We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Unique Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Baja Montanita
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Montanita
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Unique Experience!”
Reviewed December 13, 2008

We had not planned on travelling to Montanita on our 3 week trip to Ecuador but after a few nice days in Bahia de Caraquez we decided to spend more time along the coast. In all, 'we' were comprised of 4 adults and 2 children (3 and 5 yrs).
We booked a couple of rooms the day before our arrival via telephone.
After a 5 hr car ride along the coastline we arrived at Baja Montanita in the darkness. If you or your driver have never been to Montanita I suggest you arrive during daylight hours. Finding the resort took some work but thanks to a few strolling hippies they pointed us in the right direction.
The check-in process was smooth. We were given 2 rooms. Each room contained a master bed (queen size) and a separate area with bunk beds and a bathroom. The rooms were clean. Note that there was a musty seaside smell in the rooms but this is to be expected being so close to the shoreline. I will stress that the rooms were clean.
Waking up the next day and opening up the curtains to a full view of the beach and crashing waves was a treat.
Breakfast was nice with fresh breads, fresh fruit juices, ecuadorian style coffee (lots of warmed milk with a little coffee), and eggs (poached, fried, scrambled) and cereals.
The hotel was pretty much empty while we were there. We were told that their busy season was over. They apparently host a Billabong surfing event in ?April with thousands of tourists flooding the area.
The beach is wonderful and clean. No rocks. Waves are fun and are manageable close to shore. Out a bit further they get bigger. We rented chairs and boogey boards and had lots of fun while the kids frolicked in the shallower water and made sand castles.
The town is very unique..... I don't recall seeing anybody over the age of 40! It seemed very safe, day or night. It was a relaxed atmosphere with one street containing mostly hostels, restaurants, surf shops, and clothing stores. Along the sides of the street hippies set up little tables and sell little trinketts.
The lunch at Baja Montanita and dinner was the same menu. The food was prepared very well. I had a thick steak there a few times, always cooked to my liking. The service was personable and friendly.
At night they kept a bar open near the pool. Since there was very few guests at this time the bar was empty. The bartender was a young happy fellow, probably helped himself a little too much to the bar during his downtime! The only thing that surprised me was the cost of a beer. He charged me $7 US for 2 large cans. When I asked someone else the next day I was quoted the same price. I guess this is how they make a more money. If you plan on drinking a few while at the hotel I would suggest going to town and buying them there.
The hotel had internet which helped us plan the next stage of our trip.
Overall we loved Baja Montanita. If you are looking for a trip off the beaten path but yet well serviced I would recommend Montanita. Be prepared to see lots of dreadlocks, barefeet, dogs, and surfboards. Weather was beautiful, people friendly and it feels different than any other resort-like town.
Baja Montanita was obviously the best hotel in the area.
We payed $75 a night each room. The steak dinner was $9.00 and the breakfast was $4.00. The shrimp ceviche was very good there also.
They had satellite TV and hot water.
Beach chairs were $4 a day and Boogey boards $9 for 3 hrs.

I loved it and will be going back again. Next time I'll spend more time and learn how to surf!

  • Liked — Best hotel in Montanita....... Slim pickings there
  • Disliked — Price of beer
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank manzerhodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    73
    46
    12
    13
See reviews for
55
85
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2007

A buddy and I each rented a room at the Hotel Baja Montanita on a tour of Ecuador. Montanita is a cool place, but is geared toward backpackers, so there weren't many hotel-type options available (air conditioning, etc.). This hotel looked nice, had a pool, bar and restaurant, and so we took it. The rooms were adequate and clean, and the staff was friendly. The accommodations were a bit run down, though, the room was small, and it was somewhat buggy (normal for the area). Overall, it was okay, but as another reviewer said, it was much higher priced than it should've been (about $100/night if I recall). In a town where you can get a room at a hostel for less than $10/night, I'd have expected these rooms to be much less expensive (around $50/night).

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank belizelaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wurenlos, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2007

We stayed here only for one night. Since it was raining the whole day our trip to Montanita was some kind of an other experience, after a wonderful stay at the Galapagos Islands for 1week. All streets were pretty muddy. So we were extremly happy to find a clean spot like Hotel Baja Montanita.
The room was adaquate with a nice view over the ocean. Staff was friendly and even we were the only guests, the chef of the kitchen made us an excellent dinner. Same thing for breakfast. Everything was just fine.
We would definitly recommend this hotel to everybody. We would just hoped, that the weather would have been better when we were there.

  • Liked — seaview and free internet access
  • Disliked — the humidity in all rooms
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Marsatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, VA
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2007

We stayed in many hotels around the country during our month of driving in Ecuador. This hotel was the most disproportionate value. In a country of gorgeous rooms for around $50/night, Baja Montanita should have been offering something special for the $91/night. They should, at least, get the basics right... our tiny room had no complimentary bottled water, no closet, patched & peeling paint falling off the walls, no pads for pool chairs and no beach chairs at all.
The restaurant chef amply doused all food with lots of salt. We should have known not to eat meals here after the first attempt. Breakfast is not his specialty... stale rolls, undercooked eggs, bacon was all fat, never got the tea or juice delivered to our table. Eat in town! I recommend the Karukera Bar and Restaurant and the Cevicheria on the ocean front.
The front desk staff told some guests that breakfast was included, some got dinner also, some were told the kayaks were free, etc. So, I can't even tell you exactly what is supposed to be included in the nightly room rate.
Now, I'll tell you why you may want to stay here anyway... the beach is stunning. Baja is located at the end of Montanita beach where the sand is soft, the water warm and virtually void of people. Rocky headlands give you an alternate place to explore and to wach the thousands of crabs scuttling about.
It is a pleasant, flat, easy walk on the beach into town to eat, to shop or to people watch. It is a fun and energetic atmosphere. With loud music blaring from each restaurant, the in-town hotel rooms must be very noisy late into the night. At the Baja you can peaceably sleep to just the sounds of ocean waves. Also, the pool is vibrant blue and kept very clean.
Overall, the setting was great and the grounds attractive, but staff consistency and more moderate pricing are desperately needed.

  • Liked — Setting
  • Disliked — Service and price
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank VATravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montanita hotels
0.8 mi away
ME Hotel in Montanita Estates
0.3 mi away
Hostal Kundalini
Hostal Kundalini
#1 of 10 in Montanita
542 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dharma Beach
Dharma Beach
#3 of 10 in Montanita
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Olympus
Hotel Olympus
#6 of 10 in Montanita
51 reviews
3.9 mi away
Happy Hill Hostel
Happy Hill Hostel
#4 of 10 in Montanita
54 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montanita Cabanas
Montanita Cabanas
#5 of 87 in Montanita
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baja Montanita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baja Montanita

Property: Hotel Baja Montanita
Address: Sector La Punta | Via al santuario de Olón, Montanita, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Santa Elena Province > Montanita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Montanita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baja Montanita 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Baja Montanita has comfortable rooms and various amenities for your comfort, all located opposite the pool and great ocean views.The hotel has 12 suites family of 4, 5 and 6 people. Each with 2 rooms, ideal to enjoy with family or friends.It has separate private bath in each area, hot water, sea view, with cable TV, air conditioning, internet, coffee bar, located on the seafront and is perfect for surfing, laundry, service room, pool, security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Baja Montanita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing