! Paddling along a muddy track at the back of the compound with our own flashlights/torches and our incoherent guide was a waste of time. We stopped to see, by torch-light, bullet-ants (they are also active in the day) and a ‘walking palm tree’ (No, they don’t walk at night!!) and little else. Suggest that Napo either drop this or think of something different, as no one else in our group (or others that we spoke to) was very impressed.
Other attractions are also ‘oversold’ in the marketing.
Now, I know that when viewing wildlife, nothing can be guaranteed, but when talking to other groups, you do get some feel for consistency. We saw very little from the viewing platform and most that we did see, we had seen before. One of the clay licks was a disappointment - one guide admitted that they hadn't seen much there for months.
As mentioned by previous travellers, there is also an ‘expected’ tipping requirement which amounts to $25 per guest per day (plus any extra for outstanding service). As an Australian (and used to tipping only when I feel I have received good service), I was surprised when friends from the USA (where tipping is more widely practiced) thought this excessive – not surprising when you are a family of 5 on a 4-day tour. Why not make it part of the price?
Please note that the above comments do not detract from the fact that we did have a good time at Napo – the monkeys, birds, otters, turtles, frogs, butterflies, etc. made it all a great wildlife experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank allblack-screen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapoWildlifeCenter, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
We are agree with you when you say that NWC is a great experience! ;)

As you mention on your review, the sightings of wildlife is not guaranteed. The guide comment about the clay licks was inappropriate, because there is always a reason for the parrots and parakeets was hidden for you, maybe a predator was near the clay lick, or a menace are surrounding the area, but they (parrots & parakeets) always come back to the clay lick. We are sorry that you have not been able to see them.

The tipping is voluntary.

Thanks for all of your suggestions, we are going to improve in all aspects that you mention on your comment. Actually, we are working on new paths and activities for our visitors.

Our best regards for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

What a remarkable experience! We had wonderful guides who rowed us through the rivers, hiked us through the deep forests, and found a lot of wildlife for us to see. The food at the Lodge was delicious. Everyone was friendly and helpful. This is an amazing place to visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbk17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapoWildlifeCenter, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Hello Barb,

Thanks a lot for your review!

If you want to stay in touch with the wildlife, please feel free to follow us on our social networks.

Best regards

Kichwa Añangu Community
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Loved my stay at Napo Wildlife Centre! After a short flight to Coca we were met by our guide who accompanied us on the 2hr motorized boat ride. We then had to switch to paddle canoe to reach the lodge. This took a further 1.5hrs but was essentially our first activity as we managed to see 3 different species of monkeys and plenty of birds on the way to the lodge.
The rooms are very comfortable and all have a lake view. There are mosquito nets over the beds to keep the bugs out. Food was good, and meals are taken communally with the rest of your group and your guide.
We stayed for 3 nights and I would recommend this amount of time to ensure you give yourself enough opportunities to spot wildlife. We saw more than I expected with 7 different species of monkeys, a herd of peccories (wild pigs), caiman, snakes, giant otters and a tarantula to name a few. We did forest walks and canoe trips, and we saw more wildlife on the canoe trips as we could approach more quietly.
Overall, an unforgettable experience and highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kolondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapoWildlifeCenter, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Excellent sightings!!

Thanks for your nice and detailed comment (with recommendation included :) ). It was a pleasure to receive you at our lodge.

Our best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer, Alaska
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

The Amazon has always been on our 'must do/see' travel list. If it's on yours, too, Napo should fit you nicely: remote but fairly easy (and fun) to get to, clean, comfortable, great service/staff, good food/bar service, and beautiful flora/fauna. This is a different experience than an African safari, so comparisons aren't really fair or helpful. If you value a bit more attention, privacy, comfort, and flexibility then consider arranging for a private guide for not much more expense. If you're noise sensitive, arrange to stay in one of their detached/single huts.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acjo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapoWildlifeCenter, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Great suggestions!
Thanks for your review. Please feel free to stay in touch with us through social networks.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavistock
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed here for 4 days in December 2012 and had an incredible time watching wild otters, caymen, monkeys, parrots and numerous other birds too many to mention. The food was good and the guides are just brilliant, a truly great place to go. The rooms were comfortable, all with a lovely view of the lake.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller-Tavistock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapoWildlifeCenter, Guest Relations Manager at Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thanks for your review!

Maybe you are interested in stay in touch with wildlife... so, follow us on our social networks :)

Our best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My wife and I spent 5 incredible nights at Napo and loved every second of it. The rooms are beautiful, the staff very friendly and helpful, and the guides just amazed us with their knowledge and ability to spot wildlife. We are vegans and they prepared delicious meals 3 times a day for us. I was amazed at how well they took care of all of the logistics - from meeting us at the airport in Quito,baggage handling, bus transfer, boat ride, the daily tours, meals, any gear we needed,etc. We were divided up into a group of 7 people according to our interests and benefitted by having 3 entomologists amongst us as well as all of us being avid birders. We were in constant cerebral overload from the sounds,smells,and visuals of this incredible place. It felt like you could reach out and touch the pulse of the planet. I'm an avid photographer and can take a few thousand pictures on my trips, but after the first day I put my camera down and just experienced everything with all of my senses. It was pure joy and amazement. Thank you Napo Wildlife Center for the experience of a lifetime !!

Room Tip: All of the rooms seem to have the same views - I didn't hear 1 complaint from anyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapoWildlifeCenter, Guest Relations Manager at Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thanks for your review Paul!

An interesting quote: "It felt like you could reach out and touch the pulse of the planet...". We are totally agree with you my friend.

Please, feel free to recommend our lodge with other people like you...

A few thousand pictures! Amazing... Please, share with us a couple of them ;)

Thanks a lot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yasuni National Park
22.6 mi away
Yarina Eco Lodge
Yarina Eco Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yasuni National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tapir Lodge
Tapir Lodge
#3 of 3 in Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
12.6 mi away
Sani Lodge
Sani Lodge
#2 of 3 in Yasuni National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge
#1 of 4 in Yasuni National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
95.1 mi away
Cotococha Amazon Lodge
0.0 mi away
Yachana Lodge
Yachana Lodge
#1 of 55 in Napo Province
5.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge

Property: Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge
Address: Yanez Pinzon N26 -131 y la Nina. Edificio Las Carabelas, oficina 101, Yasuni National Park, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Yasuni National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Yasuni National Park
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napo Wildlife Center offers visitors a number of vantage points from which to admire and experience the spectacular, awe-inspiring diversity of the Amazon Basin. Climb the 120-ft. High galvanized-metal stairs to the jungle tower for otherwise impossible eye-to-eye views of canopy dwellers such as monkeys, eagles and macaws...Spy on clay licks teeming with parrots and occasionally visited by jungle cats or a magnificent elephant-muzzled tapir...Experience Man's ageless interaction with the jungle through the native community's perspectiveEnjoy evening walks to witness the astounding nightlife of the dense, entangled understory...Explore the many trails through "terra firme", "varzea" and swamp forest in search of the best that Amazonia has to offerBe it from the ground up, or from the canopy down, from hidden viewing blinds to silent paddling up black-water creeks, we deliver the biggest most intricate picture possible of this wonderful world. Napo Wildlife Center not only provides the educated perspective of bilingual guides but also the hands-on knowledge of the true guardians of Anangu, who live and witness the marvels of their jungle home every day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Napo Wildlife Centre Hotel Yasuni National Park
Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge Ecuador/Yasuni National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing