We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birding at San Jorge de Milpe”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mindo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
San Jorge de Milpe Eco-Lodge Orchid & Bird Reserve
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Mindo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed December 19, 2013

My wife loves birds. She was ecstatic when she discovered San Jorge as a way to spend 5 days observing the many birds in Ecuador. We were fortunate to have as our guide the owner Dr. Jorge Cruz for 4 of our 5 days. Jorge's ability to spot birds while driving the custom designed van and then set up his spotting scope, if necessary, so we could see them was a major plus for us. We spent 2 nights at San Jorge de Tandayapa in the Cloud Forest and another 2 nights at San Jorge de Milpe in the Tropical Forest. The accommodation at San Jorege de Milpe was especially wonderful as it was brand new and we were the first occupants.
The staff at both locations was attentive and helpful and the food (Ecuadorian) at both locations was great.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank The_City_Hiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
There are newer reviews for San Jorge de Milpe Eco-Lodge Orchid & Bird Reserve
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 87 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2013

I spent 8 days with three fellow bird photographers visiting the Quito, Tandayapa and Milpe lodges. We photographed birds on the hotel grounds at all three, superb photo-ops. In addition, Dr. Jorge Cruz skillfully guided us for additional photography at Yanacocha, Antisana, Jerusalem, the Milpe lodge grounds, and Angel Paz's Cock-of-the-Rock lek and antipittas near Mindo. His knowledge of the birds of Ecuador is outstanding, and he is lively and fascinating company. Food, by cooks supervised by Irina Cruz, excellent! Rooms and service outstanding. The staff uniformly helpful and friendly. We spent a full 2.5 days photographing from the restaurant area at Tandayapa, sensational for hummingbirds and tanagers. Don't miss the feeding stations at Yanacocha, or Angel Paz's refuge, but all the areas we visited were worth the visit. This was my first visit to mainland Ecuador; the birds are sensational, and it would be hard to beat the three San Jorge lodges as places to see and photograph them, and Jorge as a bird guide.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

From September 6th to 16th of 2013, my friends, Dan Suzio, Gary Weller and Tom Grey, joined me in a memorable excursion to the heart of Northwestern Ecuador. Our 8 day photography expedition, was hosted and guided by Dr. Jorge Cruz, owner of the Ecolodges San Jorge in Milpe, Tandayapa, Cosanga and Quito.


During that short period of time we were able to photograph over 60 species of birds. Dr. Cruz, Cheryl, Stanley, Doña Pilar, Vicente, Fernando, Maria and the rest of the staff, were very professional, knowledgeable and enthusiastic and went the extra mile to provide an excellent service to our group.


I greatly recommend San Jorge Eco lodges for other birders as wells as photographers. I can’t wait to go back to Ecuador to visit more of the fantastic destinations that the country has to offer.

Here is the link to my Ecuador pictures.



http://www.flickr.com/photos/ysaenz/sets/72157635574335271/


Sincerely,

Yamil Saenz

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Yamil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The San Jorge de Milpe lodge is nestled in a nice forest setting. The lodge and rooms are very comfortable and no shoes are allowed so they can keep the place nice and clean. Their is a fifteen minute walk from the parking area on a trail which can be very muddy so this may be difficult for those hauling luggage but a number of birds can be seen en route.

The dining area just adjacent to the lodge contains some bird feeding stations and our group saw a number of hummingbirds, Masked Trogan, Dark Backed Wood Quail and other species. Some members of the group lacked hot water in their rooms which was the main difficulty experienced but the food served was very good.

Overall, a nice place to stay with wildlife viewing opportunities. Would stay here again but remember accessing the place may be on a trail which can be a muddy and slick ten to fifteen minute walk

Room Tip: All rooms have access to balcony with nice forest views
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ted V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We spent 3 nights at San Jorge de Milpe in late September after spending 2 nights at San Jorge Quito. Everything about the lodge and location was perfect. The birding was of course excellent. Having a guide is very helpful; our English-speaking guide Danny was able to find and quickly identify the birds. The trails are very well maintained and easy to follow. The views from the veranda were amazing and the room was quite comfortable. The food was excellent and plentiful. Most importantly, everyone we met at San Jorge de Milpe and at San Jorge Quito was very friendly and helpful. Cheryl was extremely helpful in arranging the trip. We hope to visit San Jorge Tandayapa next year.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank jahoover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

This is a lovely and relaxing place. Gorgeous surroundings with an endless supply of hummingbirds and other colorful EC birds.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ESJ8453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Tandayapa was amazing but this was yet another gem. Different but equally worthwhile. Birds, nature, swimming holes and again the accommodation was extremely good. This was the third element of a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SKIMember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mindo
0.0 mi away
Casa Divina Lodge
Casa Divina Lodge
#3 of 8 in Mindo
218 reviews
0.0 mi away
Las Terrazas de Dana Lodge
0.0 mi away
El Abrazo del Arbol
El Abrazo del Arbol
#5 of 8 in Mindo
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
CasKaffeSu
CasKaffeSu
#6 of 8 in Mindo
165 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
0.0 mi away
Mindo Coffee Lodge Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Jorge de Milpe Eco-Lodge Orchid & Bird Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Jorge de Milpe Eco-Lodge Orchid & Bird Reserve

Address: San Jorge de Milpe Private Reserve | Milpe, Mindo, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Mindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Mindo
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Jorge de Milpe Orchid & Bird Reserve has 2 Eco-Lodges on prime birding & hiking property, located on 260 acres in the Upper Tropical Rainforest. This private reserve offers spectacular scenery, pristine trails, running rivers, 11 waterfalls, over 450 species of tropical birds, mammals, hundreds of butterflies, numerous wild orchids, a wide array of tropical flora and fauna, and swimming at the waterfalls. GRAND OPENING - San Jorge NEW Forest Eco-Lodge with 12 Deluxe spacious rustic bungalow Suites with Views & Private Balcony with 2 queen beds & private bath. See birds from your room - picturesque large windows! Spacious open air restaurant & bar with views; reading room, lounge, 90' high bird observation Tower over canopy, hummingbird & toucan feeders. San Jorge Cliff Eco-Lodge (Scientific Research Center) with 8 double rooms with 2 twin beds & private bath, observatory deck, and active hummingbird feeders. Dine at our open air restaurants with delicious cuisine and beautiful rainforest ambiance, offering superb photography options. Both Lodges offer the ideal retreat for birdwatchers, photographers, and nature lovers alike. Guided Birdwatching, Hiking, and Natural History Tours can be reserved in advance, including transportation from downtown Quito. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing