We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal Kundalini

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal Kundalini
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Montanita
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great spot”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The Hostal is surrounded by a beautiful, relaxing garden directly next to the beach. The ubication besides its nearness to the beach is also close enough to the village but just outside the noise, for me the perfect ubication. The staff is friendly and they serve a great breakfast, with natural juice, coffee, fruits and scrambled eggs.
The rooms are not luxerous but completely adequate, maybe a bit dark, but spotless like also the badroom.
We definitely come back next year!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    162
    34
    12
    7
See reviews for
63
181
39
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Me hospede en el hotel durante 3 días, todo iba bien hasta que yo era el último huésped. Me fui a la piscina por un rato y cuando volví a la habitación , me habían robado mi iPhone 5. En el hotel no había nadie, solo yo y el personal del hotel. En mi habitación habían 3 amigos más, a todos nos robaron los iPhone. Cuando reclame en la recepción me respondieron "Y si así fuera, Ud. no tiene como probar que su iPhone estaba en el hotel", le hablé de las cámaras de seguridad del hotel pero no me quisieron hacer caso, además me gritaron y me tocó llamar a la policía para hacer la denuncia al hotel y que me ayudarán a salir.

Yo estoy empezando una demanda legal en contra de este "hotel".

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
9 Thank Edmundo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalKundalini, Owner at Hostal Kundalini, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Google Translation
Ante esta situación, como hotel responderemos para dar a conocer realmente a los lectores lo que sucedió y desmentir la acusación, ya que es totalmente injusto:
1. El celular no lo había dejado dentro de la habitación, sino en la parte exterior donde circulan todos los clientes. Cuando se acercaron a recepción a reclamar, les pedimos que nos faciliten su número celular para llamar y ver si sonaba y se negaron a entregarnos el número de teléfono. Cuando se acercaron a presentar el reclamo a recepción, dijeron que se les habían robado 2 iphones, no a todos como menciona el cliente.
2. Los que llamamos a la policía fuimos nosotros como hotel ya que en lugar de reclamar de manera tranquila, estaban tomando alcohol dentro del hotel y su reacción fue agresiva con el personal. Realmente es muy sospechosa su acusación, ya que al momento del check in, los señores no quisieron presentar sus pasaportes como identificación, lo cual lo pedimos a todos nuestros registros por asuntos de seguridad justamente. En días anteriores, se les pidió más de 3 veces que se acerquen a pagar su estadía por un valor de $1200 dólares y nunca lo hicieron, da la casualidad de que justamente el día que tenían que pagar, supuestamente se les roban 2 celulares por el valor de la estadía y se querían ir sin cancelar su valor pendiente, mas casualidad aún era que tenían las maletas listas en la habitación para irse rápidamente.
3. No eran los únicos huéspedes, ese día habían más de 20 personas hospedadas que circulaban constantemente por el hotel. El personal del hotel a las 7 de la noche esta únicamente en recepción.
4. El hotel lo único que les indico en el momento que presentaron el reclamo, aparte de pedir disculpas, es que al momento de registrarse firmaron que el hotel no se responsabiliza de los artículos de valor de los clientes (ningún hotel a nivel mundial se responsabiliza por perdidas en las áreas sociales del hotel), ya que el hotel les entrega todas las seguridades para evitar estos inconvenientes, como son las cajas de seguridad dentro de las habitaciones. Cuando las pérdidas son por algún descuido del huésped no podemos responder económicamente a todos, nos encantaría poder hacerlo pero no nos corresponde. No podemos estar cuidando los artículos personales de los 60 clientes que tenemos diariamente cuando los dejan en áreas exteriores.
5. Tenemos cámaras de seguridad pero no podemos poner una cámara por cada habitación por respetar la privacidad del cliente, lamentablemente como estaba oscuro y sucedió en un área exterior, no teníamos una visión clara de la parte exterior de la habitaciónes.

Como hotel tenemos un seguro que nos cubre contra robos a terceros, pero por su mala actitud y sospecha no nos motivó ni siquiera ayudarlos, estaban fuera de control y agresivos. En los pocos casos anteriores de robos a terceros que hemos tenido en los 7 años, hemos respondido totalmente por el valor de lo perdido, por que era evidente. Nuestra responsabilidad, consideración, amor y ganas de ayudar a nuestros clientes para que pasen unas vacaciones excelentes, se demuestran con los buenos comentarios que mantenemos en la actualidad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

I spend the weekend over there, the service, and the people was very nice, is very good located,how ever the food was absolutly ugly.

For one or two nighta is fine, but i dont know if for that price yo can find somethig else.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdpatino21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalKundalini, Owner at Hostal Kundalini, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Google Translation
Hola gracias por tu comentario! realmente en Kundalini solo brindamos el servicio de desayuno y en muy rico y completo! Por los comentarios a lo largo de la historia en cuanto a nuestros desayunos, lo hemos ido mejorando y completando día a día y a todos les encanta realmente (huevos revueltos, frutas, jugo natural, tostadas) queremos creer que tuviste una mala experiencia en algún restaurante y te referías a ellos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

My stay at Hostal Kundalini was mostly pleasurable. Positives first: absolutely astounding grounds and ocean view! The grass was green and lush, there was a beautiful array of trees and flowers, and it's all set directly on the beach. The room (quadruple matrimonial with ocean view) was spacious and the bathroom was much better than I expected with a massive rain shower and hot water. The included breakfast was very generous, and the hammocks! Oh the hammocks! I arrived in Montanita well before check in and the hostal was gracious enough to allow me to store my bag behind the desk- I then checked out the town a bit, but a good portion of the day was spent relaxing in the hammocks that overlook the ocean. Lastly, the location of the hostal was wonderful; right next to the action, yet far away enough to drown out the noisy nightlife while you're trying to sleep.

Unfortunately there were a few downfalls as well: customer service, I hate to say, was the biggest. As I mentioned, I arrived far too early to check in (8am), and though they were kind in letting me store my bag behind the desk, when I returned at check in time (3pm) my room was still not ready. In fact, I had to wait an additional hour for the room to be ready while I, rather impatiently, watched the staff lazily prep the room with a lot of distractions along the way. I have no problem waiting for a room, but to watch the whole process happen and not see one ounce of expedition is painful- especially after a 7 hour flight, 3 hour car ride, and 8 hours in the Ecuadorain sun. My advice to avoid this kind of issue: do not arrive early. In the same light, half of the staff were absolutely delightful while the other half seemed to have some attitude issues, despite the positive nature of my business. I didn't expect such hostility from a place that promotes itself as peaceful.

The only other slight downfall were the holes and overall cleanliness of the mosquito nets. There were fairly large holes in the corners, which made me a little nervous given the purpose of the net.

Overall, I enjoyed my stay, but was happy that I only booked for one night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ConsidersEveryDetail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalKundalini, Manager at Hostal Kundalini, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Google Translation
Querido cliente gracias por su cometario!

Antes que nada mil disculpas por los inconvenientes causados. Actualmente pensamos que hemos mejorado mucho, ya que estamos constantemente capacitando a nuestro personal. El personal no es muy rotativo, al menos tratamos de que no lo sea para que se comprometan realmente con el Hotel. Por ser una zona de Costa con un desarrollo nuevo es muy difícil conseguir un personal muy capacitado, pero tratamos de hacer lo mejor posible y contratar al personal indicado! Lamentamos sus inconvenientes y la hora de espera, todas nuestras habitaciones deben estar listas a las 3 en punto de la tarde para ser entregadas, seguramente la administradora había salido por alguna urgencia y no estaba controlando al personal, actualmente no permitimos que esto suceda! Un saludos grande, garantizamos que no tendrá el mismo problema en su próxima estadía!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here over christmas. Our first impressions were good, as the grounds and hotel are very well kept and quite nice. Unfortunately the staff were extremely rude! Every time we asked for something, for example; can we hire beach towels (in Spanish) we were met with a curt No, and no alternative. Breakfast consisted of a piece of over ripe and tasteless fruit and bland, over-cooked eggs. Yet, the most amazing fruit salads were available in town for a couple of dollars! Mosquitos easily came into the room under the door, which made the mosquito net a necessity at night. Pretty bad value for money considering this was 40 dollars per night, which is extremely steep for Ecuador. Disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalKundalini, Owner at Hostal Kundalini, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Hi Andrea! sorry about your bad moment! we have improve our breakfast now and we have Silvia Pere as the new service manager! She is in charge of the people working at the hotel! Its really hard in Montanita to find people with experience in quality service but we try our best and we are improving day by day thanks to the coments of all our customers! so again thanks for your critics and i hope your next stay at Kundalini be better with our last improvements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Pretty expensive for Ecuador and for what you get. I liked the location, but the owners could pay attention to small details if they want to charge this price and have happy customers, such as cleaning the rooms regularly, improving the breakfast - Ecuador is famous for its fruits so why are they serving poor quality juice?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalKundalini, Owner at Hostal Kundalini, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Hey thak you very much for your comments and other about the poor quality juice, NOW WE HAVE REAL JUICE WITH NATURAL FRUITS, We try to vary it every day! would be a pleasure having you again in Kundalini so you can enjoy our improvements! For the comment about the price now we charge $20 per person in low season - $30 per person in high season, its not overpriced for a hotel infront of the beach! you have in Montanita hotels that charge $40 - $50 - $60 per person with not a good serviced and not at the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

The pros first: nice location, away from the noise and crowd.
The cons: tiny triple room with a bunk bed with no bed fence. Dirty towels. Awful breakfast with powder juice, tiny bread. Also, thé hôtel is renovating and the eating area is in thé middle of work.
I would go back if the price was appropriate for thé quality: 40$

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nenette5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalKundalini, Owner at Hostal Kundalini, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Hi Nenett! thanks for your critics! your critics and 2 more bad comments about our breakfast made us improve it with natural juice. The bread still small but we give 2 breads (and you can ask for more if you want), scrumbled eggs with cheese and jam, fruits, natural juice and good coffe! its good for $20 - $25 dollar per person including breakfast and taxes! we have 5 good comments about our new breakfast!.I would like to apologize about the noice, we were building 3 more rooms and improving the social area at that moment, the workers should start since 1:00 pm next time and maybe for the next construction we should close all the hostel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montanita hotels
0.4 mi away
ME Hotel in Montanita Estates
0.2 mi away
Dharma Beach
Dharma Beach
#4 of 10 in Montanita
112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Baja Montanita
Hotel Baja Montanita
#3 of 10 in Montanita
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Olympus
Hotel Olympus
#7 of 10 in Montanita
44 reviews
4.2 mi away
Happy Hill Hostel
Happy Hill Hostel
#6 of 10 in Montanita
47 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balsa Surf Camp
Balsa Surf Camp
#1 of 42 in Montanita
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Kundalini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Kundalini

Property: Hostal Kundalini
Address: At the beach 200 mts walking from north from the town, Montanita 5939, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Santa Elena Province > Montanita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Montanita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Kundalini 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located at the bottom of the sea in the best area of Montanita, where the silence allows you to rest at night. Restaurants and bars are only at 2 minutes walking. Clean rooms with private bathroom, air conditioner, hot water, wifi, private hammocks and all you need at the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Kundalini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing