We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet, Chilled and nice.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal Kundalini

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal Kundalini
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Montanita
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quiet, Chilled and nice.”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We loved the silence over there, each room has 2 hammocks which is great to have a beer and hear to the waves sound...

friendly staff, clean room. is not luxury, you just have what you pay.

very close to Montañita, but far enough to enjoy the silence. (4 minutes by walking)

As an advice to the owners: would be great to find some chips or something to eat in the frontdesk.

Room Tip: West rooms are in front of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noutonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    162
    34
    12
    7
See reviews for
63
181
39
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Hostal Kundalini is a peaceful retreat from the often chaotic Montanita, and is only a short walk along the main road or beach front. It is directly accessible from the beach and has a broad lawn and gardens and is beautifully set surrounded by trees. The staff are a real help, particularly accommodating and helpful in dealing with our limited use of Spanish. There are several rooms with broad balcony's (perhaps too broad given the shortness in space in some of the rooms) with hammocks for just relaxing and admiring the beach view. WiFi is reasonable though accessible mostly in the common areas. The breakfast is fine, fruit, scrambled eggs with onion and tomato, fresh juice etc.. but if you're lucky enough you might even see whales off the beach at breakfast like we managed to. Showers were a little mix and match and water pressure seems affected by power outages which can be common. Either way, it's a great choice if you're not into the 24 hour party scene at Montanita, particuarly on the weekends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrenage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Kundalini is located right on the beach so you can hear the waves from your room. Each room had its own hammock outside its door, plus five more down by the beach. This place is very quiet, and only a five minute walk to the centre of Montanita where all the action is. I recommend staying at this place - its a gem compared to all the others down in the town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

a quiet nice hotel, close to the montanita surf point.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juanpca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

I just loved staying here. Nice and quiet, still close to the city. And right on the beach! Loved it!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank staleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Room was a little to rustic for my taste. Very dirty and the shower was smaller than a phone booth in London. Take some flip flops cause shower floor is nasty. Breakfast is very basic ad you are constantly reminded not to drink more than one juice or coffee. Staff does not answer are hellos and ignores our requests for towels. For some reason the owners and administrators of this hotel think they are too cool to acknowledge everything is done as cheap as posible including the service, sheets, towels, breakfast. This place is perfect for a no thrills backpacker but not or someone that needs a vacation. I hope they realize that by giving quality service and they could do much better because the location is very nice. I recommend they hire some professionals and not have the gardener run the place.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Picoto3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Hostal Kundalini, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Hi! thanks for your comment, for us is a surprise. We hire Xavier Pino as a new manager of the hostel and everyone in the hostel is very happy by his attention and service. I think you visited the hostel years ago, when we just started. We took off the sign of one coffe and juice per person like one year ago thanks to the customers critics! we improve our breakfast a lot and we are in constantly improvements! hope to received you again in a better way! i garantee the best included breakfast in Montanita and the best service from Xavier Pino, the new manager! Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Our first night in Montanita, and if we'd known, we would have booked for the week. The staff were incredibly friendly, the eggs and fruit breakfast lovely, waking up to the sounds of the sea and lazing on the room's hammock was idyllic, and close enough to the nightlife, to wobble home without being so close as to hear the revelry. It's absolutely basic, but extremely clean and for this price, I couldn't imagine better.

Room Tip: Ocean front with balcony and hammock are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucytaffles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montanita hotels
0.4 mi away
ME Hotel in Montanita Estates
0.2 mi away
Dharma Beach
Dharma Beach
#4 of 10 in Montanita
112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Baja Montanita
Hotel Baja Montanita
#3 of 10 in Montanita
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Olympus
Hotel Olympus
#7 of 10 in Montanita
44 reviews
4.2 mi away
Happy Hill Hostel
Happy Hill Hostel
#6 of 10 in Montanita
47 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balsa Surf Camp
Balsa Surf Camp
#1 of 42 in Montanita
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Kundalini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Kundalini

Property: Hostal Kundalini
Address: At the beach 200 mts walking from north from the town, Montanita 5939, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Santa Elena Province > Montanita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Montanita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Kundalini 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located at the bottom of the sea in the best area of Montanita, where the silence allows you to rest at night. Restaurants and bars are only at 2 minutes walking. Clean rooms with private bathroom, air conditioner, hot water, wifi, private hammocks and all you need at the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Kundalini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing