We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Selva Eco Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 3, 2014

For a location so remote, this place is truly a wonder. You have several choices for places to visit on the Napo river in Ecuador. La Selva is the last stop for the boats that often share the ride down the river. It costs a bit more but do not let that stop you.

The ride itself is stunning, especially if you have never gone down a wild river in the western Amazon basin. And make no mistake, you are going to a wild place where you are immersed in nature. There are no museums and really no civilization except for the small native villages in the area. Breakfast overlooking the blackwater lake is enough reason to go. The food is excellent for a place dependent on the river for all supply deliveries. The bird Guide is top of the list. I have been to several South and Central American sites and Rodrigo is a separate wonder of his own. The several nature guides there also were patient and knowledgeable. The rooms are hard to believe for a place so remote. Really beautiful. Troops of squirrel monkeys romping through the lodge area. The Hoatzins fluttering up to the trees off the deck.

My longer personal essay is here with photos:
http://www.hr-rna.com/RNA/Essay%20pages/Ecuador%202014%20page.htm

That is for those who really want to have a preview look at the place. But, go, yes go. They could not be more accommodating at La Selva. I will go again.

Room Tip: Rooms over look the woods and a few are near the lake. There are no bad rooms. But you may have a wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Herschel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (489)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 489 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2014

We just came back from a trip to Ecuador where we stayed at the La Selva Lodge for 4 nights.
We travelled with another couple. The lodge was incredible, it more than met our expectations.
The staff was great, very friendly and very helpful. From the moment we got to the airport in Quito for our flight to Coca, their representative Mr. Brito took excelent care of us.
We were very pleased with the food as well. It was wonderful. Our naturalist guide was Diana and our native guide was Rodrigo, they were both very good and full of knowledge! We loved being with them. It was the perfect end to our 16 day trip to Ecuador. I would highly recommend this Lodge!

Room Tip: pick a lagoon view room if you can they are lovely with floor to ceiling windows, that let in all th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kjetil H, Owner at La Selva Amazon Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Dear Magy W,
Thank you so much for your review! It is great to know our staff is going beyond their expectations to create a fabulous vacation for time in the Amazon at our lodge. 16 days is a quite a trip in Ecuador, we hope you enjoyed our beautiful country and so glad you could top it all off with at stay at La Selva! Safe travels and thanks again!

Best Regards,
La Selva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed 4 nights with our friends. The staff were excellent , the guide Diana a truly remarkable human being along with the native guide Rodrigo made for a unique experience. Marcelo the batman is a super cool guy who made the after jungle cocktail hour such fun. Our room overlooked the lagoon and we saw beautiful sunrises and sunsets. As far as the wildlife that is a mystery for you to discover for yourself....you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor frontage overlooking the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kostostralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kjetil H, Owner at La Selva Amazon Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear Kostostralia,

Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed yourself and everything La Selva had to offer. Our Scenic Suites are perfect for the sunrises and sunsets overlooking the lake, you made a great choice! La Selva is full of unique experience and you hit the nail right on the head when you mention that the wildlife to see is a mystery, it is exactly that. You never know what you will find or see, even the guides don’t know! The wildlife is so diverse in the Ecuadorian Amazon, but the density is less, so you never know when you will see the same animal again! It makes for really great surprises! Thanks again for your great review!

La Selva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We recently went to LaSelva with another couple after visiting the Galapagos Islands. We stayed for 3 nights. Just getting to the lodge after flying to Coca Airport and the canoe trip on the river to get there was a great introduction. Once at the lodge, we found it to be everything they said it would be: incredible wildlife; rain forest hikes; beautiful rooms with views of the lagoon; and just about everything else fantastic. The food was excellent and most importantly, the guides were knowledgeable and experts in their fields. This is a trip unlike any other we have taken and an absolutely unforgettable experience. If you can go--GO!

Room Tip: Rooms in the lodge itself are preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ejc225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kjetil H, Owner at La Selva Amazon Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear Ejc225,

Thank you so much for your review! Yes, it is an adventure in itself just to get to our lodge but the beauty of it all is something quite unique and cruising along the winding Napo River proves to be a great introduction to the area catching your first glimpses of many birds, trees and possibly even monkeys along the riverside. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Thanks again!

La Selva Jungle Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

My expectations surpassed. Super knowledgeable guides, top notch accommodations, and excellent food. The butterfly farm was super cool. The guide helped me with my compact digital camera....completely different results. The surroundings are amazing....go and enjoy.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kjetil H, Owner at La Selva Amazon Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear David L,

Thanks for setting aside your time to write a review for us, we really appreciate it! We love to hear about our guests experiences, and it sounds like you had a wonderful time. We’re also glad to hear that you got to see how truly knowledgeable our guides are! They are ready and willing to help with anything and want to make sure you get the most out of your visit, even if it means showing you how to use your camera for better pictures. Thanks again and safe travels for the future!

Best Regards,
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in September and came back for more in May.

The main attraction is of course the wildlife and the jungle. The longer you stay the more you see. I saw new and different things this time, from a close up look at the howler monkeys to a caiman sunning beside the dock. As it is the rain forest it rained some every day, but we still got all our spotting trips in.

Rooms and food were excellent as last time, though this time my guides were not quite up to the standard of my last visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kjetil H, Owner at La Selva Amazon Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear Jim C,

What a pleasure to have you a second time! No matter how many times you enter the jungle, it is sure thing that you will see something different and amazing. How exciting that you were able to experience this twice! We are glad that we are keeping up to your expectations regarding accommodations, service and food, it is something that we take a lot of pride in!

Sincerly,
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed at La Selva for 3 nights after a 7 night river cruise. We wished we had stayed longer at the lodge.
The rooms are gorgeous and comfortable. The setting of the lodge is very peaceful and we loved sleeping to the sound of jungle critters..although howler monkey noises at 6am are not to be slept through :-D No worries, we were up early every morning for excursions! The excursions were very enjoyable and informative. Our guides Andreas and Arsinio were excellent.
We especially liked fishing for piranhas off the dock (I caught 3!) and then jumping off the dock for a swim. You might guess that the fear of getting you toes eaten by piranhas is highly overrated. The other fear to dispel before coming to the rainforest is the fear of getting swarmed by mosquitoes. We were hardly aware of any mosquitoes even during our night-time hikes. In fact, now in June in Canada, the mosquitoes here are 100 times what we encountered in the rainforest. 1000 times? You get my point!
So if you want to experience the rainforest and want a comfortable, luxurious place to stay....we would highly recommend La Selva.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Kingstonchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie B, Owner at La Selva Amazon Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear Kingstonchick,

Thank you so much for your review! It is great to hear that you really enjoyed your stay with us and wish you stayed longer, we would have loved to have you for more time! The jungle is an amazing thing, especially to fall asleep to at night after an exciting day adventuring with our guides. Nature provides even the most unique alarm system, the Howler Monkeys! Isn’t it great that there aren’t many mosquitos? Many people have the illusion that the forest is filled with them, but our location makes the difference. The private lake that we are situated on is the reason there are not many, they are actually repelled by the type of water in the lake. And as for the piranhas, you are right, there is absolutely nothing to worry about, the movies like to give them an overrated hype! Sorry to hear that Canada is full of moquitos, we hope they don’t bother you too much! Thanks again for your review about your stay!

La Selva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yasuni National Park
147.9 mi away
Yarina Eco Lodge
Yarina Eco Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yasuni National Park
87 reviews
0 mi away
Hosteria Amazonas
Hosteria Amazonas
#2 of 6 in Coca
7 reviews
7.7 mi away
Sani Lodge
Sani Lodge
#2 of 3 in Yasuni National Park
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Cuyabeno River Lodge
Cuyabeno River Lodge
#6 of 9 in Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve
58 reviews
18.6 mi away
Amazon Dolphin Lodge
Amazon Dolphin Lodge
#6 of 12 in Coca
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Selva Amazon Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Selva Amazon Ecolodge

Address: Sucumbios | Yasuní Biosphere Reserve, Yasuni National Park 170143, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Yasuni National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Yasuni National Park
Price Range: $741 - $781 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Selva Amazon Ecolodge 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge offers wildlife tours, special birdwatching programs, honeymoon trips and family excursions, all in harmony with the rainforest around you. At La Selva, guests are given the opportunity to explore intricate trail systems led by both a local Native Guides and a bilingual Naturalist Guides divided into small groups in order to maximize overall experiences. La Selva’s guides are the key to fulfilling and captivating outings because they already know the area well by seeing, and hearing things guests cannot. They are passionate about the jungle and their years of experience make all the difference between an acceptable tour and an astounding tour in the Amazon. Native guides are from the local communities and behold an awesome amount of ancestral knowledge about the Amazon. The Naturalist Guides that lead guests through the Amazon are bilingual and have studied and trained for many years in order to become a Naturalist and National Park certified guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your La Selva Amazon Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Selva Jungle Hotel Yasuni National Park
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge Ecuador/Yasuni National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing