We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and safe location!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Baja Montanita
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Montanita
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent and safe location!!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The hotel services were great! Clean rooms and bathrooms... The beach sunset is breathtaking and the atmosphere is unreal. Fairly priced. Surfing lovers paradise. Hotel personnel is young and friendly

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank surfer1081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    72
    46
    12
    12
See reviews for
54
84
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I will gladly accept your money if you would like to waste it. Or, perhaps you could stuff several 100 dollar bills into a sock and feed it to a monkey. Or, just stay at hotel Baja. Same thing. Throw away your money and get almost nothing in return. I would rather sleep on the beach than stay here in the future. Families, couples, single folks all agree - this place is overpriced. The location is good, but that cant make up for the mediocre services at exorbitant prices. Go elsewhere!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkHavenDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
les laurentides
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Baja Montañita, perfect location at the end of a beautiful beach, nice waves for surfing or swimming.
We had the last bungalow or cabana # 12 on the top floor, balcony overlooking the ocean, clean with a comfy Queen bed and 2 twins in the back room, ac's in both rooms, flat screen tv with Direct tv., a small fridge in the room to keep your free supplied water bottles cool. Free
Wi-fi, good free buffet breakfast, overlooking the beach and the ocean.

Beautiful swimming pool with dark blue ceramics and nice landscaping.

Othon and the others staffs are very helpful to fix problems
At first we had problems with the wi-fi and shower had not hot water, the staff were very efficient in solving these problems in a flash!

P.S. The pizza place by the bar makes a delicious pizza! And just steps away from

Room Tip: If you are looking to be by a beautiful beach with nice waves, don't look no more
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mychka-tsunami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great beach, very friendly people. Overall was a great experience and would definitely recommend the hotel and the beach to anyone that is looking for a low key fun place. Very good night life and lots of tourist from all over the world. Great surfing spot.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymis20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Hotel Baja Monanita is the most run down hotel that I have ever paid $170/night to stay in. It is hard to believe the hotel charges such prices, but it does have a relative monopoly, considering it is one of the only "higher-end" hotels in Monanita. They seem to have a steady-steam of weekend clients from Guayaquil.
The new Dharma Beach hotel is changing that situation, but Dharma Beach is closer to the noise of downtown Montanita and not all of their rooms have ocean views. I opted for Baja Montanita, because I wanted a quiet family hotel with a pool and a balcony facing the ocean. Unfortunately, the two-bedroom cabanas are very dated. The back room smelled unbearably like mold, probably because it overlooks a swamp (there is a large swamp at the back of all of the cabanas). We tried to air out the room, but since there are no screens on the windows, tons on mosquitoes infested the room. We did not realize this problem until my son woke up in the middle of the night covered in bites. The room had no mosquito nets and spray did not seem to help.
We would have been better off in a back-packer hostal and would have saved a lot of money.
Additional background: When we arrived to Hotel Baja Montanita, after an 11-hour drive from Quito, we got ready to check into the 2nd floor of a cabana (these are two bed-room suites on the first and second floors). We were told we were on the bottom floor, and when we showed email proof of the confirmation, it was too late. The bottom floor suite smelled like complete mold, so we took the option of staying in a 2nd-floor suite in the main building with a queen bed and roll away. Then, we had to move all of our stuff for the remaining three nights that we stayed in the hotel. Turns out that room was worse, due to the mosquitoes, though it did have a great ocean-facing balcony.
The beach in front of the hotel is rocky, so you have to walk down a few-hundred feet to get to a swim-able location.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank QuitoResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

me and my 18 year old daughter stayed here in early july we enjoyed the hotel at the end of the beach with surfing directly in front clean pool clean rooms nice balcony over lookin pool and beach food was ok it was very quiet at hotel because it was the off season we felt very safe at all times it was a bit pricey but it was worth it yes i would go back to this hotel it was quiet there if u wanna party its a ten minute walk down the beach and u can party all nite

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal, Illinois
Level Contributor
128 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Baja Montanita with a group. Because of that I don't know how much we paid. Overall the hotel was adequate. Our beds were comfortable, the showers were hot, and the breakfast was really good. The rooms were sparse and the grounds seemed partially under construction. Still if you want to be a little out of town (a ten minute walk on the beach), for the right price this seems like a reasonable option.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachmishon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montanita hotels
0.8 mi away
ME Hotel in Montanita Estates
0.3 mi away
Hostal Kundalini
Hostal Kundalini
#1 of 10 in Montanita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dharma Beach
Dharma Beach
#3 of 10 in Montanita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Olympus
Hotel Olympus
#7 of 10 in Montanita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
3.9 mi away
Happy Hill Hostel
Happy Hill Hostel
#4 of 10 in Montanita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Balsa Surf Camp
Balsa Surf Camp
#1 of 43 in Montanita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baja Montanita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baja Montanita

Property: Hotel Baja Montanita
Address: Sector La Punta | Via al santuario de Olón, Montanita, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Santa Elena Province > Montanita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Montanita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baja Montanita 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Baja Montanita has comfortable rooms and various amenities for your comfort, all located opposite the pool and great ocean views.The hotel has 12 suites family of 4, 5 and 6 people. Each with 2 rooms, ideal to enjoy with family or friends.It has separate private bath in each area, hot water, sea view, with cable TV, air conditioning, internet, coffee bar, located on the seafront and is perfect for surfing, laundry, service room, pool, security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Hotel Baja Montanita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing