We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Lodge for Your Dream Amazon Trip”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Yasuni National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Napo Wildlife Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“A Perfect Lodge for Your Dream Amazon Trip”
Reviewed March 9, 2012

I won't repeat all the glowing comments from the reviews already posted. Yes, reading them will elevate your expectations but NWC will meet or exceed those expectations. At least, they did for us. NWC is run like a well oiled machine. Their ability to manage all the logistics that go into running the lodge is amazing.

We spent 6 fantastic nights at NWC. Our main goal was to see Giant Otters, Night Monkeys, Pygmy Marmoset and Golden-Mantled Tamarin along with anything else we could find and we easily met that goal. As a photographer, I was worried about being grouped together with 6 other guests since that would reduce flexibility and the likelihood of good photo opportunities. So, I arranged to hire a private guide through the lodge. That guide was Delfin who was amazing. On numerous occasions he would use his voice to call to animals and not only would they answer but they would sometimes come closer to investigate. Our native guide was also amazing and between the two of them I don't think we missed any bird, mammal, or herp that crossed our paths.

Yes, you only eat with your group and guides. So, that was just the four of us and it was a bit awkward at times. I would have liked the option to join some of the other friendly people that we met to trade stories but we were able to do that before and after meals.

I have attached some photos from the trip. More photos, videos, and full trip reports can be found via this link to give you an idea on what a stay at NWC is really like: http://www.focusedonnature.com/

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EDH_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NWClodge, Public Relations Manager at Napo Wildlife Centre, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Thank you for your reply; we appreciate your comments and your suggestion is taken into consideration as we believe its a great idea. Best regards, Mariela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    48
    14
    5
    0
See reviews for
138
293
34
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

This was our second lodge in the Amazon, and it was by far the best. Our accommodations were wonderful. The cabana was spacious, clean, and we had a shower with hot water. We really enjoyed the porch from where we had a great view of the lagoon, and where we could relax and enjoy the sounds of the birds and animals. All our meals were wonderful, and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. The lodge offers many activities, and our tour guide made sure we were able to do as much as possible during our stay. During our three day stay we traveled to two parrot clay licks, did several hikes in the jungle, and on one of the hikes we went to their jungle observation tower. The highlight of the lodge for me was I able to see the tamarins. If you are able to visit only one jungle lodge in Ecuador, I highly recommend this NWC.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NWClodge, Public Relations Manager at Napo Wildlife Centre, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Thank you for your comments, we are glad that you enjoyed the visit to Napo Wildlife Center. I will transmit it to the members of the Community.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

In January 2012 my husband and I visited Napo Wildlife Center for 4 nights, 5 days. Overall, our experience was excellent. It was well-organized, and the range and extent of activities was just right, especially if you like birds. We flew from Quito, and the NWC folks were at the Quito airport to ensure that we were checked in and taken care of. Be prepared for a full day of travel to reach NWC. After the short flight to Coca, we were met and transferred to a boat to travel down the Napo River. (Lunch provided.) The speed-canoe trip took easily 2 hours. Not a terrific amount of sightseeing/wildlife viewing can be done at 35 kph. Once we reached the National Park, we then transferred to canoes, and were paddled upstream 8 km to reach the lodge. This part of the journey was really the beginning of the wildlife experience. We moved up the stream at a leisurely pace, spotting many birds and monkeys along the way. This canoe trip took 1.5-2 hours. We finally arrived at NWC around 3:30 pm, and were shown to our cottages. Everything functioned like clockwork. Meals were healthy, ample and good. The information, orientation, and guides were truly excellent. Each group of 4-8 people has the same bilingual guide and local guide for their visit. Our biligual guide was Robbie Delgado, and we cannot recommend him highly enough. David, our local guide, also was an amazing spotter, and really enhanced our experience. Be prepared to see mostly birds, and mostly along the canoe rides. The only real mammals we saw were monkeys, and we did spot nearly all varieties native to the region. The trip to the canopy tower was really worthwhile, and we made a special repeat visit because we enjoyed it so much. The community involvement in NWC is a worthy feature of the center, and makes one feel good about eco-tourism.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank isbergglenn2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapoWildlifeCenter, Guest Relations Manager at Napo Wildlife Centre, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your review, although over a year ago were glad you enjoyed your trip. Please feel free to share your experience with others
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

We loved NWC but we thought it was a bit disappointing that we had to share every meal with our guide, natural guide and another couple whom which we did all of our trips together with. As we are a couple, we would have liked to have some time for our selves which was not really possible.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaDK091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapoWildlifeCenter, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Napo Wildlife Centre, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with NWC. We generally seat the groups together to give them a chance to get to know eachother and their guide however seating plans can be rearranged to suit the guests.
Thank you very much for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Called all the most popular amazon lodges and this was the most difficult to communicate with. Nevertheless given our schedule and reviews we asked to book the available date they gave us and went on to arrange our schedule around those dates. In trying to nail down whether we needed to hire a bird guide and them never getting the information to us, the lodge sold our days to someone else, despite us committing. We felt this was inappropriate And a poor business practice. All other lodges were clear, instantly helpful and easy to deal with. Sorry we didn't get to experience it

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Nancy252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NWClodge, Public Relations Manager at Napo Wildlife Centre, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Dear Sirs: We are sorry that his situation occured. Yes, at Napo WIldlife Center there is a high demand for booking, and availiability is provided and changes on daily basis. Sorry for the inconvenience we have caused you, we understand your dissapointment and once again apologize for this situation. Your comments will be attended in order to improve our service.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

This lodge is beautiful, eco-friendly and comfortable. The food was delicious, both vegetarian and non-veg. It is located on a peaceful private lagoon in the heart of amazon rainforest. A truly amazing wilderness experience that feels like an authentic contribution to community development for the local indigenous Kichwa people and also an environmentally sound way to experience the wildlife. Exceeded all expectations.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mpez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapoWildlifeCenter, Guest Relations Manager at Napo Wildlife Centre, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your review although a while ago. Please feel free to share your experience with others
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
593 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

To get there takes two hours on a fast boat from Coca and then at least an hour in a hand canoed boat as motor-boats are not allowed in the national park. Finally you see the lodge across a lake and it is captivating. Everything has to come in and out this way from visitors, luggage, food and water. But here in the remoteness of this park is a gorgeous lodge with lovely cabanas, good food with fresh fruit and clean drinking water. The lodge is owned and operated by the local native people and they have made this a model for sustainable ecotourism and been able to build schools and a medical clinic for the community on the proceeds. Since the fauna is protected the forests are alive with a complete set of mammals and birds.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MikeBirdman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapoWildlifeCenter, Guest Relations Manager at Napo Wildlife Centre, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your review although a while ago. Please feel free to share your experience with others
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yasuni National Park
22.6 mi away
Yarina Eco Lodge
Yarina Eco Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yasuni National Park
78 reviews
12.6 mi away
Sani Lodge
Sani Lodge
#2 of 3 in Yasuni National Park
246 reviews
5.0 mi away
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge
#1 of 4 in Yasuni National Park
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Yachana Lodge
Yachana Lodge
#1 of 57 in Napo Province
169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Guacamayo Ecolodge
Guacamayo Ecolodge
#4 of 9 in Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve
193 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cuyabeno River Lodge
Cuyabeno River Lodge
#8 of 9 in Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napo Wildlife Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napo Wildlife Centre

Property: Napo Wildlife Centre
Address: Yanez Pinzon N26 -131 | la Nina. Edificio Las Carabelas, oficina 101, Yasuni National Park, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Yasuni National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Yasuni National Park
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napo Wildlife Center offers visitors a number of vantage points from which to admire and experience the spectacular, awe-inspiring diversity of the Amazon Basin. Climb the 120-ft. High galvanized-metal stairs to the jungle tower for otherwise impossible eye-to-eye views of canopy dwellers such as monkeys, eagles and macaws...Spy on clay licks teeming with parrots and occasionally visited by jungle cats or a magnificent elephant-muzzled tapir...Experience Man's ageless interaction with the jungle through the native community's perspectiveEnjoy evening walks to witness the astounding nightlife of the dense, entangled understory...Explore the many trails through "terra firme", "varzea" and swamp forest in search of the best that Amazonia has to offerBe it from the ground up, or from the canopy down, from hidden viewing blinds to silent paddling up black-water creeks, we deliver the biggest most intricate picture possible of this wonderful world. Napo Wildlife Center not only provides the educated perspective of bilingual guides but also the hands-on knowledge of the true guardians of Anangu, who live and witness the marvels of their jungle home every day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Napo Wildlife Centre Hotel Yasuni National Park
Napo Wildlife Centre Ecuador/Yasuni National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing