We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Cloud Forest Honeymoon”
Review of Casa Divina Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Divina Lodge
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Mindo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 3, 2010

My husband and I had a fantastic time at Casa Divina. We spent two nights at the lodge and paid for the Discovery Mindo itinerary (with some adjustments tailored to us). We spent just over two weeks in Ecuador, and Mindo was our last stop. After the Galapagos, we thought anything else would pale in comparison, but our Mindo stay offered some of the best times on our honeymoon.

The activities were awesome: zip lining, birding hikes, night hike for frogs, an early morning pilgrimage to the Cock of the Rock, tubing in the Mindo river, orchid garden, butterfly farm, insane cable car ride over a gorge, and a waterfall swim.

The food and hospitality were wonderful - Molly and Efraim are a really great couple and terrific hosts. The accommodations are lovely. And Molly went out of her way to prepare delicious vegetarian food for me and omnivorous offerings for my husband.

And if you are a birder or somewhat interested in birding, Efraim is an amazing birder. He hiked the whole time with us with his spotting scope over his shoulder and was able to quickly set it up for us on toucans, flycatchers, trogon, and a plethora of other species. He is quite a naturalist, and his enthusiasm is great. We felt really lucky to have him as our guide in Mindo.

I really recommend Casa Divina. I am absolutely happy with our time and experience there and feel that the price was fair and reasonable for the services we received.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prizum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 224 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2010

Spent only two nights at Casa Divina and would have loved to spend more. We arrived by private car from Quito. The owner of Casa Divina, Molly, set it up so the car picked us up at our Quito hotel and drove us straight to Mindo. Alex, the driver, was full of stories and music, so it was a great drive.

When we arrived at CD, we were greeted by Molly, two dogs, a staff member, and a wheelbarrow. The car can only go so far, so the welcoming committee escorts you the rest of the way across the small wooden bridge and up a heavily forested, lush path to the main lodge office (bags in the wheelbarrow, of course, unless one of Molly's daughters is hitching a ride!).

The main building is beautiful and still under construction (they will soon be building a second story). Swings for the kids, comfy couches, and a hammock greet you. This is where all meals are served. Molly gets you freshly made coffee and tea while you register, then she takes you to your room.

Our room overlooked lush greenery, everywhere. Hummingbirds darted about and larger birds of all sorts flew around and landed amongst the trees. There was a hammock on our balcony, but the bugs kept us safely inside the room.

Beds are comfortable, though we would have loved to have a fan, as it was rather warm. The bathroom is spare but beautiful, with a great view out the shower window!

The meals at CD were scrumptious! Breakfast was filling and yummy, dinner was multi-coursed and, when complimented with Molly's caipirinhas, perfect. The kitchen staff made fanesca and rice pudding special for good friday and we spent the evening eating by candlelight due to the raging storm outside taking down the powerlines.

We hiked everywhere -- to town is about 30 minutes, to the waterfalls, about an hour. Molly's husband owns the zipline company up the street (Mindo Ropes and Canopy) and we were able to buy tickets ahead of time to skip any lines and get right to zipping (took about 15 minutes to walk there).

I highly recommend Casa Divina. It was a beautiful, comfortable, luxurious place in the middle of the lush cloud forest.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cs79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2010

I had made plans to stay at Casa Divina and although our plans changed and we didn't stay I had a complete price list of all of the activities that were available and at what cost they would be. The owner even took the time to plan out all of our days to make the most of our time.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ttravelerbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

This is a very lovely inn, with great food and charming cabins. But, please be aware that in all of the information they send prior to the trip, they talk about the early morning "Cock of the Rock" hike, and other night hikes, canopy tours, etc - they even send a sample itinerary of all of the fantastic things that you can do at the Inn, and in the area, but they don't mention the costs, like $90 per person for the early morning hike, and $25 per person for the night hike, etc, all disounted if a large group decides to go. Again, this is a great place, but, traveling with a family of 5 people, we were not prepared for the extra charges for everyone to participate in hikes, canopy tours etc.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank momof4inchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2010

Casa Divina is a gem! Gorgeous, hand-crafted rooms, fabulous meals, glorious location, great birding and nature, zip-lines, orchid garden, butterfly museum. Mindo is a fabulous location for travel and Casa Divina is THE place to stay. Knowledgeable owners make the stay here very special. My teens loved being here. They devoured the food and fruit juices. My husband and I enjoyed drinking local cocktails before dinner, watching the birds from the dining room and sleeping at tree-top level. Go on a birding trip with Efraim--we saw around 40 birds in a couple of hours including toucans and quetzals.

I would go back here in a heartbeat. This was the highlight of our trip!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2010

Casa Divina is top-shelf hospitality, worth every penny! We had two nights and wished we could stay a week. I slept deeper than I ever have, in the plush beds in the well-appointed cabins tucked tastefully into nooks carved out of the forest. Hot showers with great water pressure.

The included breakfasts and dinners were home-made and delicious; a highpoint was the owner's mother's apple walnut cake for dessert.

A bevy of eco-tour options abound in Mindo and the owners' happily helped us set up a birdwatching tour, on which I realized my life-long dream of seeing the elusive Quetzal bird.

Mindo is a magical place, and Casa Divina is the perfect choice for all-inclusive lodging.

I heartily recommend without any reservations (you however, might want to make reservations, as they ight

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erinelizabethusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2010

We had a fantastic time in this natural paradise. Great from all angles - beautiful cabins, amazing nature, fantastic food and true hospitality!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E_Jel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mindo
0.3 mi away
Las Terrazas de Dana Lodge
4.7 mi away
El Abrazo del Arbol
El Abrazo del Arbol
#5 of 8 in Mindo
113 reviews
0 mi away
CasKaffeSu
CasKaffeSu
#7 of 8 in Mindo
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Cabanas Bird Planet
Cabanas Bird Planet
#6 of 8 in Mindo
41 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mindo Coffee Lodge Spa
17.7 mi away
Mashpi Lodge
Mashpi Lodge
#1 of 1 in Pacto
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Divina Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Divina Lodge

Address: 1.2km Via a la Cascada Nambillo | Pichincha, Mindo, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Mindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Mindo
Price Range: $208 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Divina Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Divina Lodge is located 1.2 km (3/4 mi.) outside the town of Mindo in the western lowlands of the Pichincha Province in Ecuador, South America. About 2 hours northwest of Quito, the valley of Mindo forms part of a larger biodiversity hotspot known as the Andean Choco Region. We are proud to offer comfortable and elegant accommodation in the middle of the cloudforest. The town of Mindo offers many activities for the outdoor, nature-seeking traveler. World class birdwatching is at its best in and around the Mindo area. Please inquire about birdwatching packages and personalized tours.At Casa Divina Lodge we provide delicious home-style meals and comfortable accommodations for those who want an adventure by day and an elegant and cozy place to rest by night. As well as an experienced bird guide, Efrain, owner and builder, is a talented carpenter and has demonstrated his love for wood in each of the hand-built cabins as well as almost all of the wooden furniture in the lodge. We are a family-run business that holds high standards in service to our guests and also towards our employees. We value those that work with us greatly. We are proud to have a dedicated staff that is happy to be here and has been with us for an extended period, making the atmosphere here that much more warm and family-oriented.We welcome families that travel together, as well as guests with young children. We have two children and know what a great opportunity and advantage it is for children to experience a broader sense of the world through travel. We run a small capacity lodge on a private nature reserve, so whether you are dedicated birdwatchers, honeymooners or a traveling family Casa Divina Lodge offers the perfect cloudforest experience.We support community tourism by working with other family-run businesses in the area. We encourage our guests to get out and experience the variety of activities available in the region. For the adventure seekers there is zip lining through the trees, tubing down the Mindo River and rappelling down one of many local waterfalls. Delight your sweet tooth on a rainy afternoon at the local chocolate factory. For nature lovers there is a morning at the butterfly farm, a tour at the orchid garden and the after dinner night hike. For avid bird watchers you can't miss the cock-of-the-rock lek, a visit to the Paz de Las Aves Reserve and humming bird observation.But you won't want to spend all of your time out of doors. Casa Divina is a place where life slows down. A place where you are invited to relax on the sofa with a good book, or in your hammock for a refreshing siesta.Our meals are a healthy blend of traditional Ecuadorian and international fare. And don't forget the desserts. Each evening a unique sweet inspiration is served from the ovens of the Sweet Goddess Bakery. For those who can't get enough of our cooking (or just want to stay in for the day) we offer lunch, snacks, drinks and-of course-coffee and tea all day long. Unlimited filtered drinking water is also available in your room as well as in the main house.Mindo is a small town located in the Ecuadorian western lowlands (more commonly know as cloud forest) where so many ideals come together: the climate is just right (the nickname for this valley is "the land of eternal spring"), the biodiversity will make even the most amateur nature seeker giddy with excitement, malaria does not exist here (no pills, no side effects), and the community is conscientious and moving ahead in the eco-tourism movement. You will see informative signs posted throughout town about the effects of pollution and all households and businesses separate our waste into organic and non-organic bins. The young people from Mindo are proud of their town, their work and the opportunity to have an international experience in a small rural town.Although Mindo still has a long way to go in its development as an "eco-destination," change and progress are happening and it's exciting to be part of the process. We invite you to come and kick up your heels at Casa Divina Lodge and participate in community tourism in the making. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Divina Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Divina Cloudforest Retreat Hotel Mindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing