We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa del Sol
Nearby Hotels
$60
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dharma Beach(Montanita)
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Olympus Hotel(Montanita)
$40
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hostal Kundalini(Montanita)
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Montanita(Montanita)
$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$115
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Selina Montanita(Montanita)
$30
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveler rating
136
23
12
12
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
23
12
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyoga studioevery morningspanish classesthe ownershare storiesboard rentalshot waterla puntasafe placein towndaily yogacoconut pancakesbreakfast cookeda great vacationcooking classquesadillathe north end
Filter
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 187 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This hostal is amazing. The owner and host Tamara is welcoming, friendly and just all round caring of her guests time in her fantastic hostal at the better end of Montanita beach. The team she has working there with her are also amazing and friendly.

The breakfast that is served every morning and part of the fee is hands down gourmet and the best breakfasts Ive had in 10 months + of traveling the world.

Rooms are spacious, cleaned every day and the wifi is off the charts quick.

The city of Montanita is crazy and loud and this place being up the other end of the beach is perfect. Its just a small quick walk to the city and party party places so you actually get some sleep when staying here unlike the in-town hostels.

Highly highly recommend this place to stay in Montanita.

Mark and Olivia

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

In the case of a Zombie Apocalypse, I would definitely retreat to Casa Del Sol. Not for its fortress-like properties - largely open and partly made of bamboo, it wouldn't really stave off my eventual mauling for very long. It just feels like a pretty zen place to cower for the rest of my pitiful life.

Physically, it's a lovely setup, just a 5 minute beach-stroll away from the debauchery and hedonism of the main town, but perfectly quiet where it is, and right on the beach. The authentic tiki bar is staffed by charming folk who make mean (i.e. good) maracuya daiquiris and generally provide excellently convivial chat.

For those in need of spiritual healing (due to incoming zombie apocalypse or otherwise), CdS is the only place in Montanita with integrated Yoga in a dedicate studio, twice a day or something, and the dulcet tones of the lapping ocean and the snarling zombies below are the perfect backdrop to sink into downward dog and watch the soothing fight between your ying and yang.

ALSO FEATURES:
- Charmingly sardonic genuine ENGLISHMAN-CHEF making fusion cuisine for communal chowdown
- Surfboards to hire so you can stand around the beach and look cool
- In-house masseuse, to reset your muscles after yoga resets your chakras.
- Adorable Casa Del Sol dogs who could probably be trained to fetch you drinks from the bar
- 5 vowels and 5 constanants! Can't say fairer than that!

Room Tip: There are some with AC - ask and you shall be rewarded.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael_S_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I came here after a night in another place in Montanita. All I have to say is this place was amazing.
Whether it is from the awesome staff that you have there, Robin who gives great massage, Shell the bartender who mixes great drink and Tom who probably made the best food I have had in Ecuador. Not to mention the friendly owner Tamara. Oh did I also mention great yoga classes?

The location on the point of Montanita, which was better than in town as it was chill compared to the craziness and the party attitude of the town... but also not too far from the center a short 10min walk.

But really not to mention the best thing about this place is the people who come and stay here or hang around and the vibe of the place. It is a great place to meet new people to have a fun time in Montanita with.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

If you ever stay in Montañita and you don't want to stay in the nois of the central village, go to casa del sol.
I had a really relaxing time there. Nice, clean rooms and a good vibe in generall. Very nice staff. I had good some good conversations.
You can get yoga classes which are also great.
And by the way.....good red wine.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bhaggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I came to Montanita for the surf but found a great hotel and made some friends along the way. If you need a great massage Robin will exceed your expectations - need a good drink and conversation Shelly has that handled - need a first class meal Tom has you covered. I am already planning my next trip to Casa Del Sol, the people for me made the trip (oh ya the surf was good too ).

Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews