We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Sani Lodge(Yasuni National Park)
$794
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Yasuni Waorani Camp(Yasuni National Park)
$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Hosteria Remanso Lodge(Pedro Vicente Maldonado)(Great Value!)
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge(Yasuni National Park)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Manatee Amazon Explorer(Yasuni National Park)
Mandari Panga Camp(Yasuni National Park)
Yarina Eco Lodge(Yasuni National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (521)
Filter reviews
521 results
Traveler rating
431
71
14
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
431
71
14
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnative guidefamily suitedry boxjungle experienceobservation towerthe rivermotorized canoelocal villagethe entire staffquito airporthowler monkeyslate afternoonceiling fanthe main lodgewelcome drinkcoca airportevery meal
Filter
Updating list...
445 - 450 of 521 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Indescribably delicious! The food was absolutely great and more then I could eat. The wildlife adventures and treks through the jungle were exactly what we hoped for. Wildlife, insects, monkeys, butterflies, snakes, frogs, etc. was just fascinating. The night cruise on the lake looking for caymans and other wildlife was so much fun. Our two guides, Andres and Enrique were more then I could have asked for. They knew everything and went out of their way to make sure that we got to see what we were interested in. On down time you can kayak or swim in the lake or just kick back and take in the jungle sounds and sights on your own terms. Be prepared for slogging in the mud on the jungle trails. (They supply the rubber boots) Make sure you bring your rain jacket..it is a "rain" forest. Thanks to everyone at La Selva...you were all great. Try their Pina Coladas...the best I've had! If you want quiet in the evenings and like your sleep, try one of the quaint jungle huts at the furthest distance from the main lodge.

Room Tip: The further away from the main lodge, the quieter but less modern and up to date. They are building more rooms and new accomodations should be available by June.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bogey911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This experience is worth the time and energy it takes to get to a remote getaway that highlights the pristine beauty of the Amazon jungle. The lodge on the lake is breath-taking when you emerge from the narrow water-way by canoe.
This is a 5 star resort that accommodates your every need. The rooms are spacious, clean and have modern bathrooms.
The restaurant prepares a stunning array of gourmet meals. Be prepared for wildlife adventure, including birds, turtles, monkeys, snakes, frogs, spiders and night time exploring trips. The guides and naturalists are very knowledgeable and they are game for whatever you are curious about.
The staff were wonderful. I was impressed by their consciousness for the environment.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dsoules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

What a beautiful place. After a 2 1/2 hour motorized canoe ride down the Napo river from Coca, a 15 walk through the jungle and a 15 minute paddle (by the guides) across the lake, we arrived at the lodge. The new owners have invested heavily in creating a jungle paradise. The staff and service was truly 5 star. The best was our guide, Jose. He was so knowledgeable and passionate about the jungle, the indigenous people and the wildlife. He shared so much knowledge and insight. Best of all is La Selva's policy of the guides eating all their meals with the guests. Our group was only 5 people so we really got to know Jose well. He customized our 5 days to introduce us to all we wanted to see and learn. OUTSTANDING. The food was elegant, creative, amazing tastes and variety. Service was impeccable. Desserts were a pleasure trip for your taste buds.

Swim with or fish for piranhas in the lake. Take a kayak and enjoy the solitude. Visit the butterfly house.

A bottle of champagne in our room when we arrived. Frozen fresh fruit smoothies when we returned from all of our outings. First class all the way.

A few nitpicks. They are doing some more modernization and a few days we heard chainsaws. This disrupted the ambiance of the jungle. Several of the desserts were in tall shot glasses and the spoons (and my tongue) could not reach all the goodness. We figured out that we had to use the back end of the spoon. That should be the biggest complaint.

We highly recommend and try to get Jose for your guide. It will be a lifetime memory.

Room Tip: Scenic room with a balcony overlooking the lake.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SanDiegoWolfpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed at La Selva for three nights prior to our visit to the Galapagos Islands. We had a great time and it is a very beautiful place. The setting is beyond imagination, and the staff is attentive and friendly. Our guide, Jesus, was passionate and very knowedgeable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimglv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed everything about La Selva. Special highlights include two amazing guides: our naturalist Andreas and our guide Enrique. Not only were they knowledgeable and personable, Enrique has an almost superhuman ability to spot impossible to spot animals. The food was simply remarkable. The chef is creative, resourceful and extremely skilled. All of the staff were helpful and friendly, with bartender Bernardo coming in for special mention for making serious mixed drinks, and for meeting hot and sweaty hikers with a refreshing cold tropical juice drink every time we returned.
What a great place to learn and relax.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews