We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star prices for BARE BONES ROOM!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Baja Montanita
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Montanita
Certificate of Excellence
Oakbank
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“5 Star prices for BARE BONES ROOM!”
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Not sure what others are offering in Montanita? Baja is not offering much though. We only spent one night and felt badly ripped off. The room that we paid $170 for was "Bare Bones" at best. There were two rooms left we were told. A royal suite and the superior ocean view. We chose the latter as it was cheaper but still crazy expensive compared to traveling around Ecuador. The room did have a decent shower I will give it that. No table to put suitcases on, no bedside lamps?? Room floor was dirty. The bed was clean. Good there. Thousands of ants in the room as well as various bugs. The pool was slippery, full of sand. There was no where on the property to wash beach sand off your feet so therefore impossible to keep pool clean. The grounds were "natural". All I mean is that they never spent a dollar to make it nice. It was sandy and dirty everywhere. There was lots of construction going on so it may be better in the future but I doubt it as the place is old and run down. The beach bar has a terrific location to watch surfers however it was empty. We can only guess that was because drinks are so over priced. We walked 100' to the next bar and enjoyed well made drinks, viewed evening surfing and had a good time for little money spent. All in all we left the Baja feeling robbed of our money. The staff were actually quite nice that we had dealings with. Not sure what the owners think they have that they think they can charge these kind of prices but i guess we were silly enough to pay? Overall, bare bones for 5 star price!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank badavy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier L, Director Comercial at Hotel Baja Montanita, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear guest,
We have received your comment and on behalf of all the hotel we asked our sincere apologies for any inconvenience that occurred during your stay.
We have taken all necessary corrective measures to prevent such situations happen again.
We request you indicate your bank account in order to proceed with a refund of the payment made on site.
We asked very gently remove your comments on tripadvisor.
Please accept my best wishes,
Olivier Loor
Sales and marketing manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    73
    46
    13
    13
See reviews for
55
85
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We spent three days at the Hotel Baja Montanita (HBM) in mid-February. For us (friends in our 40s), it was easily the best option for us in Montanita. Here's why:

The crowds on the weekends and holidays are crazy. If you want to stay up partying (or just stay up) until 4:00 a.m., then you have many options. If you want to retire at a more reasonable hour, you must be away from the many discos and beach parties going on. The HBM is just 10 minutes north of town; enough to get you out of ear-shot of the pumping bass of town.

The restaurant at the hotel has good pizza and a few other Italian dishes. It was a bit more pricey than what we found in town, but not unbearably so. The same was true with the drinks.

The rooms were clean and had the basics (a dresser, AC, a 16 inch TV with Direct TV), and the bathroom had plenty of room, and good water pressure and hot water. The beds (we had two twins) were fine, but nothing luxurious by any means. The room suited our purpose, but that was about it.

There were quite a few families at HBM. The higher cost and separation from the town makes it a more popular choice for parents who want to take their children to the beach without the intensity of being in the younger crowd. The kids at the hotel, however, weren't a distraction for us.

The grounds are relatively well maintained (considering where we were). The pool was nice as well. Basic, but in a beach town of this sort (catering to more partiers than anything else), it was what we expected.

The staff was always friendly and helpful. No complaints there.

If you want to experience the beach and vibe of Montanita without immersing yourself in the non-stop party, this is the place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the beach. Don't let them sell you on a room with a "view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravlinDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Great place on the beach, great staff, great food! We will return. The location is perfect because you can walk to the center of Montanita by way of the beach. We really enjoyed just sitting out by the ocean bar and also enjoyed the swimming pool. The rooms great too because they all overlook the beach
Thanks to the wonderful staff led by General Manager, Olivier Peroche, we had a great time. Olivier is very attentive with guests. Ask for Johnny in the restaurant and bar. He is great and a lot of fun to hang with.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisoulahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This hotel is at the end of Montañita and if you are one of those persons (like me) who likes to be far away from the crowds, this is the hotel to stay. This is by far the best in terms of standards. All others are hostels ( 1 or 2 stars). This hotel is a 3 plus. Yo can easily walk along the beach towards town. Rooms (de luxe) are fairly good with a nice ocean view; bathrooms are fine. Air conditioning works very well.

Room Tip: The have rooms for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barrancos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Peter, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Baja Montanita for one evening during the August off-season. It was easy to see that the place might have been special 'back in the day' but it is now showing a bit of wear. Clean and good service...just not up to the price levels that they charged.

POSITIVES

Good service all-around and very clean. Comfortable beds. Location is at the very north end of the beach - good for some quiet rest away from the action. The kids didn't use the pool, but it looked fun and well-maintained. It's right on the beach.

NEGATIVES

The price simply didn't match up with what you can get for much less elsewhere in Montanita. Door locks were laughable - no deadbolts and worn after years of use. I could have leaned hard on the door and it would have popped open. Bathroom window didn't lock either, so there's no leaving valuables in the room if you stay here. It's quite a walk (even over the beaches) to Montanita, so note the distance if you want to enjoy the nightlife.

OTHER

Food was above average and traditional Ecuadorian fare. We enjoyed our ordered meals (fish, shrimp, soups) and they came out quite well. Breakfast was well-served, but coffee was poor and choices limited. Everything was well maintained...just a bit worn. Maybe the place gets more lively during the high season.

I'd recommend Hotel Baja Montanita if you are a fussy traveler who wants to get away from the noise of Montanita and doesn't mind paying more for something less adventuresome. Probably a better choice for those travelling with little kids.

Not sure where we are going to stay next time in the area, but we'll likely pass on Hotel Baja Montanita due to the price vs. value provided.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island city
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

This hotel is too expensive for the town the food at the hotel was twice the price of the food in town as well and what they call a private beach is a human sized sandbox with lounge chairs over looking the beach, we did not have hot water for 2 days the breakfast is the same thing everyday, I would not recommend this hotel the only good thing is its far away from the noise in town, sunbathing topless is allowed only when guests don't complain but meanwhile 14 and 15 year old girls are allowed with thongs on the property swimming pool so its OK to show of your buttocks but not OK for a woman to be topless with her husband present. what a joke we always stay in resorts in other countries and no one has ever told me to put on a top that's why its worth staying at a high end resort with full service and paying a few thousand dollars then staying in what i call a cabana style hotel it needs much updating no coffee pot in the room we had to wait till 8 am when they brought out coffee and the coffee in the pot was instant not even real coffee do they serve.the wifi room only has 1 computer no gym room as well this was a waist of money I should have stood at the Hostile next door. the mini bar was to expensive as well our mini bar bill was 165. for 9 days and my husband would drink 2 beers daily and 2 mini wines which equal 1/2 glass what a rip off we would buy our snacks in town which was much more cheaper.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

I've just stayed there in the last week of January12. Altough the hotel could get some renew in the average it's ok. Compared to the other options it's the best choice. 10 minutes walk from the restaurants and stores - use the beach to make the walk- it has a nice pool and the room is very confortable. The guys in the front desk are kind of useless but you can get around them. Food is cheap and good. Beer is cheap too. I've got a little worried when I saw there was no safe box in the room but the people working there are very honest. Take some old clothes in good conditions to bargain with the beach sellers and get favors in the hotel. On saturdays night life is insane and in the other days it's o preatty neat. Almost forgot, it's right in front of the Montanita point break...

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akb06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montanita
0.8 mi away
ME Hotel in Montanita Estates
0.3 mi away
Hostal Kundalini
Hostal Kundalini
#1 of 9 in Montanita
545 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dharma Beach
Dharma Beach
#3 of 9 in Montanita
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Olympus Hotel
Olympus Hotel
#5 of 9 in Montanita
51 reviews
3.9 mi away
Happy Hill Hostel
Happy Hill Hostel
#1 of 3 in Olon
54 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montanita Cabanas
Montanita Cabanas
#4 of 87 in Montanita
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baja Montanita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baja Montanita

Property: Hotel Baja Montanita
Address: Sector La Punta | Via al santuario de Olón, Montanita, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Santa Elena Province > Montanita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Montanita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baja Montanita 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Baja Montanita has comfortable rooms and various amenities for your comfort, all located opposite the pool and great ocean views.The hotel has 12 suites family of 4, 5 and 6 people. Each with 2 rooms, ideal to enjoy with family or friends.It has separate private bath in each area, hot water, sea view, with cable TV, air conditioning, internet, coffee bar, located on the seafront and is perfect for surfing, laundry, service room, pool, security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Baja Montanita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing