We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hostel in Mindo”
Review of CasKaffeSu

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mindo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
CasKaffeSu
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Mindo
Tempe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great hostel in Mindo”
Reviewed July 29, 2008

The price, the food, the accomodations and the owners/operators, Susan and Luis, can't be beat. Sitting on their porch, reading a book, drinking one of their great smoothies and watching it rain, was one of my favorite memories of my recent vacation. The rain part was so welcome because I live in the desert! Jackie

Helpful?
1 Thank jackie1639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    36
    8
    8
    5
See reviews for
23
76
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington,DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2008

I certainly would not consider CasKaffeSu a typical Hostal. My 4 friends and I stayed there for a night in June and had the time of our lives. Susan and Luis are fantastic people. Hospitable doesn't even begin to describe them.

CasKaffeSu is clean and has excellent food. The meals were so reasonable, delicious and the dessert was to die for! The banana bread and brownies are a must have while staying there.

Overall, our time in Mindo was special due to the warmth and hospitality of Susan and Luis.

  • Liked — The cleanliness and food
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovingLifeInEcuador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2008

CasKaffeSu is attractive, colorful, comfortable, and only a year old. Hosts Susan and Luis were friendly and helpful. The hotel is in the town itself, and so has easy access to small stores, etc. Mindo is a tiny town and so it is quiet at the hotel.

We had a room with a king-size bed; our daughter had a separate room and we shared the bathroom. Cost was $20 per night per person, including breakfast, for this set of two rooms [other rooms are less expensive.]

There is very limited off-street parking, but that probably doesn't matter in Mindo.

  • Liked — Friendly host; clean and attractive facility
  • Disliked — sink drained slowly
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wagmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 350 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2008

We stayed at this small hostal/b&b for 2 nights following our Celebrity Galapagos cruise. Our room was in the yellow building, upstairs, with a king bed and private bath-there also was an adjoining room which was blocked off for our stay but could be used by a family. Susan and Luiz are extremely nice hosts. Our room was spacious and quiet and overlooked the interior courtyard. Breakfeast was included in the rate and other meals are well prepared, inexpensive, and well attended by locals, guests, and other tourists, which demonstrated the quality and the reputation of the cooking. The small b&b was quiet and clean. Personal items can be stored with the owners as there is no room safe. Internet is available in nearby cafes in this small 5 block town, pop. 2500. A small butterfly museum is about a 30 minute fairly level walk from the hostal, and the waterfalls approaches and canopy rides are within 45-minute+ uphill hikes. If it has rained the day before, the hike to the waterfalls can be slippery and treacherous and probably should be avoided. Susan arranged for a birding guide for the morning who was excellent-hernann, brother of marcela, and we also attempted to hike to the falls but averted the hike on the private falls path because of wet conditions. You should arrange for a taxi from the Ofelia bus terminal in the northern part of your city and purchase tickets for the return trip to quito at the small bus ticket office on arrival as the bus is small and may be fully occupied. Unlike some buses in Mexico and elsewhere in Latin America.,the bus is comfortable but not delux-no toilets (tho you can request a stop for a bano en route-and no tv, but reclining seats. Sitting on the right to Mindo is most scenic and the opposite on return. Other restaurants for dinner without problems include Kissima and El Chef. Bus tickets can be purchsed thru a local Quito travell agency like Andesconexion for a $10 service fee, far less than the round trip taxi fare to Ofelia which is a bit dodgy, large, and can be confusing-and watch your bags and keep them close at all times. Have your Quito hotel confirm the bus schedule for your travel day, notwithstanding your tickets and arrive at least 20 minutes early for your seats on the bus. I have photos if you want them tho rooms are as shown on the website.

  • Liked — friendly owners/hosts, clean, nice rooms and good restaurant
  • Disliked — n.a.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
429 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2008

This is the nicest of all of the lodgings in Mindo that I saw, or ate at. The rooms are large with bathrooms attached (and are quite reasonable in price - about $15 per person, plus tax). There is a full-service restaurant attached with breakfast, lunch and dinner service.
Dinner meals consist of chicken, beef - steaks, fish as well as other foods. I had pepper steak one night and talapia another. Everything was prepared well and the dinner meals run only about $3.75 - $7.50 (for filet mignon!). The hosts are welcoming and speak perfect Spanish and English and can arrange all of the local activities for you, including the Canopy zip-lines, Cascades hikes, taxis, etc.
One thing I enjoyed a great deal was having afternoon ice cream on their lovely patio - balcony area. They have more fruit delights than I have ever had before!
This is a gem of a place and I would happily plan a return visit.

  • Liked — Large rooms and beds, private bathroom, easy access to activities, inexpensive
  • Disliked — I should have booked a longer stay
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrliterature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2008

I highly recommend this wonderful little bed and breakfast in mindo. It is called a Hostel but it has full amenities and private rooms and includes breakfast. Susan and Luis are awesome. They are fabulously helpful and interesting people. You will have a lovely night's sleep and enjoy the yummy food. I recommend you also try their pork chops for dinner--yummy! The rooms are very lovely, colourful, comfortable, and quaint. You just have to walk a half a block from the bus station so that makes it quite convenient. We went hiking to see the cloud forest, waterfalls, butterflies, etc. Everything was right near the hotel. Mindo is very peaceful so I hope you are able to enjoy this little piece of paradise.

  • Liked — So cozy and inviting--feels like a home away from home
  • Disliked — No problems
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C. Canada
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2008

We didn't stay here (rather at El Descanso, perfect for birders and wonderful accommodation) but came to eat the delicious chocolate brownies. Highly recommended.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank Caminoista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mindo hotels
0.0 mi away
El Abrazo del Arbol
El Abrazo del Arbol
#5 of 8 in Mindo
108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Las Terrazas de Dana Lodge
0.0 mi away
Casa Divina Lodge
Casa Divina Lodge
#3 of 8 in Mindo
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cabanas Bird Planet
Cabanas Bird Planet
#7 of 8 in Mindo
34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mindo Coffee Lodge Spa
0.0 mi away
Hosteria Septimo Paraiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CasKaffeSu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasKaffeSu

Property: CasKaffeSu
Address: Calle Sixto Duran Ballen y Av. Quito, Mindo 3900-400, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Mindo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Mindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Caskaffesu Hotel Mindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing