We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent resort”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

My room was really comfortable and out guide Jose was excellent (very knowledgeable, entertaining and passionate about the jungle). The food was delicious, very fresh and varied. 5* experience in the middle of the jungle - what more could you ask for?

Room Tip: The more expensive rooms have balconies facing onto the lake - in between excursions it was nice lyi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank P-Rey1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    63
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
93
213
32
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Bend, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

To begin the experience, you have a 2 hour motorized canoe trip down the Napo River to La Selva's River dock. Then a short walk through the jungle with only your personal items as the porters carry your bags. Then a canoe ride across a little lake to the Lodge. The welcome is warm and the check in efficient. We had a great room with a view over the lake and birds posing for us just off our balcony. The guides know their stuff and the little trips are interesting. We enjoyed our meals and sharing experiences with fellow guests in the spacious open air dining room/bar. The highlight for us though was the amazing parrot clay lick which we viewed from the main river. Well worth a visit although the oil company activity on the Napo is disturbing.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank grandbender2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Our family of five(children 4,7 and 8yrs) stayed at la Selva in december 2013. It was a wonderful experience. Booking through the internet with Vero was pleasant and efficient. The lodge is incredibly well run. You get off the fast boat at the Napo river where you leave your luggage and the next time you see them is in your cabin! Our family cabin was exactly as shown on the website. The screened walls made us feel like we were sleeping in the jungle. Our duo of guides was awesome. Diana and Sixto (Sixto machete as our kids called him) were a great team and kept our kids thoroughly entertained and educated. We were wondering what sort of reception our kids would get but they truly got special attention from the cookies waiting for them every afternoon to the expeditions adapted to their capacities. The grounds were beautiful and safe enough for us to allow the kids some freedom to hang out at the bar where they would enjoy fresh fruit juice. We saw turtles, frogs, monkeys, lots of birds, insects, butterflies(morphos!), bats. The number of tree species is astouding. The lake is beautiful and we had a great time fishing for piranhas and swimming with them! Some people may say that this is not the sort of vaction you do with young children, but I disagree. The jungle is a magical place and it is real. I can't think of a better destination to share with kids and I think La Selva agrees.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sebastien D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

La Selva
La Selva is a magical place with a very well run, practically perfect, Amazon Adventure. My wife and I did the standard 3 night adventure and enjoyed it immensely. Three nights were perfect. I spent way too much time beforehand trying to decide between La Selva and another well reviewed lodge. We met folks who went to the other one and they also enjoyed their stay a great deal, but as difficult as it was to get to La SAelva, the other lodge is even further up the Napo. I would choose La Selva again and I heartily recommend it. Some tips:
Don’t bring mosquito netting
Do bring inserts for the boots they provide.
And my most important tip? Spring for your own private guide. It costs a small fortune to stay at La Selva anyway. Don’t chintz on this one item. The difference in the experience between those who shared a guide among 8 people and my wife and I who had our own private guide was monumental. We are not birders, but the increase in the wildlife you will see by having a private guide is alone worth the money. Pay the extra $400-$500. It is well worth the added expense. Really.
I highly recommend Paul as an absolutely great naturalist and Rodrigo as the native leader. You will not go wrong with them. I guarantee it.
Come to La Selva. It is an amazing, magical experience. You will be glad that you did.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the family suites. Highly recommend these accommodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
235 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

The lodge was truly a wonderful oasis in the middle of nowhere! You get on a motorized boat with a cover and travel for 2 hours on the Napo River. Then walk about 15 minutes on a small boardwalk to get your first taste of the jungle. But wait....then get in a canoe for another 20 minute paddle and finally arrive at the lodge... A sight for sore eyes after the long adventure to get there ( perhaps in the rain). The facility itself is wonderful; a main lodge for meals and meetings and many smaller buildings for accommodations. The staff is second to none and will do anything to make your stay as comfortable and memorable as possible. The local and naturalist guides are great and really try to find as many creatures to show you as nature presents. Expect some rain if you go in February, as it is the beginning of the rainy season. But, isn't that part of the experience? The Lodge lends ponchos for the nature walks, canoe rides and the boat ride. They also provide tall rubber boots for the adventures! The food was good, and it amazed me how they can even get the supplies needed to the lodge. A great experience! ( As an addendum.... My husband thought there should have been air conditioning in the rooms. But, I stated that it was in the middle of nowhere, and it is hot, but cools at night for sleeping and that one could not expect that in a place that may indeed be the only place for miles even with electricity!) a lovely, lovely experience!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyn818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

We just recently stayed at La Selva. Following are our comments:

1) service - outstanding
2) accommodations - very jungle like, comfortable and clean
3) food - ok, not gourmet as advertised. No candles on the table as shown in pictures from the lodge
4) tours - lots of insects, some birds and lots of monkeys; not what we expected for a jungle trip
5) ambiance - terrific jungle atmosphere, even at night you can sleep with the birds and monkey sounds
6) tour guides - AAA plus for Andres and Teo; they tried their best to provide an experience.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSelvaEcolodge, Guest Relations Manager at La Selva Amazon Ecolodge, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thanks for your review!

Please keep in mind that La Selva Jungle Lodge is not a five star resort.
We consider ourselves a premium Eco-lodge, we are based deep in the Amazon Jungle and due to our privileged location, diverse wildlife can be found in their natural habitat, approximately in the area we have 500 species of birds and 5 to 8 species of Monkeys.

At La Selva Amazon Ecolodge & Spa we always do everything we can to continuously improve our services and your feedback has been highly appreciated.

Sincerely,
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We went to La Selva in January this year. Everything at the lodge is perfect, specially the rooms and the food. Paul, the guide, is extremely knowledgable and friendly and the Native guide Theo is also great and very enthusiastic. We had some problems with the agency (Columbus): the transfer to the airport didn't arrive to pick us up and we almost missed our flight, and they didn't pick us up on the way back either and no explanations were given (although we did get a refund for one of the missed transfers). In general, a highly recommended experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCroce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSelvaEcolodge, Guest Relations Manager at La Selva Amazon Ecolodge, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
We are happy to know that you enjoyed our Lodge!

We are sorry to hear about the transfer services, we will do our best to avoid this setback in the future.

Sincerely,
La Selva Amazon Eco-lodge & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yasuni National Park
27.0 mi away
Yarina Eco Lodge
Yarina Eco Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yasuni National Park
76 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tapir Lodge
Tapir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve
66 reviews
7.7 mi away
Sani Lodge
Sani Lodge
#2 of 3 in Yasuni National Park
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Yachana Lodge
Yachana Lodge
#1 of 56 in Napo Province
168 reviews
0.0 mi away
Guacamayo Ecolodge
Guacamayo Ecolodge
#4 of 9 in Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve
191 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cuyabeno River Lodge
Cuyabeno River Lodge
#8 of 9 in Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Selva Amazon Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Selva Amazon Ecolodge

Property: La Selva Amazon Ecolodge
Address: | Yasuní Biosphere Reserve, Yasuni National Park 170143, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Yasuni National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Yasuni National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Selva Amazon Ecolodge 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge is the perfect Reserve for all kinds of travelers. We offer naturalists - wildlife tours, special birdwatching programs, honeymoon trips and family excursions, all in harmony with the rainforest around you.At La Selva, guests are given the opportunity to explore intricate trail systems led by both a local Native Guide and a bilingual Naturalist Guide divided into small groups in order to maximize overall experiences. La Selva’s guides are the key to fulfilling and captivating outings because they already know the area well hearing, seeing and even smelling things guests cannot, they are passionate about the jungle and their years of experience make all the difference between an acceptable tour and an astounding tour in the Amazon.Native guides are from the local communities and behold an awesome amount of ancestral knowledge about the AmazonThe Naturalist Guides that lead guests through the Amazon are bilingual and have studied and trained for many years in order to become a Naturalist and National Park certified guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Selva Amazon Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Selva Jungle Hotel Yasuni National Park
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge Ecuador/Yasuni National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing