We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Our trip to La Selva Lodge was amazing! We would rrecommend it to anyone a little bit adventurous. The food was great. They even accomodated my dietery needs. The cabin are simple but clean. We were a bit worry about bugs or other critters, but no problem as the cabin roof also has screen. The guides were very attentive to our needs and they knew the jungle.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank FrancineVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (480)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

404 - 410 of 480 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2013

The lodge and it's staff and grounds are great BUT the food, the drink and their presentations were world first class!!!. We toured this area as well as Quito and Galapagos - by far this place has the best service and food. Our naturalist guide was Jose - I challenge anyone to find a better guide and naturalist than Jose.
The only complaint was they were doing renovations and had a chain saw running at times - VERY BAD JUDGEMENT FOR AN ECO-LODGE to be cutting down trees while guests were around.

Room Tip: Make sure they are not doing any construction or renovation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank NassauPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie B B, Public Relations Manager at La Selva Amazon Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Peter,

We are very sorry for the sound inconveniences you experienced during your stay at La Selva. Although, we would like to inform you that we were not cutting down trees, but cutting boards that were brought to La Selva in order to complete the living quarters for our employees.

We have closed the lodge for a period of one month, from May to June in order to finalize the remaining remodeling work so that we do not disturb any other guests, and that they may have a premium, quality stay at La Selva Jungle Lodge with no interruptions or disturbances. Because we are an Eco-lodge, and because the Amazon is very special to us, we take every precaution possible in order to conserve the forest and protect it as much as we can.

Thank you for your comments and we are very glad to hear you had a wonderful time at our lodge! We hope to see you again!

Until then, safe travels!

Katie Beckwith
La Selva Jungle Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The journey to the lodge was the start of my adventure to this little touch of paradise in the rainforest. We traveled by motorized canoe for 2 1/2 hours down the Rio Napo, then a 20 minute walk through the rainforest until we reached the banks of a lake. We then climbed into another canoe (paddle only this time - by the guides) and swept across this tranquil lake until we reached the banks where the lodge was situated. What a beautiful setting it was. They welcomed us with refreshing drinks and appetizers then showed me to my bungalow which was so adorable. Each day we had an excursion of some type (jungle walks, more canoe rides to explore other parts of the rainforest, etc.). And each day they fed us such incredible and delicious meals. The staff was warm, passionate and knowledgeable and I loved every single minute of my staff there.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank 565JennieT143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Indescribably delicious! The food was absolutely great and more then I could eat. The wildlife adventures and treks through the jungle were exactly what we hoped for. Wildlife, insects, monkeys, butterflies, snakes, frogs, etc. was just fascinating. The night cruise on the lake looking for caymans and other wildlife was so much fun. Our two guides, Andres and Enrique were more then I could have asked for. They knew everything and went out of their way to make sure that we got to see what we were interested in. On down time you can kayak or swim in the lake or just kick back and take in the jungle sounds and sights on your own terms. Be prepared for slogging in the mud on the jungle trails. (They supply the rubber boots) Make sure you bring your rain jacket..it is a "rain" forest. Thanks to everyone at La Selva...you were all great. Try their Pina Coladas...the best I've had! If you want quiet in the evenings and like your sleep, try one of the quaint jungle huts at the furthest distance from the main lodge.

Room Tip: The further away from the main lodge, the quieter but less modern and up to date. They are building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bogey911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This experience is worth the time and energy it takes to get to a remote getaway that highlights the pristine beauty of the Amazon jungle. The lodge on the lake is breath-taking when you emerge from the narrow water-way by canoe.
This is a 5 star resort that accommodates your every need. The rooms are spacious, clean and have modern bathrooms.
The restaurant prepares a stunning array of gourmet meals. Be prepared for wildlife adventure, including birds, turtles, monkeys, snakes, frogs, spiders and night time exploring trips. The guides and naturalists are very knowledgeable and they are game for whatever you are curious about.
The staff were wonderful. I was impressed by their consciousness for the environment.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dsoules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

What a beautiful place. After a 2 1/2 hour motorized canoe ride down the Napo river from Coca, a 15 walk through the jungle and a 15 minute paddle (by the guides) across the lake, we arrived at the lodge. The new owners have invested heavily in creating a jungle paradise. The staff and service was truly 5 star. The best was our guide, Jose. He was so knowledgeable and passionate about the jungle, the indigenous people and the wildlife. He shared so much knowledge and insight. Best of all is La Selva's policy of the guides eating all their meals with the guests. Our group was only 5 people so we really got to know Jose well. He customized our 5 days to introduce us to all we wanted to see and learn. OUTSTANDING. The food was elegant, creative, amazing tastes and variety. Service was impeccable. Desserts were a pleasure trip for your taste buds.

Swim with or fish for piranhas in the lake. Take a kayak and enjoy the solitude. Visit the butterfly house.

A bottle of champagne in our room when we arrived. Frozen fresh fruit smoothies when we returned from all of our outings. First class all the way.

A few nitpicks. They are doing some more modernization and a few days we heard chainsaws. This disrupted the ambiance of the jungle. Several of the desserts were in tall shot glasses and the spoons (and my tongue) could not reach all the goodness. We figured out that we had to use the back end of the spoon. That should be the biggest complaint.

We highly recommend and try to get Jose for your guide. It will be a lifetime memory.

Room Tip: Scenic room with a balcony overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SanDiegoWolfpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed at La Selva for three nights prior to our visit to the Galapagos Islands. We had a great time and it is a very beautiful place. The setting is beyond imagination, and the staff is attentive and friendly. Our guide, Jesus, was passionate and very knowedgeable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimglv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yasuni National Park
147.9 mi away
Yarina Eco Lodge
Yarina Eco Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yasuni National Park
86 reviews
0 mi away
Hosteria Amazonas
Hosteria Amazonas
#2 of 5 in Coca
7 reviews
7.7 mi away
Sani Lodge
Sani Lodge
#2 of 3 in Yasuni National Park
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Cuyabeno River Lodge
Cuyabeno River Lodge
#6 of 9 in Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve
56 reviews
18.6 mi away
Amazon Dolphin Lodge
Amazon Dolphin Lodge
#6 of 12 in Coca
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Selva Amazon Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Selva Amazon Ecolodge

Address: Sucumbios | Yasuní Biosphere Reserve, Yasuni National Park 170143, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Yasuni National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Yasuni National Park
Price Range: $740 - $779 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Selva Amazon Ecolodge 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge offers wildlife tours, special birdwatching programs, honeymoon trips and family excursions, all in harmony with the rainforest around you. At La Selva, guests are given the opportunity to explore intricate trail systems led by both a local Native Guides and a bilingual Naturalist Guides divided into small groups in order to maximize overall experiences. La Selva’s guides are the key to fulfilling and captivating outings because they already know the area well by seeing, and hearing things guests cannot. They are passionate about the jungle and their years of experience make all the difference between an acceptable tour and an astounding tour in the Amazon. Native guides are from the local communities and behold an awesome amount of ancestral knowledge about the Amazon. The Naturalist Guides that lead guests through the Amazon are bilingual and have studied and trained for many years in order to become a Naturalist and National Park certified guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your La Selva Amazon Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Selva Jungle Hotel Yasuni National Park
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge Ecuador/Yasuni National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing