We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my favorite Spanish school...”

Montanita Spanish School - Day Classes
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Montanita
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not my favorite Spanish school...”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

This place is too management heavy and not very flexible. Too big for my tastes, though there are lots of activities and students here. The teachers are young and friendly, but not fantastic teachers. I have been to five Spanish schools in South America and this was my least favorite school. You might want to hesitate before pre-booking too many weeks.
The surf school is fun.

Helpful?
5 Thank tannerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSSchool, Owner at Montanita Spanish School - Day Classes, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Montanita Spanish School have a great management team who work hard to cater to the varying needs of our students. We provide many additional services, volunteering and activities on top of Spanish lessons and therefore need the staff to manage all of this for our many students which may give you the impression of us being "top heavy". Our teachers are comprehensively trained, very experienced and often university educated. They provide a structured program designed to seamlessly progress students through the international language system levels of A1 - C5 rather than the more informal adhoc system of many other Spanish schools. Additionally our teachers receive ongoing professional development to improve their skills and understandings and they have the opportunity to attend higher level teacher training courses, all of which makes for competent teachers.

Our Spanish program is internationally accredited by the German Government Bildungsurlaub system and frequently international students study with us as part of their home country university degree programs. We regularly have students with us for an excess of 9 weeks as part of their International Business Degree or Medical Doctor Elective. Providing programs to this level is not possible for the majority of other South American Spanish Schools and we are proud of our ability to do so.

It is unfortunate that we were not your favourite school, though you did seem to enjoy our friendliness and many activities. Please come back again and we will do all we can to meet your individual needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    33
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Trip of a Lifetime!!!”
Reviewed March 21, 2012

If your up for some great fiesta, while learning another language and culture, Montañita Spanish School is for you. An excellent mix of sun, surf, school and good people make this hidden secret a remarkable destination for those in search of a little fun while they learn. The school cabañas can be described as a private oasis tucked away from the wild, bustling nightlife of Montañita. Here you can relax in the sun by the pool with your new found friends and practice spanish over an ice cold cerveza or sprawl out in the shade on one of the hamocks for a well deserved siesta. Want to really submerge yourself? Try a homestay family to really submerse yourself in a rich and unique culture. Enjoy practicing your spanish with native speakers while you learn about the daily lives and activities of the coastal people of Ecuador. Not Enough? Enjoy some of the many extracurricular activities such as surf trips, school BBQs, salsa and meringue clases, diving clases, pool tournaments and volunteer work. If the school doesn´t have it..... the town will!!! If I had 4 thumbs, I would give this school four thumbs UP!!!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Jess S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSSchool, Guest Relations Manager at Montanita Spanish School - Day Classes, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Hola Jess! Thanks for the kind review. We agree, there are plenty of amazing things to do here in Montanita and especially at Montanita Spanish School. Trip of a lifetime for sure! Muchas gracias!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best!”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

I have been in Montanita for 2 months and stayed at the cabanas which belong to the Montanita Spanish school and had the first 4 weeks group lessons of 4 hours a day and the last 4 weeks 2 hour private lessons. The school is runned by profesional people and they will help you with all your questions about trips, homestay, volunteer etc. The teachers are really good! In the beginning I found it difficult that the lessons were in spanish, but afterwards I can tell you that that's really a good thing! I didn't speak any spanish and now I can have conversations in spanish, which feels amazing!! The cabanas are an amazing place to stay! It's clean, there's wifi, a swimmingpool and lots of fun! But also, it's a peacefull oase in the crazyness of Montanita. Because Montanita never sleeps! I had the best time ever, learned spanish, there were a lot of activities and I would definitely go back if I have the oppertunity.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Nadiavdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSSchool, Guest Relations Manager at Montanita Spanish School - Day Classes, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Hola! Thanks for your awesome review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your time here at Montanita Spanish School, and in the cabanas - "A peaceful oasis in the craziness of Montanita", you couldn't have put it any better. We look forward to seeing you on a return trip one day! Muchas gracias!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Chill learning environment.Great People. Great Accomidations.”
Reviewed February 4, 2012

Bring small American Bills/Change. Mosquito repellent. There is no Malaria here. Enjoy yourself. There are plenty of fresh veg/fruit options here in Montanita. The surf is great.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Evangeline_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montanita Spanish School - Day Classes also viewed

Montanita, Santa Elena Province
 
Montanita, Santa Elena Province
Montanita, Santa Elena Province
 

Been to Montanita Spanish School - Day Classes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing