We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unhelpful staff and terrible value for money” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Kundalini

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostal Kundalini
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Montanita
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unhelpful staff and terrible value for money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here over christmas. Our first impressions were good, as the grounds and hotel are very well kept and quite nice. Unfortunately the staff were extremely rude! Every time we asked for something, for example; can we hire beach towels (in Spanish) we were met with a curt No, and no alternative. Breakfast consisted of a piece of over ripe and tasteless fruit and bland, over-cooked eggs. Yet, the most amazing fruit salads were available in town for a couple of dollars! Mosquitos easily came into the room under the door, which made the mosquito net a necessity at night. Pretty bad value for money considering this was 40 dollars per night, which is extremely steep for Ecuador. Disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalKundalini, Owner at Hostal Kundalini, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Hi Andrea! sorry about your bad moment! we have improve our breakfast now and we have Silvia Pere as the new service manager! She is in charge of the people working at the hotel! Its really hard in Montanita to find people with experience in quality service but we try our best and we are improving day by day thanks to the coments of all our customers! so again thanks for your critics and i hope your next stay at Kundalini be better with our last improvements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    162
    34
    12
    7
See reviews for
61
180
38
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Pretty expensive for Ecuador and for what you get. I liked the location, but the owners could pay attention to small details if they want to charge this price and have happy customers, such as cleaning the rooms regularly, improving the breakfast - Ecuador is famous for its fruits so why are they serving poor quality juice?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalKundalini, Owner at Hostal Kundalini, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Hey thak you very much for your comments and other about the poor quality juice, NOW WE HAVE REAL JUICE WITH NATURAL FRUITS, We try to vary it every day! would be a pleasure having you again in Kundalini so you can enjoy our improvements! For the comment about the price now we charge $20 per person in low season - $30 per person in high season, its not overpriced for a hotel infront of the beach! you have in Montanita hotels that charge $40 - $50 - $60 per person with not a good serviced and not at the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

The pros first: nice location, away from the noise and crowd.
The cons: tiny triple room with a bunk bed with no bed fence. Dirty towels. Awful breakfast with powder juice, tiny bread. Also, thé hôtel is renovating and the eating area is in thé middle of work.
I would go back if the price was appropriate for thé quality: 40$

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nenette5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalKundalini, Owner at Hostal Kundalini, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Hi Nenett! thanks for your critics! your critics and 2 more bad comments about our breakfast made us improve it with natural juice. The bread still small but we give 2 breads (and you can ask for more if you want), scrumbled eggs with cheese and jam, fruits, natural juice and good coffe! its good for $20 - $25 dollar per person including breakfast and taxes! we have 5 good comments about our new breakfast!.I would like to apologize about the noice, we were building 3 more rooms and improving the social area at that moment, the workers should start since 1:00 pm next time and maybe for the next construction we should close all the hostel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We loved the silence over there, each room has 2 hammocks which is great to have a beer and hear to the waves sound...

friendly staff, clean room. is not luxury, you just have what you pay.

very close to Montañita, but far enough to enjoy the silence. (4 minutes by walking)

As an advice to the owners: would be great to find some chips or something to eat in the frontdesk.

Room Tip: West rooms are in front of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noutonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Hostal Kundalini is a peaceful retreat from the often chaotic Montanita, and is only a short walk along the main road or beach front. It is directly accessible from the beach and has a broad lawn and gardens and is beautifully set surrounded by trees. The staff are a real help, particularly accommodating and helpful in dealing with our limited use of Spanish. There are several rooms with broad balcony's (perhaps too broad given the shortness in space in some of the rooms) with hammocks for just relaxing and admiring the beach view. WiFi is reasonable though accessible mostly in the common areas. The breakfast is fine, fruit, scrambled eggs with onion and tomato, fresh juice etc.. but if you're lucky enough you might even see whales off the beach at breakfast like we managed to. Showers were a little mix and match and water pressure seems affected by power outages which can be common. Either way, it's a great choice if you're not into the 24 hour party scene at Montanita, particuarly on the weekends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrenage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Kundalini is located right on the beach so you can hear the waves from your room. Each room had its own hammock outside its door, plus five more down by the beach. This place is very quiet, and only a five minute walk to the centre of Montanita where all the action is. I recommend staying at this place - its a gem compared to all the others down in the town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

a quiet nice hotel, close to the montanita surf point.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juanpca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montanita hotels
0.4 mi away
ME Hotel in Montanita Estates
0.3 mi away
Dharma Beach
Dharma Beach
#4 of 10 in Montanita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Olympus
Hotel Olympus
#6 of 10 in Montanita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baja Montanita
Hotel Baja Montanita
#3 of 10 in Montanita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
5.9 mi away
Happy Hill Hostel
Happy Hill Hostel
#7 of 10 in Montanita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.4 mi away
Balsa Surf Camp
Balsa Surf Camp
#1 of 42 in Montanita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Kundalini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Kundalini

Property: Hostal Kundalini
Address: At the beach 200 mts walking from north from the town, Montanita 5939, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Santa Elena Province > Montanita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Montanita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Kundalini 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located at the bottom of the sea in the best area of Montanita, where the silence allows you to rest at night. Restaurants and bars are only at 2 minutes walking. Clean rooms with private bathroom, air conditioner, hot water, wifi, private hammocks and all you need at the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hostal Kundalini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing