We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wondrous adventure!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A wondrous adventure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

I came based on the reviews and what a great decision. The passion and knowledge of the guides is inspiring. I have some physical difficulties and their care and generosity of spirit was heart warming. Their philosophies are admirable and their education and respect for the indigenous people's way of life was a wonderful lesson for my daughter and the morning spent in the local village was a highlight as was their policy of employing many locals at the lodge. The heat was at times hard to take but the rooms were glorious and the morning jungle sounds to wake you simply glorious. Animal watching not quite as enriching as Costa Rica but seeing tapir relatively close was a rare and cherished moment. What an amazing place to spend Christmas!

Room Tip: Some rooms to the left can get the afternoon sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    62
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
91
206
31
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

I stayed for three days birding on a Birdquest tour having previously stayed three days on the other side of the Napo at the Napo Wildlife Center. These six days collectively made some of my best wildlife and nature experience anywhere in the world blended with real luxury and comfort.

As always much of your experience in this environment will be down to four factors:

1. Skill, attention and energy of your guide
2. The size of your group (I would be wary in going out on walks or canoe rides with groups of more than six, ie with guide 7 in total)
3. Luck of the draw re what you see
4. Your attitude to wildlife - If you are disappointed by what you don't see - you may be unlucky sometimes. If you are delighted by what you do see, you will always have a great time viewing the many wonders

The lodge was incredibly comfortable - the food was very good. It was a romantic setting, the lake (particularly at dawn and dusk was stunning).

The wildlife was great, so many views of impossibly beautiful herons, or the views of 100+ Sand Coloured Nighthawks hunting over the lake. The big Macaws were seen better at the Napo Wildlife Centre but one of us did see the much desired Harpy Eagle from the canopy tower (about 8:40am). Overall saw 613 species on a 30 day tour of Ecuador, with a great many coming from this area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M&G_OnTheRoadAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

Recommend it 100%. A few camping nights in the jungle is also recommended! Real luxury in the middle of the jungle. Lake is very good for kajaking. I would not take childeren under age of 12. The native guides are very good. Transfers are perfectly organized.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cierzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

This is an excellent location for vacation! This place is quite and people oriented staff. Place is clean and top notch service. Excellent staff, hard working and fun loving. Staff really cares about their guests. Food is excellent quality and chef prepared our food taking into consideration of my food allergies. Our guides were knowledgable and we enjoyed going out with them. I was even able to play football with local people at the facility.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank allprotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okotoks, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

This lodge was wonderful, first class. The 4 day/3 night itinerary was good, the guides were very knowledgeable, the food was fabulous and the room was large and luxurious.

It was a unique and fun experience walking through the jungle at night. The highlight was getting close to a 15 foot anaconda. This isn't a zoo so you can't expect the animals to come out when you want them to so you have to be a bit lucky to see them.

The new owners are continuing to upgrade and improve this lodge but it is already top notch.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the lake is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TurnerGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

Within few hours from the city you can find a this piece of paradise.
Far enough from the traffic of the napo river ion the shore of an isolated lagoon the great
installations of la selva lodge are.
The atmosphere is very welcoming,the food is tasty and the rooms are very well decorated.
All the lodge been renovated recently with good taste and quality furniture.
We went kayak, swan in the lagoon, walk in the rainforest, visit the butterfly farm and observed several type of monkeys and birds.
Thanks la selva team for a wonderful experience.
Highly recommended Piñacolada cocktail possibly the best in the jungle!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tierracontact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

My wife and i stayed in the lodge from Nov 23rd- Nov 27th. We had a very good experience during our stay. Martha the lodge director was more than happy to accommodate our request for vegetarian cuisine. We had lot of local vegetarian dishes made out of maize and potatoes to tingle our palates. Chefs gave us the option of picking out the pasta since we were one of the few vegetarian only people out there. Rooms were very well kept and cleaned when we were out. Amazon jungle tends to be humid during the day and sometimes during the night also. We did not find this a problem since we have lived in the humid weather. There are only ceiling fans in the rooms and no air conditioning. This is a true experience of living in the jungle and sleeping to the sounds of the jungle.

We had amazing guides Edwin and Henry who took great lengths in explaining to us the habitat of the animals and birds around the lodge and on the hiking trails nearby. The lodge and the habitat is an eco-diversity hot spot, a must see place for an avid bird watcher. One could spend days hiking and looking for birds and animals and not know how quickly time passes by. The lodge also has a butterfly farm which is a must see.

For enthusiastic photographers i would recommend bring a telephoto zoom lens to shoot the animals and birds and fast prime lenses to capture the night sky and the milky way.

Overall we had a great and amazing experience and would highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Choose a rim close to the lake if you would like a good lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank karkehalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yasuni National Park
27.0 mi away
Yarina Eco Lodge
Yarina Eco Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yasuni National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tapir Lodge
Tapir Lodge
#3 of 3 in Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Auca
Hotel El Auca
#2 of 3 in Coca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Sani Lodge
Sani Lodge
#2 of 3 in Yasuni National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
100.1 mi away
Cotococha Amazon Lodge
0.0 mi away
Yachana Lodge
Yachana Lodge
#1 of 54 in Napo Province
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Selva Amazon Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Selva Amazon Ecolodge

Property: La Selva Amazon Ecolodge
Address: | Yasuní Biosphere Reserve, Yasuni National Park 170143, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Yasuni National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Yasuni National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Selva Amazon Ecolodge 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge is the perfect Reserve for all kinds of travelers. We offer naturalists - wildlife tours, special birdwatching programs, honeymoon trips and family excursions, all in harmony with the rainforest around you.At La Selva, guests are given the opportunity to explore intricate trail systems led by both a local Native Guide and a bilingual Naturalist Guide divided into small groups in order to maximize overall experiences. La Selva’s guides are the key to fulfilling and captivating outings because they already know the area well hearing, seeing and even smelling things guests cannot, they are passionate about the jungle and their years of experience make all the difference between an acceptable tour and an astounding tour in the Amazon.Native guides are from the local communities and behold an awesome amount of ancestral knowledge about the AmazonThe Naturalist Guides that lead guests through the Amazon are bilingual and have studied and trained for many years in order to become a Naturalist and National Park certified guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your La Selva Amazon Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Selva Jungle Hotel Yasuni National Park
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge Ecuador/Yasuni National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing