We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remote and peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Samai Ocean View Lodge Spa
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Remote and peaceful”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

The road leading to the hotel is in horrible condition and you definitely need a 4WD. But it's so worth it. The people are extremely friendly and helpful, the rooms are big and clean and it's just such a relaxing environment. Not to mention, the food is out of this world! The only issue is the location, if you want to go to the beach and the town of Montanita. Its a 20min walk down a dirt path to the beach and you a 45min walk to the shops and restaurants of Montanita. Regardless, still highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    17
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
17
31
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We arrived just before sunset, and the jungle noises all around really set the atmosphere. The lodge is located about two miles off the highway up a steep dirt road in poor shape. I am glad we had our 4x4, high clearance pickup. But once we got there, the views were worth it. Set on the top of a hill in the jungle, there are expansive views of the beaches below and the Pacific.

Since we showed up without a reservation and there were no other guests, the cook was not there. One of the workers volunteered to drive into town and bring her back, but we weren't that hungry. We asked if he would go to a store and bring us some snacks, which he gladly did.

We ate them with the beer, soda, and wine they had available there for sale, while we had a most enjoyable conversation with Ed, the owner, probably two hours, covering everything from the Shamanic services they offered to all things Ecuadorian.

The grounds offered a couple of open air patios, a small pool and a hot tub, all with vistas of the ocean. Our room was jungle lodge rustic, basic but servicable. Overall, nice people and great vistas.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rbyrnes3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samailodge, General Manager at Samai Ocean View Lodge Spa, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Customer:

Thanks for visiting Samai Lodge and to be open to explore the Cordillera Chongon Colonche at the Ecuadorian Pacific Coast, a few places in the world where ocean meets the rain forest.
It was an honor to have you as a guest.
Best regards,
Tania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 14, 2012

The Samai Lodge is a beautiful resort on one of the most amazing properties very near the beach in Ecuador, north of Montanita. It is very lovely and has a very soothing atmosphere. You can get to the beach (across the road) as well as take part in their spa services that have a lot of healing modalities if you choose. It is also close to Montanita if you want some night life but you will have the option of really staying in a quiet atmosphere. The style of the buildings fit very well into the location and the natural surroundings. The food was good and I felt very cared for by the staff. The owners have a lot to offer in the way of natural healing methods. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: They have different size and style of cabins--it depends on how many people are with you and how the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nowandforever19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samailodge, Owner at Samai Ocean View Lodge Spa, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Costumer:

Greetings from Samai Lodge.

It was a pleasure to host you at our Hotel. Hope to have you back soon.

Best Regards,
Tania Duran Tuttle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

If you are looking for a unique and unforgettable holiday experience giving you the opportunity to connect deeply with the beautiful natural surroundings, this is your place. I spent about 2.5 weeks here during which time I worked with traditional shamanic healing plants of the amazon region. For those who are interested in this incredibly revealing experience, I can't imagine a better place than Samai. Firstly, the owner is an American man who has spent extensive time in Ecuador and in the Amazon studying with local shamans and developing a broad and impressive comprehension of Amazonian entheogens. He has also spent many decades practicing Zen Buddhism. Essentially, he is a wonderful conversationalist and very insightful and his guidance during my retreat was invaluable. Even if you are not going for shamanic ceremonies, the energy here is amazing as are the people and you will have your own slice of paradise.

The resort itself is situated in a beautiful location overlooking forests, mountains/high hills, and the ocean. It is secluded, yet very easy to go down to the beach and into Montanita should you want to experience nightlife, restaurants and shopping for local handcrafted goods. Taxis to/from Montanita to Samai run $7. If you have your own car, it's true that the road going up is somewhat rugged, but it's not bad. I drove up many times without any problems. The rooms are very nice with high quality beds and bedding and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. I'm looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaniaDuran, Owner at Samai Ocean View Lodge Spa, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Costumer:

Thanks for visiting Samai Ocean Lodge. It was a great honor to have you with us, and share this small piece of paradise in Ecuador. Hope this experience helped you to enjoyed the ocean and mountain at Samai Hill. Come back any time!.
Best Regards,
Tania Duran Tuttle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poperinge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2012

I stayed in the Samai Lodge (it does no longer belong to the Red Mangrove Chain as it did when the bad references you find below were written...) for 2 nights, and it was just what I needed: calm environment, beautiful nature, stunning views, great quiet beaches 15 minutes walk down the hill (perfect for a sunrise-run) and really good food (you have to tell the staff in the morning if you'll have lunch or diner there). There are bugs (falling from the trees), however none in our room, but hey: what do you expect, you're in the middle of a natural environment... The pool was small but clean, we didn't use the jacuzzi or massage service, but I wasn't really looking for a spa experience, rather for a quiet nature-surrounded place near the ocean.
The only negative experience was 2 couples singing loud Karaoke on a beautiful night, so one suggestion: get rid of the karaoke! It doesn't belong there... Plenty of those in Montanita I suppose :). SO if you are looking for beautiful surroundings, endless people-free beaches and friendly staff: this is your place to be.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdemaess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Samai Ocean View Lodge Spa, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Dear Costumer:

We also, enjoy your visit and value your appreciation and respect for Nature.
Samai is an Ocean Lodge that also respect nature and honor our guests with the best of Ecuadorian Service.

Hope to see you soon at our Deck.

Best regards,
Tania Duran Tuttle
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

The Samai Lodge was an absolute nightmare!!!!! We were a group of 8 adults and spent only one night there... even one night was too much time to stay there.. The description online is not at all what this place offers. In order to get to the so called "Spa/Retreat Lodge" you had to travel the narrowest (about a mile) , dirt/rock road that barely a car; let alone the mini van taxi we were in, fit through. Once we arrived and inquired about a menu to eat; we were told they do not have a restaurant onsite???? We then asked, how can you offer an "American Breakfast" if you do not have a restaurant and what does an "American Breakfast" consist of? We were told we have to make RESERVATIONS for food????? RESERVE what if there is NO RESTAURANT ON-SITE???? and how would you know that any way if they were a restaurant; where's the menu ??? Spa Services???? no one is on-site to perform those either??? you also have to RESERVE?? Again, how would you know that??? We asked if they at least had soda/bottled water to offer us?? the answer.. we have to check, I'm not sure????? We reserved our 4 rooms a few weeks prior and when booking online the only accurate information you see online is the cancellation policy. It indicates that once booked you can’t cancel without losing your entire amount... AND we received the same response when we arrived and found out nothing (as noted online) was available to us. I don't see how they couldn’t have had at least a minimal cancellation fee as they wouldn't have lost any money; they didn’t acquire food or beverages or a masseuses for his/her services for our stay???? AND no one else was they or had reservations for that day or any other??? We stayed one night and couldn’t wait to leave. The next morning it was pouring rain out and our taxi driver was attempting to come up the road to pick us up and was unable to as the road (being a dirt road and narrow) was one mud pile. He could not get his minivan up to us and had to walk 20 min. to us to let us know. When we spoke to the so called manager, who is referred to as el "KUKO" (translation from Spanish means boogie man) he told us there is nothing he can do. He didn't offer us any assistance/ideas in order for us to get all of our luggage ( 8 bags) to the minivan.. All he could say is, "you need a 4X4 to come up that road when it gets like this"???? HUH??? REALLLY??? Three of us walked down the road to see if someone from one of the 4 houses on the dirt road had a truck to take at least or luggage down the hill and we would all walk. The "Kuko" told us that he doesn't know the neighbors and would not even think or asking them for their help??? Geee.. I don’t know but how do their guest even get here???
As we are waiting around and trying to figure out what we should all do in the pouring rain. WE deicide we should eat. After asking several times about the so called, "American Breakfast" and when were we going to get it; he mentioned the person who was going to cook our eggs had not arrived???? Technically he is not the cook.. as they do not have a restaurant, he says.. WOW!!!! INCREDIBLE!!!! We were stuck in a place where they had nothing to offers us.. no coffee, soda, water or food?? AND how do they operate??? WELLL, since once you make your reservation they will not return even one portion of it; you lose it all.. so I guess it is a gimmick and they just basically steal your money because if you stated you are offering your guest(s) an "American Breakfast" with their stay then it is implied that there is some sort of restuarant or someplace that can offer you food and beverages; especially is you make reservations weeks prior - so they are expecting your group of 8??? AREN’T THEY????? OHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH.. and let's not forget to mention all the bugs found on ALL the beds???? WOW.. DISGUSTING!!! OK.. now back to figuring out how to get out of this hell hole!!! we all decided to just carry our luggage down that muddy, narrow road in the pouring rain.. and just get out of there as it seems that the so called "MANAGER" thought he had us trapped and we were just going to sit there and agree to pay for another night and the "HELL HOLE INN"!!!!!! DEFINITELY NOT!!! It is incredible to me to know that places like this exist and steal money from people; not even the picture of the rooms are the rooms that are available at this location. They must have just used pictures from they're better locations to lure people into reserving their stay here at the Red Mangrove Samai "HELL HOLE" Lodge. Once they have your money and you there; with no way out.. what can you do???? As we walked down the muddy roads, a home owner asked what is going on?? and we explained to them our ordeal and they said, "well those people don't get much business and seems like now we know why"??? WOW.. I wish we knew that before we made out reservations... Too bad we can't get our money back - not a cheap one night stay either... All we do is warn future vacationers.. and say.. DO NOT FOR THE LIFE OF YOU STAY HERE.. YOU WILL REGRET IT !!!!!!! LOOK at the review from Patrick ...... another horror story...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank belindalh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Samai Ocean View Lodge Spa, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Dear Costumer:
We really apology by your experience.
Samai Ocean Lodge Spa is not longer related with Red Mangrove Inn.
We are taking your review very serious.
Hope we could help you in the future to transform your past visit into a learning experience.
Best Regards,
Tania Duran Tuttle
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2011

We stayed here as an extension to our Friendly Planet/Red Mangrove tour of the Galapagos in October. It was not exactly as we expected but having said that it was not bad either. Like another reviewer said it is not really a spa, they have a room for massages and pedicures etc but the person has to be called in. We did have massages and they were very good, reasonable price.
The location is inland from the coast a few kilometers and up in the hills so it does have a good view to the ocean beyond but it would be a far walk. It is not luxury but does have a particular charm, great staff, cozy cottages and some interesting activities that were included in our package such as ziplining, tour of the coast, visit to native village.
The food was OK but not special.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montanita hotels
4.9 mi away
ME Hotel in Montanita Estates
4.6 mi away
Hostal Kundalini
Hostal Kundalini
#1 of 10 in Montanita
542 reviews
4.7 mi away
Dharma Beach
Dharma Beach
#3 of 10 in Montanita
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hotel Baja Montanita
Hotel Baja Montanita
#5 of 10 in Montanita
205 reviews
4.7 mi away
Montanita Cabanas
Montanita Cabanas
#5 of 87 in Montanita
101 reviews
4.8 mi away
Nativa Bambu Ecolodge
Nativa Bambu Ecolodge
#3 of 87 in Montanita
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samai Ocean View Lodge Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samai Ocean View Lodge Spa

Property: Samai Ocean View Lodge Spa
Address: Km 700 E15 Via Espondylus | Loma de San Jose - Santa Elena, Montanita 241756, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Santa Elena Province > Montanita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 87 Specialty Lodging in Montanita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Samai Ocean View Lodge Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samai Ocean View Lodge Spa offers a new concept of healthy traveling services where you can experience the environment, eco-tourism activities, cultural exchange, healthy food in first class settings. Here you'll enjoy the serene splendor of the cordillera mountains, pacific ocean and rain forest all in one place! You will find the extraordinary peace and tranquility of Ecuador, that is still largely untouched by civilization, rejuvenating your spirit and give you a new lease on life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Samai Ocean View Lodge Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing