We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible terrible terrible”
Review of Hotel Montanita

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montanita
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Montanita
Ranked #32 of 43 Montanita B&B and Inns
Salvador, BA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible terrible terrible”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Electric water heaters badly isolated, so electric strike is possible.
Uncomfortable double-deck bads. Very difficult to climb on the second level.
Very bad. Never stay here. Lot's of much better places there for almost the same price.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank VasilyBolgov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    9
    4
    14
See reviews for
3
10
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alaska
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

This might be difficult for some, but since I have been going back and forth up and down the Coast with many trips into Montanita, here goes. October and November will be the cheapest and most quiet times. These Hostels are used for passsing out from drinking all night, and hitting the beach the next day. If you are looking for cable tv and stuff that you have back home or in the big City, you will not find it in the heart of Montanita, with the exception of Charos, a block and a half away. Oct., and Nov., these Hostels rent out for 6-8 dollars per person with a free cocktail and breakfast. Dec., Jan., Feb., Christmas, New Years, the Reef Festival and than Carnaval, prices will skyrocket.

Room Tip: Try to get a room all the way in the back, by the beach and upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bpak01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
74 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Montañita is a party place. So it is not a good idea to stay right in the middle of town. The noise is intolerable in this hotel. The rooms are all cement (and that includes the bed). Towels, sheets, etc. are worn out and they look like they were used in war. We found a cockroach in the shower when we arrived. And charge you 40 USD a day! In short: it is better to sleep in the car or in the beach. Stay away of this place!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank charles7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montanita hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Medellin, Colombia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2011

a terrible place.
The staff is very rude, the rooms are dark and damp, the bathroom was dirty since we got there, we spent three days and nobody clean the room, we had to ask for towels 4 times and the staff was very unpleasant. It was the worst experience I've had in a hotel in my life.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Migueleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QUITO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 25, 2011

My friend and I pay 90 dolars for a bedroon that is worse than any hostel in Montañita. There is not TV, clean showers, even a waste basket!!! People who work there is very rude and is a noisy place where is imposible to sleep. I do not recommend to any one to stay here.In the advertising they said that had WIFI, well there is not, and they do not care to help you to solve your necesities! There is a pool and it is ok, also it has a restaurat that is a little bit expensive but cool.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NENA29061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 26, 2010

For the price point this hotel served the purpose. The accomodations wer what I more or less expected for a surfer dude tppe atmosphers. I had no problem recieving good service from the staff, plenty of clean towels and the bedding was changed daily. I or my partner were not looking for a Ritz experience but a fun lifestyle at the ocean, and that is what we recieved. Dollar value right on point. Skypilot

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skypilot316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheeseland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2010

Okay, let's be straight here, this is a party town and the majority of inhabitants are here to enjoy the surf by day and debauchery at night. So the emphasis is on somewhere to flop. That being said, this place was a dump. Though the day staff was very friendly and accommodating, their hotel and the night staff was something of a jail house environment. The 1st floor room was essentially a cement room(that includes the bed frame! which doubles as the box spring) that needed a serious coat of paint, the replacement of molding that must've been removed from the room years ago, the tv where the cable cord was hanging from a hole in the wall, and the mattress that defies the worst possible worn out flea bag hotel in the states. During the late afternoon, I had to 'fight' with the night manager to give us replacement towels that we used for the beach and showers in the morning. And this was WITH me giving him the two used towels IN TRADE! They put the word native in the pharse going native. Avoid this hotel at all costs, there are many better, less expensive hostels/hotels down the street, including the beach itself. Trust me, I gone to some really basic hotels with very low expectations, and there are many better options nearby this hotel. This place was bad even by spring break cheap hotels....the only reason they didn't get a terrible was that there is someone who doesn't really crash at their hotel anyway and just wants a place to change their clothes or bring someone home in the dark of the night.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Runin_in_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montanita hotels
0.0 mi away
ME Hotel in Montanita Estates
0.0 mi away
Hostal Kundalini
Hostal Kundalini
#1 of 10 in Montanita
536 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Olympus
Hotel Olympus
#6 of 10 in Montanita
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pop House
Pop House
#7 of 43 in Montanita
80 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arrels
Arrels
#23 of 88 in Montanita
10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Moai
Hostal Moai
#9 of 88 in Montanita
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montanita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montanita

Property: Hotel Montanita
Address: Center Street, Montanita, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Santa Elena Province > Montanita
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Montanita
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing