We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, homey and friendly place.”
Review of CasKaffeSu

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mindo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
CasKaffeSu
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Mindo
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
“Fun, homey and friendly place.”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Fun, homey and friendly place with wonderful owners. They bend over backwards to make their guests happy. Good food, both Ecuadoran and American dishes. They also make great coffee drinks with the coffee that they grow on their own coffee farm.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrgojodvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    36
    8
    8
    5
See reviews for
23
76
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Location:

Mindo is a beautiful place, but even off season it was over run with tourists.
In the middle of the small village Mindo in a small site street, directly next to a bakery.
All other hotels, and "shops" are within a 200 m radius, as well as the bus stop.
If you are fit in walking it should be no problem to walk to the butterfly - farm (4 km?) , as well as to the waterfalls (although I admit, that it was an exhausting 7 km climbing of the hills). If not you can easily find a "taxi" everywhere - but I would really recommend you to walk...


Maintainance & Employee:

The hotel is run by a couple (American & Ecuadorian) and well maintained. Its innercourt is beautiful and also the furnitures (including the bed) are nice, clean and comfortable. During our stay, we had a small power-cutt off - so for some time there was no light and no warm water. The owners and the staff is very nice and helpful - but there are no free maps of mindo - so either bring your own map - or a good memory of the streets - although its quite small - at the beginning it can be confusing.


Food & Drinks:

Like the name already indicates - you can get real! coffe here. You can get breakfast american style - or chose only a nice cup of coffee and get your rolls at the bakery next door - but the food is quite nice and not overpriced.

Extras:

- Luggage storage
- best coffee around
- few books of hummingbirds and Co.
- free to fill your own bottles of water with pure water

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Spent two days and two nights with Caskaffesu (CAScada, KAFFE, SUsan), and had such a great experience. The hospitality here is off the charts.

The hotel and restaurant is run by American expat Susan and her Ecuadorean husband Luis and feels like an extension of home from the moment you walk in the door. They serve coffee grown from their own plantation 7km down the street and roast it themselves on the roof (!!!). It is freaking GOOD, too. The rooms are large, comfortable, and dirt cheap. Hot water in the showers, laundry services provided (one load wash and dry for $5), and incidentally one of the best restaurants in town. Very quiet at night and the wifi is really fast (only available in reception and restaurant/cafe area).

Would absolutely return if I come back to Mindo again sometime in the future, such a wonderful experience.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Antesa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denstone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Whilst I was in Mindo the weather was quite inclement but each night the log fire at Caskaffesu was lit. It was a lovely hostel where the owners provided a friendly ambience and nothing seemed too much trouble. The breakfasts and evening meals were lovely as was the coffee for which the place was renowned. I would definitely recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

After a day of torrential rain on a motorcycle, it was so very nice to meet Susan. She welcomed us with open arms and was so friendly we forgot our woes of the day. Very cute property, in the heart of Mindo. We only stayed one night, but we would warmly recommend it to all seasoned travellers.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vinlays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We spent 5 days in Caskaffesu Hostal. The staff were really nice, helpful, and friendly. They have a beautiful garden. The food in their restaurant is excellent too! I would recommend this hostal for anyone who is spending time in Mindo.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 765masi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

the owners really know what they are doing. restaurant was great and was 100 times better than any other restaurant in town. very detailed service. friendly. bi-lingual Eng-Span. Our room was very nice, not that cheap but worth it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mindo hotels
0.0 mi away
El Abrazo del Arbol
El Abrazo del Arbol
#5 of 8 in Mindo
108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Las Terrazas de Dana Lodge
0.0 mi away
Casa Divina Lodge
Casa Divina Lodge
#3 of 8 in Mindo
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cabanas Bird Planet
Cabanas Bird Planet
#7 of 8 in Mindo
34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mindo Coffee Lodge Spa
0.0 mi away
Hosteria Septimo Paraiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CasKaffeSu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasKaffeSu

Property: CasKaffeSu
Address: Calle Sixto Duran Ballen y Av. Quito, Mindo 3900-400, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Mindo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Mindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Caskaffesu Hotel Mindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing