We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Birding Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Victoria
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Birding Ever”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

If you are a " Birder " you have to stay at La Selva Lodge in Ecuador, and ask for Daniel and Tio Jose for your guides. We had the most amazing time, saw wonderful birds and wild life, and enjoyed the comfortable accommodation and grand food, with fresh juice always. We had a small glitch at the beginning of our stay because the lodge did not have the information that we were primarily interested in birding. However, that was sorted out gracefully and quickly, and the rest of the stay was great. I highly recommend this lodge and am pleased to report that there are virtually no bugs, certainly not in the Cabanas.

Room Tip: Make sure you have all the details of your visit tied up before you leave for your holiday especiall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robininsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie B B, Guest Relations Manager at La Selva Amazon Ecolodge, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Robininsky

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at the lodge.

It is very important that, during the booking process, you inform your preferred travel agency of your specific interests. Unfortunately we did not receive any notification about your bird interest in advanced, and we are sorry for any inconvenience that it might have caused you.

We will remind our travel agencies to inform us of such important details and we are thankful for your valuable feedback

Sincerely,
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    63
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
95
214
32
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Excelsior, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

I arrived with friends by boat as described by others. The main lodge is welcoming and completely open to the lake. The acidity of the waters of Heron Lake (Laguna Garzacocha) repels mosquitos so I never detected one in the lodge or my lovely room, practically an extension of the rainforest with screens but no windows. If you want mosquitos, they await in the forest. Equipped with rubber boots, be prepared to explore the forest by night as 70% of forest activity occurs during the hours of darkness. Bring a strong flashlight! Henry, our guide, had an uncanny ability to find frogs and exotic insects in the dark poised under leaves or on branches. By day he was equally adept at spotting birds, monkeys, sloths, etc. in the canopy. Naturalist Diane knowledgably described their origin and role in the life of the jungle. As most creatures feed at dawn and dusk we climbed at first light to a viewing platform 150 feet up in an enormous ceiba tree offering a vast panorama above the third canopy. One evening we drifted across the lake in a canoe into the narrow, twisting canal system to see tiny marmosets in the trees then, as darkness enveloped us, were surrounded by bats devouring insects attracted to the canoe by a spot light. The food was excellent. Typical Ecuadorian fare. There was plenty to see and do as well as time to rest an enjoy the sounds and abundant rains which raised the lake a foot overnight. The safety of guests was always a priority but be prepared for the unexpected (boa anyone?) and moderate exertion. Our departure was serenaded in early morning by a loud chorus of howler monkeys. What a way to see the rainforest!

Room Tip: The entire resort was remodeled in 2012. My room (#5 - cacique) was adjacent to the lodge, elevated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Let me start by saying I am in the Tourist industry and have owned a lodge and currently own my own attractions. Every aspect of my trip was perfect. From booking online to the transportation, the accommodations, the food, and the staff. Diana and Henry were our guides and they both are wonderful guides and know their jobs well. The food was great and well presented. Our room was clean and beautiful. The entire facility was well run and the Manager welcomed us all and clearly knows how to manage the entire program. It is very safe and somewhere you could take the entire family. This was a wonderful 4day trip. I will be back.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morsezips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2014

My room was really comfortable and out guide Jose was excellent (very knowledgeable, entertaining and passionate about the jungle). The food was delicious, very fresh and varied. 5* experience in the middle of the jungle - what more could you ask for?

Room Tip: The more expensive rooms have balconies facing onto the lake - in between excursions it was nice lyi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank P-Rey1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Bend, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

To begin the experience, you have a 2 hour motorized canoe trip down the Napo River to La Selva's River dock. Then a short walk through the jungle with only your personal items as the porters carry your bags. Then a canoe ride across a little lake to the Lodge. The welcome is warm and the check in efficient. We had a great room with a view over the lake and birds posing for us just off our balcony. The guides know their stuff and the little trips are interesting. We enjoyed our meals and sharing experiences with fellow guests in the spacious open air dining room/bar. The highlight for us though was the amazing parrot clay lick which we viewed from the main river. Well worth a visit although the oil company activity on the Napo is disturbing.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank grandbender2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Our family of five(children 4,7 and 8yrs) stayed at la Selva in december 2013. It was a wonderful experience. Booking through the internet with Vero was pleasant and efficient. The lodge is incredibly well run. You get off the fast boat at the Napo river where you leave your luggage and the next time you see them is in your cabin! Our family cabin was exactly as shown on the website. The screened walls made us feel like we were sleeping in the jungle. Our duo of guides was awesome. Diana and Sixto (Sixto machete as our kids called him) were a great team and kept our kids thoroughly entertained and educated. We were wondering what sort of reception our kids would get but they truly got special attention from the cookies waiting for them every afternoon to the expeditions adapted to their capacities. The grounds were beautiful and safe enough for us to allow the kids some freedom to hang out at the bar where they would enjoy fresh fruit juice. We saw turtles, frogs, monkeys, lots of birds, insects, butterflies(morphos!), bats. The number of tree species is astouding. The lake is beautiful and we had a great time fishing for piranhas and swimming with them! Some people may say that this is not the sort of vaction you do with young children, but I disagree. The jungle is a magical place and it is real. I can't think of a better destination to share with kids and I think La Selva agrees.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sebastien D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

La Selva
La Selva is a magical place with a very well run, practically perfect, Amazon Adventure. My wife and I did the standard 3 night adventure and enjoyed it immensely. Three nights were perfect. I spent way too much time beforehand trying to decide between La Selva and another well reviewed lodge. We met folks who went to the other one and they also enjoyed their stay a great deal, but as difficult as it was to get to La SAelva, the other lodge is even further up the Napo. I would choose La Selva again and I heartily recommend it. Some tips:
Don’t bring mosquito netting
Do bring inserts for the boots they provide.
And my most important tip? Spring for your own private guide. It costs a small fortune to stay at La Selva anyway. Don’t chintz on this one item. The difference in the experience between those who shared a guide among 8 people and my wife and I who had our own private guide was monumental. We are not birders, but the increase in the wildlife you will see by having a private guide is alone worth the money. Pay the extra $400-$500. It is well worth the added expense. Really.
I highly recommend Paul as an absolutely great naturalist and Rodrigo as the native leader. You will not go wrong with them. I guarantee it.
Come to La Selva. It is an amazing, magical experience. You will be glad that you did.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the family suites. Highly recommend these accommodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yasuni National Park
27.0 mi away
Yarina Eco Lodge
Yarina Eco Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yasuni National Park
78 reviews
7.7 mi away
Sani Lodge
Sani Lodge
#2 of 3 in Yasuni National Park
246 reviews
0.0 mi away
Guacamayo Ecolodge
Guacamayo Ecolodge
#4 of 9 in Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Yachana Lodge
Yachana Lodge
#1 of 57 in Napo Province
169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cuyabeno River Lodge
Cuyabeno River Lodge
#8 of 9 in Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve
53 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bellandia
Bellandia
#1 of 18 in Puyo
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Selva Amazon Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Selva Amazon Ecolodge

Property: La Selva Amazon Ecolodge
Address: | Yasuní Biosphere Reserve, Yasuni National Park 170143, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Yasuni National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Yasuni National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Selva Amazon Ecolodge 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge is the perfect Reserve for all kinds of travelers. We offer naturalists - wildlife tours, special birdwatching programs, honeymoon trips and family excursions, all in harmony with the rainforest around you.At La Selva, guests are given the opportunity to explore intricate trail systems led by both a local Native Guide and a bilingual Naturalist Guide divided into small groups in order to maximize overall experiences. La Selva’s guides are the key to fulfilling and captivating outings because they already know the area well hearing, seeing and even smelling things guests cannot, they are passionate about the jungle and their years of experience make all the difference between an acceptable tour and an astounding tour in the Amazon.Native guides are from the local communities and behold an awesome amount of ancestral knowledge about the AmazonThe Naturalist Guides that lead guests through the Amazon are bilingual and have studied and trained for many years in order to become a Naturalist and National Park certified guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Selva Amazon Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Selva Jungle Hotel Yasuni National Park
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge Ecuador/Yasuni National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing