We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like no place we've ever been!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 13, 2013

La Selva Lodge was paradise on earth. My wife and I enjoyed the 3 night package immensely. Everything was perfect, from our pairing up with our naturalist Jose, and native guide Pajarito, to the excellent food and drink accompanied by superior service from the staff. The jungle excursions and visit to the Quichua village we're soooo cool! We truly felt a connection with everyone we met and can't wait until we can return to Ecuador and see more of this amazing place. Hopefully the oil companies will not destroy this very fragile and sacred part of the world.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Timmy1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (454)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

366 - 372 of 454 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

great place with so professional guidness - Diana the charming and intelligent !

organization , food, service , Nature ! fully warmly recommended.

rooms are very basic - it is a lodge not a regular hotel...so don't expect luxery but basic good and

comfortable conditions

Room Tip: rooms are very basic - it is a lodge not a regular hotel...so don't expect luxery but basic good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 33667Leabk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We visited Ecuador for the very first time and stayed at La Selva Lodge for 4 nights. Great experience, wonderful food and the BEST pina coladas!! Absolutely wonderful rainforest exposure, knowledgeable guide and great personnel all over. We truly enjoyed the hikes in the rain forest, kayaking and fishing, night boat ride and especially, meeting the local family in their home. Having our guide been accompanied by a local guide was also a great idea. Somehow, we had expected more animals ... but maybe we were spoiled, just having spent a couple days on Galapagos. All together, definitely a place to recommend!
Thanks for the toucan gift too!! It received a special place in our home in California!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Anne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I dont really know exactly how to start to tell my experience here. It was far better than i've expected and the best experience ever, this was the opinion of my 9 year old son, my wife and my own, and i must say that we already visited many places and countries and done many diferent things and staied in many hotels. Just to give na idea of how good this was for us in this vacations we've also gone to Galápagos and Machu Pichu (wich we're very good), but this was better. I will repeat many of the things that some people already told but i think some should be told again and again.
At the beginning i was a little afraid to go there with my 9 year old son, and my son was so afraid that he asked me not to go. We've done the 4 day, 3 night program, and today i wish i could have staied longer. The trip to the lodge itself is very nice and a real good way for you to get into the spirit, everything is very well prepared and not difficult at all from old people to young ones. The first look of the lodge is something i think i will never forget, it's like you arrived at the end of the world and nothing else exists. The reception couldn't be better they prepare everything as to receive long waited friends and they give all the pointers for your stay and what to expect and how it all works as well as present every person around. the 3 of us done all the tours with two fabulous guides Isabel (naturalista) and Sixto (the native guide) this combination of the 2 couldn't work better and i cant say enough about these two. All the tours around are marvellous obviously you will see more or less animals depending on the animals themselves because this is nature in raw state but even so i think we saw many animals. The division of the day is well done and you get a little of everything even free time for you to relax or do whatever you like better. All the food is very good and well prepared, all that is possible is done from all the staff always with a smile. All the team works like they are part of a big family and they make you fell like you are part of it, but at the same time very professional. The caban we stayed is not a 5 star room hotel but i think if it was better it would not be as good, because all makes you feel like you are on a diferente planet. For the first time in my life i was on vacations 4 days without even trying to see my email or seensing the need to do so or see the news or what was happening. If you want a real experience with real nature and real people with some adventure but at the same time with some luxuries this place is fantastic. Every stroll (tour around) is suggested according to what you like, and age and fitness of everyone. We learned a lot from our guides and the family we've visited. Our son fished 1 big Piranha, which (this was the highlight of is journey) was prepared by the chef and i must say its delicious. We arrived and stayed with Jeff (who is a bird watcher) and he was also very impressed to do so many sightings in 3 days, as he gone there to do exactly that (i think he told me that he saw more than 150 diferent species). I can not say one thing that could be improved or be better this is not an hotel for massive tourism, it's all about get in touch with nature and yourself and understand that life can and is diferent from your normal routine. This is a life changing experience that you should do. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maor_Miguel_Ribeiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We spent 4 nights at La Selva and the whole experience from being picked up at Quito Airport until our return to Quito was extremely well organized. The lodge is remote enough to feel isolated, yet not so remote that getting there becomes a burden - the 2-hour boat ride from Coca did just the trick! The staff was very attentive, our guides (Rodrigo and Enrique) were excellent, supportive and helpful - the whole experience was just outstanding. A great way to experience the Amazon basin. Not to mention the meals which were all delicious. The rooms were nicely appointed and comfortable. No windows in the rooms, just screens, which allows you to hear the forest all night long, which is super. Sunday Lunch is a special meal with foods from different regions of the country - well worthwhile planning your stay to enjoy that, if you can. Going back to Quito after La Selva solidifies how authentic the La Selva Amazon-experience and their meal offering really was. The Lodge has done a great job at providing a real feel for the rain forest, while maintaining a nicely balanced level of comfort and style. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tropicscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

La Selva is a pretty remote lodge, near the Yasuni National Park on a lake off of the Napo River. If you want a true rainforest experience, this is the place. Our flight from Quito to Coca was easy, all transfers perfect. The two hour boat ride down the river was fun (sandwiches, fruit and bottled water, soda, or beer were provided). There were bathrooms before we got on the boat, and when we got off the boat too, before our short hike on the boardwalk trail. Our luggage was taken care of for us, and it was fun riding in the canoe to the lodge. I can't say enough about ALL of the staff at the lodge, from the management on down. The guides and native guides are all top notch, extremely knowledgeable, and have a deep commitment to their job. Each group who comes to the lodge is given a naturalist guide, and a native guide (who carries a machete in the canoe) and on the trails. On a trip like this the guides can really make the experience, and we could not have been happier with Jose and Pajarito. Other guests that we spoke with were just as happy as we were with their guides. The rooms (huts) at the lodge are all screened in with no A/C, but a fan, and you get the sounds, smells and the true feel of being in the rainforest. The bathroom in our room was very nice, with enough hot water, great shower, and flushing toilet. Everyday our room was cleaned while we were out, and beds turned down before the evening. Of the four nights that we were there, two of the nights were a bit hot and humid, and the other two nights were quite comfortable. You do quickly acclimate to the temperature, and humidity and nighttime sounds of the rainforest. The entire staff was friendly and polite, and the food was superb. Every meal was a delight, with gourmet food and deserts, and the drinks were also delicious. Our guide, Jose ate every meal with us, and shared his knowledge and expertise about the area and jungle. Our native guide, Pajarito grew up in the area and had a keen eye for pointing out things like a boa constrictor in the trees, a sloth, and several different types of monkeys. If you have time for a massage, Vladimir is a kind and wonderful massuse who will adapt your massage just to your liking. I had one, a mix of Reiki, relaxation, and a Swedish massage and he was truly excellent! We also had a bubble bath in their hot tub, along with a candlelit dinner complete with rose petals all around. The staff can't do enough to make their guests happy! The daily "excursions" are fun - we visited a parrot clay lick where we saw hundreds of green parrots from our boat, went to a native village and had lunch, took a night canoe ride and saw bats flying around, saw hundreds of monkeys from our canoe, and went for a kayak ride on our own. They also have a butterfly farm, and you can hike to the observation tower where you can see the rainforest canopy. If that wasn't enough, we even went fishing for piranha, our guide caught a pretty large one, and the chef cooked and prepared it beautifully for dinner! Be sure to note that since it's a rainforest, the trails will get muddy after it rains. The lodge supplies rubber boots, but the trails can get slippery. We were thankful to be escorted on the way back to Coca. Our pictures are beautiful, (our guide Jose even helped with some of the close up shots of the animals.) It was an experience we'll always treasure. We have a new awareness of the Amazon rainforest and made special friends, including staff who we will never forget. My husband and I have traveled quite a bit, and would absolutely recommend La Selva Lodge, especially if you are looking for a real jungle/rainforest experience with very comfortable accomodations.

Room Tip: We were glad we paid a little bit more to get a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sgteacher3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We did the 3-night/4-day program with La Selva recently. Pick up and drop off in Quito were smooth and easy. The rooms and the grounds were lovely. All of the staff were excellent, especially our naturalist guide, Paul, and native guide, Enrique. Paul taught us so much about the jungle and its fauna and flora. Paul and Enrique were great at spotting wildlife and showing it to us and explaining the importance of the different things we saw. From start to finish, our experience with La Selva was excellent. If you're considering visiting, go for it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ncprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yasuni National Park
147.9 mi away
Yarina Eco Lodge
Yarina Eco Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yasuni National Park
83 reviews
7.7 mi away
Sani Lodge
Sani Lodge
#2 of 3 in Yasuni National Park
250 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yachana Lodge
Yachana Lodge
#3 of 63 in Napo Province
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cuyabeno River Lodge
Cuyabeno River Lodge
#6 of 9 in Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve
53 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shiripuno Amazon Lodge
0.0 mi away
Amazon Dolphin Lodge
Amazon Dolphin Lodge
#7 of 11 in Coca
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Selva Amazon Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Selva Amazon Ecolodge

Address: | Yasuní Biosphere Reserve, Yasuni National Park 170143, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Yasuni National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Yasuni National Park
Price Range: $774 - $780 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Selva Amazon Ecolodge 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge offers wildlife tours, special birdwatching programs, honeymoon trips and family excursions, all in harmony with the rainforest around you. At La Selva, guests are given the opportunity to explore intricate trail systems led by both a local Native Guides and a bilingual Naturalist Guides divided into small groups in order to maximize overall experiences. La Selva’s guides are the key to fulfilling and captivating outings because they already know the area well by seeing, and hearing things guests cannot. They are passionate about the jungle and their years of experience make all the difference between an acceptable tour and an astounding tour in the Amazon. Native guides are from the local communities and behold an awesome amount of ancestral knowledge about the Amazon. The Naturalist Guides that lead guests through the Amazon are bilingual and have studied and trained for many years in order to become a Naturalist and National Park certified guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your La Selva Amazon Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Selva Jungle Hotel Yasuni National Park
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge Ecuador/Yasuni National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing