We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once in a lifetime experience”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Yasuni National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Napo Wildlife Center
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

It is hard to express in writing how beautiful and special this please really is. Visiting Yasuni National park is a once in a lifetime experience and I highly recommend staying here.
My husband and I stayed at this lodge last May and we absolutely loved it! We are experienced travelers in our mid 30's that look for adventure and a chance to experience a country's beauty and culture. If you want to experience Ecuador and meet the wonderful people, this is the best way to do it!
- The lodge itself is wonderful; it is peaceful, well maintained, and the grounds are beautiful. The rooms are well equipped with shower (hot water), electricity, and the rooms are large and clean. Our room faced the lagoon, which was just beautiful!
- Very well organized, getting there takes takes time but you do not need to worry about anything (they carry your bags, give you your plane tickets, proivde lunch during the trip there, guides are there from begining to end of the trip so you are never alone)
-The food is excellent- best in Ecuador and we visited the entire country
- The guides are very friendly and knowledgeable and put a lot of effort to make sure you are enjoying your experience. We couldn't have asked for a better experience.
- There is plenty of wildlife to see such as howler monkeys, owl monkets, sloths, a variety of birds, Caymans, tarantulas, turtles, many different types of insects- you will not be disappointed
- It is Fun! You will not be bored. There are daily excursions such as hikes, visiting the observation tower, canoe tours at night, and plenty of stuff to do during the day if you wish to stay at the lodge. They have a dock where you can swim in the lagoon, bar/restaurant with great food, observation tower to see the forest, and you’ll meet many other travelers. We made some wonderful friends from around the world!
- The part that I loved the most about this lodge is that it is run and owned by the Anangu Quichua Community.

Thank you to our gudie and the Anangu Quichua Community for making our stay so wonderful!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TWDCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapoWildlifeCenter, Public Relations Manager at Napo Wildlife Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you for your review, we certainly agree with you about the beauty of Yasuni and are glad you had a great time. Incidentally we do not allow swimming in the lagoon for safety reasons for those reading this. Please feel free to tell your friends about us and thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (577)
There are newer reviews for Napo Wildlife Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

347 - 353 of 577 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Napo April 2013 for our 9th wedding anniversary then traveled to Quito and Galapagos. The stay at Napo was a wonderful experience. We felt safe the entire time although there is no lock on the door or windows. We are nature lovers and we got guides who showed us animals and birds we would never have seen on our own. We saw 59 different species including caiman, otters, electric eel, 5 types of monkeys, herons, parrots and many other birds, frogs and snakes. I was in awe of the beauty of nature all around us and so thankful to get to see it all. The rooms were very cool with a view of the lake, the food was great. I am a vegetarian and they made me special food every time. The staff were very nice and helped us out with any need we might have. I would love to return. If you are lucky enough to go to this area it is worth the effort. Someday this beautiful part of nature could be extinct it is best to see it now in its full glory!

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the lake were breathtaking!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapoWildlifeCenter, Guest Relations Manager at Napo Wildlife Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Hi, thank you for your review, we are glad to hear you had a great time at Napo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband and I travelled to this eco lodge after spending a week in the Galapagos Islands. We stayed for four nights which started with a flight to Coca, then a three hour river boat ride down the Napo River and finally an additional two hour canoe ride to the lodge. Our guides met us at the airport in Quito so our “tour” really started from there. It was a bit hard to take pictures on the motorized boat but our guides stopped many times along with way for picture taking once we got into the canoes.

The lodge is very remote and run by the local people who live there which gave it a unique atmosphere. Once there, we checked in and explored the property. It is not overly large but there are some good photo opportunities along the paths. You will see birds, insects including a very large population of leaf cutter ants and if you are lucky possibly a caiman alligator. You may also hear/see the Giant Otters that live within the water system all from the property itself.

For every meal, we ate with our guide. The food was home style so a bit on the basic side but very good. The tours were similar day over day comprising of either walking through the rain forest or sitting in a canoe. You are with a local guide who leads the group and another guide who speaks for the local guide due to a language barrier. Our guide; Robby was the highlight of our experience at this eco lodge. He is a freelance guide and therefore not always available at this resort but if you are luck enough to have him, he has 20+ years experience as a guide in Ecuador and also teaches new guides at the Quito University so we were very fortunate.

Unfortunately we didn't see as much wildlife as we hoped to but then after being in the Galapagos its pretty impossible to top that! We saw 6 different types of monkeys, lots of birds, the Caimans, the Giant Otters and some incects. We were expecting to see more snakes and mammals overall given the remoteness of the location. We were told the giant otters were apparently a bit rare to see.

We stayed in Suite number 13 and our friends stayed in the adjoining suite number 14. If I were to go again i would opt for an individual cabana as we could hear each other through the adjoining wall. Our suite had an extra bedroom which we used as our closet and our friend’s suite did not have an extra bedroom but had a soaker tub outside on the back deck. The water is the color of weak tea so personally I’m glad we had the extra room over the tub. The one downside of our suite was the chemical smell from the bathroom. Everything ran on septic but we found the smell pretty uninviting. Otherwise it was a good room. We were at the far right of the resort so we tended to see animals all around our room including spider monkeys, many birds, turtles and one morning a Caiman.

This was an interesting experience but in my view you definitely don’t need longer then 4 days.

Room Tip: The suites are larger with better amenities but you may hear your neighbour as each suite is one hal...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OffTheBeatenPath_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapoWildlifeCenter, Guest Relations Manager at Napo Wildlife Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thanks for your review, we always value comments from our guests, please feel free to tell others about us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Two of us stayed for 4 nights the end of March 2013 and found the concept of Napo very refreshing, a community-owned lodge that is sustainably run, has great food and comfy rooms. The staff are all from Ecuador, many local, and did a good job of finding monkeys, giant otters, caimans, frogs, etc.

Most guests, many from U.S.and Canada, the rest from UK and Europe, were visiting Napo along with the Galapagos Islands. For these guests the experience seemed to be 5-star. Our expectation as birders made me drop the rating to four stars, only because of being to other places we've visited like Manu in Peru, where the birds were generally more accessible.

However, the charm of the lodge and the passion of the guides in showing this unspoiled section of the Amazon was first-rate. Each tributary of the lake on which the lodge sits has its own unique flora and wildlife. Most days we went on two canoe trips - relax, they do the work while you take photos or just enjoy the sights and sounds of the Amazon. Some hiking is offered too, although more wildlife was seen on the boat trips.

This really is a fantastic place for monkey viewing, with around twelve species in the area. You will also see sloths. The lodge has its own tower above the dining room, and visitors also trek to a 130-foot tower where you can see many birds and monkeys using staff spotting scopes. From there we enjoyed five tanager species in one tree, every color of the rainbow. Our day trip to three parrot clay licks was quite fruitful, as colorful parrots and parakeets were numerous in all but one stop where a hawk frightened them off.

We found the food to be quite good, plentiful, and the soups were outstanding. Fresh fruit drinks, which were also offered following every outing, were varied and amazing. The only drawback, and it's mentioned by many posters, is the inability to dine with other travelers outside your assigned group. You may meet some incredibly interesting folks at the bar, then find yourself sitting next to someone at dinner who's annoying. That's life.

The rooms were clean, large, had expensive showers, NO insects (at least in ours), and the daily optional laundry service was fast and cheap. From our own balcony we could see a tree full of hanging yellow cacique bird nests, caimans, bats, turtles and frogs. The aforementioned wildlife lives below the boardwalk at the edge of the lake.

For those interested in pondering likelihood of rainy days, it rained only half a day during our entire stay. The hottest time was walking through the jungle but the time spent in the dugout canoes was comfortable, and almost cool when on the larger motorized canoe that brings you from Coca. Bring layers of clothing and a stay-on hat and you should be fine. We took Repel insect spray and kept it handy, sometimes needed it, other times not. Also took sunscreen but also did not need that much as often we were in the shade.

We enjoy supporting this type of establishment that does not destroy the environment and where the profits go to locals. It's a genuine look at life in this beautiful, wild region in a way that benefits both the visitor and the community.

Room Tip: Rooms right on the lake are the nicest.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LLLofPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapoWildlifeCenter, Guest Relations Manager at Napo Wildlife Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you for your review, your helpful comments will no doubt be very useful for guests considering NWC. We are glad you had a great time, please tell others about us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We spent 4 days, 5 nights at the lodge in early April. Having viewed the mixed reviews in March we were a bit uncertain as to what expect but this was a major highlight of a trip which also included the Andes and the Galapagos. No we did not see many parrots at the clay licks, yes it poured with rain for the whole of 1 hike through the jungle (it wouldn't be a rain forest without the rain!!)BUT we did see an electric eel, a huge boa constrictor ( which was partially responsible for the lack of parrots as it sat in a tree 10 yards away) 5 types of monkey, other snakes, an array of birds 1 huge caiman and several smaller ones, both types of sloth and more types of frog and toad than I imagined existed. Our guides Paul and Hugo were first class finding the most amazing examples of camouflaged frogs. The lodge provided wellington boots and full length ponchos so no need to worry about wet weather clothing. The food was remarkably good catering for a non meat and a non cheese eater with ease. All in all a great experience - wildlife not on tap but if it was there our guides spotted it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Duncan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapoWildlifeCenter, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Napo Wildlife Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you for your review. Sounds like you had a great time at NWC, please feel free to share your experiences with others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We spent 4 nights at NWC in March 2013 and our experience failed to meet expectations.
It's in a beautiful setting, our room (suite) was very comfortable and the food and lodge service were up to standard.
But the main reason for visiting was for the wildlife. We found viewing opportunities disappointing and rather limited and our guides, although very nice, were not brilliant. The trip to the licks and cultural centre were quite frankly a waste of time. We were on a private tour, but were still herded in with a large group for this particular trip and couldn't do our own thing.
NWC is really geared to larger groups and is very regimented. We had already had a great introduction to the Amazon basin when we went to Manu in Peru (where the parrot/macaw lick is vastly superior and provides overall a much better Amazon experience by far). NWC is definitely not for the individual/more experienced wildlife traveller.
Maureen & Terry Kedgley

Room Tip: A waterside suite is recommended
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TerenceK205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapoWildlifeCenter, Guest Relations Manager at Napo Wildlife Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

We are very sorry to hear your Napo trip was not as you had hoped.
Regarding viewing opportunities we never guarantee sightings as you can imagine being the jungle such things are beyond our control, that being said this area is rich in biodiversity and with the Kichwa Añangu Community having banned all hunting sightings are more likely here than in other parts of Ecuador and our guests spend much of the day in the jungle to optimise potential and enjoyment. The full day in which you referred to whilst visiting the clay licks is really packed regarding activities, leaving at 6am and returning to the lodge at around 4pm, so for this reason we do have to more or less keep to schedule unless it has been pre arranged to do something different, we do not allow too many people to visit at once to avoid them from feeling overcrowded, however at times when both NWC and Yasuní eco-lodge are full obviously you will find more people there. Regarding the women´s cultural center we only have one group at a time, we are sorry to hear this wasn´t interesting to you as we usually have a great response from guests who enjoy learning about the culture and was of life of the Kichwa people. I would suggest to other guests coming to NMW that they check the itinerary beforehand and if there is anything that doesn’t interest them like clay licks or cultural activities to let us know in advance and we can arrange something more else.
We thank you for your comments which are always valued by NWC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My family of 4 (kids are 8 and 9) travelled to Napo last month (March). With the price tag, I nervously anticipated this to be a the trip of a lifetime for my family. I would say afterwards that it met and exceeded my high expectations. I can see that some negative reviews have been posted in recent weeks. Most of the comments I cannot relate with or did not experience the same thing. I stayed 4D/3N. All of us caught traveller's diarrhea w/in the 1st 24hrs but we took our meds and were not greatly impeded by this. My 9 year old was a bit feverish w/ headache and malaise but that also passed.

Our assigned guide Delfin was amazing. He has superpowers for spotting game as did the Añangu guide Patricio. Delfin speaks great English and he himself is Quichua, the regional ethnic group. With a firm footing in the modern world, he still has a deep connection to the traditional ways of the Quichua which still exists in the most remote places in the Ecuadorian Amazon.

We are easy to please. We didn't have our heart set on any particular species. I can get excited about anything from a parrot to a leaf cutter ant. This is a rainforest. Many places to hide. If you get the glimpse of what you want to see, then you are very lucky. Photography is as challenging here as anywhere and I enjoyed that challenge. I don't understand how some commenters expect it to be automatic just because they paid a certain price. I don't know what to tell you other than go to a zoo if you want guarantees.

I will say we had exclusive access to our guides. We were not in a group. I would have had a much lesser experience in a large group. Some excursions were very early in the morning and rigid about being on time and for good reason. There was also flexibility later on. If you want to go on a longer walk over terra firma forrest, you can. If you want to do a short night walk, the guides were fine w/ that. Very cool stuff to see at night by the way.

As far as luxury deep in the rainforest... c'mon! Think of the logistics! Everything comes in by man-powered canoe down the creeks to include the gas tanks, hot water heaters, and everything else. Don't expect a long hot shower. Enjoy your refreshing lukewarm shower and relish the remoteness... or go back to the luxury African safari. It's also very humid here compared to savanna Africa. That makes it much harder to maintain. If a downpour turns you off, I might recommend Tanzania during the dry season.

Tips... yeah, kind of high on top of the price but I paid recommended because Delfin and Patricio showed us so many great things I can't even put a price on it (tree boa, red tail boa, anaconda, macaws, sloths, monkeys, katydids, tarantula etc etc.) If you get a lame guide, don't pay a dollar. Enough said. There are behind-the-scenes actions that make this a better experience. Getting out of the canoe and enjoying fresh tropical juices is a nice treat. We also very much enjoyed the guides company at all meals. We enjoyed learning from them. We had plenty of questions. If you can't maintain a conversation, you're short on curiosity.

The Napo experience was a lot of money. Never felt for a second it wasn't worth it. Running this lodge is not cheap and no one is getting rich from it. Everything was taken care of at all times. Our cabana was right on the lake, I would recommend that. We are still experiencing this trip as our kids are doing projects in school based on their unique experience. I hope you have the same type of experience we did and I hope you recognize and appreciate the threat Yasuni is under from encroaching oil industry.

Room Tip: Request a cabana on the lake. Maybe more money but beautiful view.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TMH2421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapoWildlifeCenter, Guest Relations Manager at Napo Wildlife Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

What a great review and I have to say we agree with your every word, we are really pleased you enjoyed your Napo stay and that your children also have nice memories and can put their newly gained knowledge about the jungle into use.
Hey if you want to come back why not enter our Facebook photo competition to win a free holiday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yasuni National Park
143.6 mi away
Yarina Eco Lodge
Yarina Eco Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yasuni National Park
81 reviews
12.6 mi away
Sani Lodge
Sani Lodge
#2 of 3 in Yasuni National Park
249 reviews
5.0 mi away
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge
#1 of 4 in Yasuni National Park
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Yachana Lodge
Yachana Lodge
#3 of 62 in Napo Province
170 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shiripuno Amazon Lodge
0.0 mi away
Cuyabeno River Lodge
Cuyabeno River Lodge
#7 of 9 in Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napo Wildlife Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napo Wildlife Center

Address: Yanez Pinzon N26 -131 | la Nina. Edificio Las Carabelas, oficina 101, Yasuni National Park, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Yasuni National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Yasuni National Park
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napo Wildlife Center offers visitors a number of vantage points from which to admire and experience the spectacular, awe-inspiring diversity of the Amazon Basin. Climb the 120-ft. High galvanized-metal stairs to the jungle tower for otherwise impossible eye-to-eye views of canopy dwellers such as monkeys, eagles and macaws...Spy on clay licks teeming with parrots and occasionally visited by jungle cats or a magnificent elephant-muzzled tapir...Experience Man's ageless interaction with the jungle through the native community's perspectiveEnjoy evening walks to witness the astounding nightlife of the dense, entangled understory...Explore the many trails through "terra firme", "varzea" and swamp forest in search of the best that Amazonia has to offerBe it from the ground up, or from the canopy down, from hidden viewing blinds to silent paddling up black-water creeks, we deliver the biggest most intricate picture possible of this wonderful world. Napo Wildlife Center not only provides the educated perspective of bilingual guides but also the hands-on knowledge of the true guardians of Anangu, who live and witness the marvels of their jungle home every day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Napo Wildlife Centre Hotel Yasuni National Park
Napo Wildlife Center Ecuador/Yasuni National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing