We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive hostal, decent. Agree with review below that the pictures are from a DIFFERENT hostal with a similar name.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montanita
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Las Palmeras
A TripAdvisor Member
75
Reviewed April 4, 2011

The pictures seem to be from a hotel in Otavalo, not Montañita! We stayed at Las Palmeras in Montañita for one night. It was $10 per person if at least 2 people were sharing a room. The room had a full bed and a bunk bed. $15 per person if you want your own room. Private bathroom was small, clean, had good hot water in shower. Rooms were clean. The main issue was the outside noise from the loudspeaker urging people to go to the protest tomorrow. This went on for hours, and If it wasn't for my earplugs, I wouldn't have gotten any sleep. It is located away from the noise of party cental, so otherwise is kind of quiet. It's a short walk to the bars and restaurants, and feels safe to walk around at night. Hammocks and lounge chairs in the common patio. You can see a nice view of the ocean from the hammocks. Decent place for young people.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (10)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 10 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2010

We saw the pics on this page and reviews and took a taxi to the Las Palmeras on Av. 15 de Mayo y Javier in Montanita, Ecuador. It is NOT the hostel shown here! I don't even know where that hostel might be - Montanita is on the beach - there are no mountains in sight, only hills. The owner of the Las Palmeras obviously doesn't like his job any more. He complained and made up excuses for everything and got REALLY mad when we called him on it. Quote: "This is my place and I'll do whatever I want to and if you don't like it you can [--] off" The hot water lasts for maybe 30 seconds and then it's cold. The towels provided by the hotel for our room were slightly larger than hand towels. We didn't have any towels when we checked in and the owner didn't want to give us a towel to take a shower on our departure date. We were here during REALLY low season, so there were only a couple other people in the hostel. The week day nights were pretty quiet but it was noisy on Saturday night and we had a hard time sleeping. They do have laundry facilities on premise, but contrary to the sign that promises service in 2 hours, it typically took them 12-24 hours. There is not a ocean view from the rooms but if you're on the 4th floor you can see the ocean from the porch. There are no amenities at this hotel besides laundry service ($.60 kilo, but you don't get to see them weigh it or write it down so we know they ripped us off).

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doubletfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2010

excellent view and friendly people. the price is10 dollars for person, it is a nice gift because it is in front of the ocean. Also i lived nice experiences now that i was near to clubs, bars, restaurants and so on. definitely i passed four wonderful excited nights i liked very much

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juafer594u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2009

My wife and two teenage daughters spent four nights at Las Palmeras Inn the first week of September, 2009. The setting is absolutely gorgeous with views of the mountains through the palm trees. The rooms were lovely. Our room was in a cabin that had four separate rooms. We had two rooms that joined internally. Each had a fireplace which was lit by staff each night after diner. The dining room had a fireplace which was also lit for each meal.
The staff was courteous and helpful and the meals were excellent.
We also used the game room which has a ping pong table and a pool table.
There are also three very friendly dogs that greet you.
We would definitely recommend this hotel to our family and friends.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2009

We stayed at Las Palmeras in Montanita and it was very good. Right on the ocean front just down from the church. Quiet area of town, short walk for everything and great hammocks to lay in and watch the sun set. Our room was $10 /night/person except for new years when the price went up all over town. Highly recommend both Las Palmeras Hostel and Montanita for travelers

2  Thank bushpirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Elegir habitaciones con vista al mar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank caro206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Begoña B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montanita hotels
0.0 mi away
ME Hotel in Montanita Estates
0.0 mi away
Hostal Kundalini
Hostal Kundalini
#1 of 9 in Montanita
559 reviews
0.0 mi away
Olympus Hotel
Olympus Hotel
#4 of 9 in Montanita
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pop House
Pop House
#7 of 42 in Montanita
84 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dharma Beach
Dharma Beach
#3 of 9 in Montanita
119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arrels
Arrels
#21 of 92 in Montanita
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Las Palmeras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Las Palmeras

Address: Ave. 15 de Mayo y Javier Ledesma, Montanita, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Santa Elena Province > Montanita
Amenities:
Beach Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 92 Specialty Lodging in Montanita
Price Range: $15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our wayfarers never fail to notice our friendly service, great ocean views, relaxed atmosphere. Whether you are stopping by to catch a wave, or plan on staying longer with us to soak-in all the treasures of this vibrant beach-town, we are here to welcome you! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing