We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Robbed! Horrible experience! Dont go!”
Review of Kon - Tiki Hostal

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montanita
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kon - Tiki Hostal
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Wow. This place looked decent enough but my girlfriend and I were robbed in the night while sleeping and our door shut and locked. They took everything and the next morning when we confronted the english speaking employee he would not look us in the eye and did not seemed concerned at all that we were victimized. we definitely suspect an inside job and besides that the locks and security are about as good as sleeping in a tent on the beach. Dont support this kind of hostal. there are plenty of good safe ones in montanitia.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Will_frank_kane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kon - Tiki H, Propietario at Kon - Tiki Hostal, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

First, I'd like to say that the guest were very, very suspicious people. They acted "nervous" for the thought robbery, but when I turned my back just a second, I found them laughing and smiling, that doesn't make sense at all, when you are worried about something the last thing you think of is laughing. Then I have to say that the rooms in our Hostal are very secure, their locks are in good conditions and the doors are made of a hard and firm wood. When a person shows in our Hostal and check-in we give him/her the key to his/her room and show him/her where it is located. After that their personal properties and the room in general are total responsability of the guests. If they left the door open or without lock, we are very sorry but there's nothing we can't do about it.

To end I'll say that they wanted us to give them money and wanted to check all of the Hostal included our home!!!!!! That's a really really serious accusation!! We can sue them for that, so please, stop saying lies and assume your responsability on your lost stuff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 42 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2012

It is a three minute walk to beach, but at the same time not in the center of all the noise in town (in case you want to sleep). It is spacious, clean,open, and has a very home-y feel. Furthermore, they have wifi, a kitchen, and the owner is very kind and helpful with anything you need. When I come back to Montanita, I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kreagjul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Leandro C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2015, traveled with friends
Thank Paito B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Las habitaciones de la primera planta son más amplias y son privadas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2015, traveled with friends
Thank sandraaguzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Benjamin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montanita hotels
0 mi away
ME Hotel in Montanita Estates
0 mi away
Olympus Hotel
Olympus Hotel
#4 of 9 in Montanita
53 reviews
0 mi away
Hostal Kundalini
Hostal Kundalini
#1 of 9 in Montanita
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Dharma Beach
Dharma Beach
#3 of 9 in Montanita
121 reviews
0 mi away
Hostal Moai
Hostal Moai
#8 of 99 in Montanita
90 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Baja Montanita
Hotel Baja Montanita
#5 of 9 in Montanita
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kon - Tiki Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kon - Tiki Hostal

Address: Camino izquierdo, despues del puente del estero., Montanita 241702, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Santa Elena Province > Montanita
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 99 Specialty Lodging in Montanita
Price Range: $15 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kon - Tiki Inn offers its guests comfortable, safe and pleasant. It is ideal to enjoy the beach while all the entertainment that exists in Montañita - Ecuador. It is located in the best area of Montanita, as it is opposite the estuary and near the beach, getting a unique view and a perfect environment to harness the sea and fun at night, without having problems with noise from the center. Our commitment is to serve our guests as if they were part of our family and make them feel as comfortable as at home. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing