We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay and trip!!”
Review of Viejamar Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Viejamar Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I stayed at Cabañas Viejamar for a week and it was an incredible nice stay! Rooms are comfortable, its right on the beach and its really nice, hot water without problems, nice swimming pool, awesome classes of surf given by the owner of the place! Rodrigo, the owner, and all of his staff are very kind and there for you if there's anything! The owner knows the aera very well so he can help you out very easily to plan your stay in that aera! I highly recommand this place to anybody who wants to visit that part of Ecuador!!!

Room Tip: all rooms are very comfortable!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Saradecc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viejamar, Gerente at Viejamar Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012
Google Translation

Gracias. Tu fuiste una muy buena alumna de surf. Esperamos que regreses...y más surf. Cariños desde la playa...en Viejamar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 207 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2012

We visited Cabanas Viejamar for 11 nights and had a wonderful experience. The beach was not crowded and it was beautiful, the staff was very helpful and accommodating with everything we needed. It was a relaxing environment, and a lot of fun! We also went whale watching and fishing which was amazing. The home cooked meals were excellent every time, the owner and staff went above and beyond, and we will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jenica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viejamar, Gerente at Viejamar Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por tu comentario. Nosotros trabajamos para que la estadía en C. Viejamar sea agradable. Nosotros esperamos verlos nuevamente en esta playa. Gracias y saludos cordiales.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

Rodrigo is a great host. You can take surf lessons from him. With no experience at all, I managed to get on the board and hit the waves in 1 day.

The cabañas are neat and right on the beach.

We loves it!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Restlezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viejamar, Manager at Viejamar Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you very much to you. We work for this. We hope you return. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

I stayed at Cabanas Viejamar for 3 nights and after travelling through South America for several months it was the perfect place for me to relax, sleep incredibly well and enjoy wildlife and the beach! I just loved the place :-) The owner Rodrigo is a wonderful person, very helpful, speaks perfect English and is a very entertaining person. Viejamar is directly at the beach and has a nice small pool! It was great to use wifi in my room and enjoy some good movies in the lodge from time to time. Rodrigo helped me to organize trips to Isla de la Plata and Agua Blanca / Los Frailes - both were great! Viejamar is outside of Puerto Lopez in Las Tunas, but this is definitely a plus - the beach is cleaner and not crowded. You can take surf lessons (with Rodrigo) or do horseriding. I can definitely recommend the place!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kerstin_Quito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viejamar, Manager at Viejamar Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you very much to you. We work for this. We hope you return. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

I was weary of travel to a third world country and was very pleasantly surprised with the accommodations at the Cabanas Viejamar. Rodrigo the owner was a pure pleasure the whole trip and really made my experience grand. There are a lot of beautiful tropical flora and our Cabana was so very close to the ocean. Provided was a nice big palapa with hammocks which made for the perfect sunset watching. Offered as well for a great price and high value were surfing lessons. Rodrigo was a great teacher and I was able to surf in-spite of my great fear of the water! My vacation was not near long enough and I am marking down the days until I am able to return. I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else in Las Tunas. Rodrigo really made you feel like family and at home.

Room Tip: All rooms are of equal quality and any would be a great choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Flalula T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viejamar, Manager at Viejamar Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you very much to you. We work for this. We hope you return. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Stayed here for 4 days and loved every minute of it. Rodrigo, the owner, made us feel at home every single minute we were there. The place is just what I had pictured! Rodrigo has fresh herbs and all kinds of amazing flowers and trees! The path that leads to the beach has a big palapa with hammocks, this is where I hung out most of the time!
Breakfast is included, eggs and bread. Beer and waters are on the honor system.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fussypants7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viejamar, Manager at Viejamar Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you very much to you. We work for this. We hope you return. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

My peace corp volunteer daughter and I stayed here for three nights.
Friendly hosts clean rooms great water and beach

Highly recommend

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wmhutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viejamar, Manager at Viejamar Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you very much to you. We work for this. We hope you return. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Tunas
6 mi away
Hotel Ancora
Hotel Ancora
#1 of 7 in Puerto Lopez
67 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Pacifico
Hotel Pacifico
#3 of 7 in Puerto Lopez
136 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Berlin International Puerto Lopez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Azuluna Ecolodge
Azuluna Ecolodge
#2 of 7 in Las Tunas
101 reviews
0 mi away
Hosteria la Barquita
Hosteria la Barquita
#2 of 4 in Las Tunas
89 reviews
5.7 mi away
Monte Libano Hostal
Monte Libano Hostal
#3 of 16 in Puerto Lopez
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viejamar Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viejamar Hostel

Address: Calle Guayaquil s/n, Las Tunas 5935, Ecuador (Formerly Hostel Viejamar Surf)
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Manabi Province > Las Tunas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Las Tunas
Price Range: $31 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Viejamar Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are 24 minutes north of Montañita, 3 minutes north of Ayampe and 13 minutes south of Puerto Lopez on the beach. Our Hostel are located right in front of the beach with panoramic sea views and direct access to the beach close to Las Tunas. We are between the tropical forest and the ocean, beside Machalilla National Park. This is a perfect starting point for many outdoors activities and adventures. This is a great Surf spot for beginners and advanced surfers with 2 waves: Viejamar and Las Tunas. If you want to learn, we offer Surf lessons for beginners in a friendly and quiet environment. You can cook and share a dinner, organize a barbecue, chill in the pool or drink a cold beer on our high level terrace enjoying a magical sunset. To keep the balance after an adventure, surf or quiet beach day, join us for a "Party Trip" to Montañita or a local party in one of our neighbor towns! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Viejamar Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viejamar Hostel Ecuador/Las Tunas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing