We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful renovation (in progress) and excellent food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed at La Selva for four nights in mid-July and had an overall good experience. I do wish we were told about how much construction was still going on - I would definitely recommend making sure that is done before making a reservation as it was quite loud and disruptive.

We stayed in a newly renovated family hut. It was very nice and comfortable, no complaints there. The shower is good and hot and there is electricity until midnight.

The food is truly outstanding. Far exceeded my expectations, for sure. They were also really accommodating of me as a vegetarian, which I appreciated.

Getting to the lodge is quite a trek, but the location is truly beautiful and peaceful. Although we enjoyed the daily excursions, we did feel a little bit bored there. I was expecting to see lots of wildlife and birds, which was not the case there. Our guide did try really hard to find stuff for us, but I was somewhat underwhelmed (perhaps just spoiled by other trips to the rainforest).

Overall, I think it's worth a visit, but I personally think three nights would have been sufficient for us. Thar said, it is expensive and difficult to get to, so if it's a stretch of your travel time and budget, I don't think missing it would be a huge loss either.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wanderluster94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (480)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

433 - 439 of 480 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Marit R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjetilhaugan, Owner at La Selva Amazon Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gigi r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjetilhaugan, Gerente at La Selva Amazon Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Markosat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: La habitacion es muy limpia, amplia y silenciosa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 蔡宗頴
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjetilhaugan, Owner at La Selva Amazon Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bodil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yasuni National Park
147.9 mi away
Yarina Eco Lodge
Yarina Eco Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yasuni National Park
86 reviews
0 mi away
Hosteria Amazonas
Hosteria Amazonas
#2 of 5 in Coca
7 reviews
7.7 mi away
Sani Lodge
Sani Lodge
#2 of 3 in Yasuni National Park
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Cuyabeno River Lodge
Cuyabeno River Lodge
#6 of 9 in Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve
56 reviews
18.6 mi away
Amazon Dolphin Lodge
Amazon Dolphin Lodge
#6 of 12 in Coca
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Selva Amazon Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Selva Amazon Ecolodge

Address: Sucumbios | Yasuní Biosphere Reserve, Yasuni National Park 170143, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Yasuni National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Yasuni National Park
Price Range: $740 - $779 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Selva Amazon Ecolodge 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge offers wildlife tours, special birdwatching programs, honeymoon trips and family excursions, all in harmony with the rainforest around you. At La Selva, guests are given the opportunity to explore intricate trail systems led by both a local Native Guides and a bilingual Naturalist Guides divided into small groups in order to maximize overall experiences. La Selva’s guides are the key to fulfilling and captivating outings because they already know the area well by seeing, and hearing things guests cannot. They are passionate about the jungle and their years of experience make all the difference between an acceptable tour and an astounding tour in the Amazon. Native guides are from the local communities and behold an awesome amount of ancestral knowledge about the Amazon. The Naturalist Guides that lead guests through the Amazon are bilingual and have studied and trained for many years in order to become a Naturalist and National Park certified guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your La Selva Amazon Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Selva Jungle Hotel Yasuni National Park
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge Ecuador/Yasuni National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing