We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Montanita
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveler rating
60
25
5
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
60
25
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews air conditioning sergio ocean noise beach town owner hammocks hostel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 91 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2019

La Gondola offers comfortable private bungalows and various other rooms.

The hotel is located right in front of the Pacific ocean and about 5 minutes from the city center of Montañita. The best restaurants and nightclubs in the area are approximately 300 meters away. La Gondola is a peaceful and tranquil place, away from the noise of the center. This is ideal for any tourist looking for an unforgettable vacation.

Check the availability of a bungalow or room for your short or long term stay. You can also rent the entire hostel for events such as weddings, family reunions, birthday parties, etc.

The breakfast is included in your stay and is served at their beachfront restaurant/bar. which also has delicious lunches and dinners.

You can enjoy air conditioning, private bathrooms and fast Wifi connection all over the propriety. Surf classes are also offered at La Gondola. A private and safe parking is available during your stay.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The Tandem R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2018

I don't normally write reviews but I felt our time at La Gondola warranted a review. We had an amazing time! We stayed for one week with a ten year old boy. The location was perfect for us, the room was great, the bar area was fun, the beach was fantastic, and the people were amazing. By the time we left we felt like family.

Location: La Gondola was a short (3 minutes), easy walk into town. You could easily walk from the bus station but we choose to take 3 dollar taxi from the bus station. As other reviewers have mentioned it's secluded and quiet which is exactly what we were looking for.

Food: The breakfast was simple but it absolutely did the trick. They make amazing fresh fruit juice. The Juice depends of the the fresh fruit they received that day. They have some other simple items(pizza, burgers, hot dogs, etc) for purchase if you want to stick around for lunch and dinner.

Bar: The bar area is right on the beach. There is nothing like enjoying a cup of coffee on the bar on the beach or a cold beer while getting lost in the sunsets. They have a simple bar and a small beer selection but we couldn't have asked for more. They have a TV where you could relax and watch movies but we mostly played cards.

Accommodations: We stayed in the One-Bedroom Bungalow for one week. The room was clean and temperature controlled. The bedroom was located on the second floor with the bathroom, open lounge area, and kitchenette on the first. The open lounge area made it easy to store wet cloths and stay out of each other's way.

Staff: The staff was the best part of our trip. The owner immediately made us feel welcomed and provided a few tips about the city. He even provided us a great location for surfing lessons ($20 for two hours of private lessons!). Like many other hostels they had a few transient workers helping out. They were very helpful and made us feel welcome. The permanent staff worked in the mornings are were more than helpful. We had a wonderful time with everyone. We were so sad to leave we tried to get our flights changed to stay longer!

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Affe007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2018 via mobile

Planned to stay a day or 4, turned into 2 weeks hahaha....
Life simply doesn't get any better than this place. Bamboo houses fully equiped, amazing family, at the quite place of town right at the beach.
The beers & cocktails are cold, the sea warm and the cats & dogs happy AF.
What more do you want.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank jannekev2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2018

We have stayed at Hosteria La Gondola twice now (once back in March of 2017, and then just recently in January 2018). We went back, because we loved our first experience there earlier this year.

This place is the definition of a relaxed beach town lodging. The amenities are simple and sparse, but that is exactly what makes it a charming getaway. If you are expecting an upscale resort experience, this is not the place for you. But if you wish to forget about the outside world for a while, and check all your worries at the gate, then book now!

The property sits right on the beach and consists of a few stand alone buildings and cabins. My personal favorite are the 2 cabins that have a screened in porch area with hammocks hanging in them. Again, the rooms are super basic, but they have comfortable beds, clean rooms and AC. But it's all irrelevant. You are not here to spend time in your room. You can relax on the many hammocks hanging on the grass covered grounds, or enjoy the sand and the surf on the wide, uncrowded beach which is literally outside the property. If you have had enough sun for the day, take a break and grab a cold cerveza at the bar. We also enjoyed the simple but delicious complimentary breakfast as well.

Sergio the owner is a super nice and friendly guy and the staff (some of whom are understandably probably transient and seasonal) is always pleasant and helpful, but non intrusive. The rest of the inhabitants consist of a variety of equally friendly dogs and cats that freely roam the grounds.

One of the other great things about this property is that it is set back from the downtown Montanita area, where things can get loud and crazy during the weekends and holidays. We love grabbing dinner and drinks, or going to a club in Montainita, but then when we are done, it’s just a short 5 minute stroll back to the property for a quiet restful sleep.

This is the kind of place that I wish will prosper and become better and better with time, and yet you kind of want to not tell anyone about it, so it can stay our little secret piece of heaven! What a dilemma! ;-)

Date of stay: January 2018
Thank skashanchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2017

We only wanted a beach break for a week...... Ended up staying for nearly 7 and came close to dropping out completely.

I did read the duff review... Yes living on an undeveloped world class surf beach does throw up some little idiosyncratic problems.
For some. But not what the place is about.
A disappointing start to my day came in the form of not seeing a Whale breaching over breakfast or only half a dozen squadrons of Pelicans cruising the surf break.

The same feel as Ko Samui had 20 years ago before they covered it in concrete.

Please stay away from the place as I want it for myself.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Colin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews