We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay in Montanita”
Review of Balsa Surf Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Balsa Surf Camp
Ranked #1 of 43 Montanita B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2010

Wow - I don't know even where to begin.

I spent 19 nights at Balsa Surf Camp in March. I was learning Spanish at Mar Azul spanish school (a great place, as well), and after spending my first night at a DUMP in town, went to find a new place. I found the perfect place in Balsa Surf Camp.

First, the rooms. I did not see a nicer room in all of Ecuador. Everything is carefully hand crafted by local artisans. The bed was the best bed I slept in in South America, and the rooms were outfitted with hand-crafted furniture (and a safe). I had a fan, as well as a porch with two hammock's. The bathroom was clean, and great. The whole place was opened in December 2009, so everything is new and beautiful.

Next, the location. It is perfect. It is on the point, which is a great place to stay, especially if you don't want to be awake all night with the noise in town. It was really lovely.

The people: Rasty and Julie were the perfect hosts. They are the two owners of the place -- Rasty a local who is one of only 7 Balsa Wood surfboard craftsmen in all of Ecuador. His boards are truly a work of art. And Julie, a transplant from France, who knows just the right way to handle everything. And, of course, there's the rest of the staff, who I was fortunate enough to get to know -- all just perfect.

They have the most friendly dogs, and make great dinners and breakfast.

Really, I looked at ALL the places to stay in Montanita when I was there, and don't look anywhere else. They can arrange surf lessons (loads of fun), spear fishing trips (also fun), and of course spanish lessons...

Do yourself a favor, and don't look anywhere else. Stay at Balsa surf camp, where people care.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalsaSurfCamp, Propietario at Balsa Surf Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you so much for yours beautifuls words and your help! It was a pleasure to meet you and sharing time and experience with you. I hope you are fine and happy, and see you again maybe one day :) Take care a lot! Lots of hugs from the whole balsa surf camp staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 212 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank funkygab1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieCesar M, Propietario at Balsa Surf Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank pptg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieCesar M, Propietario at Balsa Surf Camp, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieCesar M, Propietario at Balsa Surf Camp, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017
Thank Nicolay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieCesar M, Propietario at Balsa Surf Camp, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank Ernesto_uio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieCesar M, Propietario at Balsa Surf Camp, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Magus1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieCesar M, Propietario at Balsa Surf Camp, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montanita hotels
0.3 mi away
Hostal Kundalini
Hostal Kundalini
#1 of 9 in Montanita
570 reviews
0.7 mi away
ME Hotel in Montanita Estates
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baja Montanita
Hotel Baja Montanita
#6 of 9 in Montanita
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dharma Beach
Dharma Beach
#3 of 9 in Montanita
124 reviews
0.5 mi away
Olympus Hotel
Olympus Hotel
#4 of 9 in Montanita
53 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Cielo
El Cielo
#2 of 43 in Montanita
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balsa Surf Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balsa Surf Camp

Address: at the Point, Montanita, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Santa Elena Province > Montanita
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Montanita
Price Range: $67 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Balsa Surf Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover our BALSA SURF CAMP in Montanita, Ecuador, made by and for surfers! The perfect place to discover a country and its waves, its culture and the wonderful art of balsa wood boards shaped by César Moreira, owner of the camp. It is a reconciliation, a union with nature. Imagine! Surfing a tree! Discover our beautiful style of Ecological bungalows only 30 meters from the surf! There are handcraft built by local carpenters using bamboo and wood. In a friendly environment you will enjoy the Montanita surf! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Balsa Surf Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balsa Surf Camp Hotel Montanita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing