We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable”
Review of CasKaffeSu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
CasKaffeSu
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Mindo
Reviewed May 20, 2013

we stayed for a week. Susan was very friendly and helpful, set up trips and experiences, knows the locals and made great recommendations. I loved my room, beautifully decorated and clean.
We heard about Susan and Luis through travelers while staying in Quito, EC They were so right!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorothy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
There are newer reviews for CasKaffeSu
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 165 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2013

The hotel owner is very nice and helpful. She helped us with our plans to see area attractions and even arranged for a driver. However, the rooms are musty. Our room had mold on the ceiling. The door to the bathroom is very narrow (and I'm a size 4) and the bathroom is cramped. There is no place to store clothes. I do not like living out of my suitcase. The room was inexpensive but even at that I will not be back.

I'll return to Mindo, it's a beautiful area. But I'll try a different hostel next time.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marianna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Great people, fantastic food, clean rooms, good rates. The most expensive item on the menu was 11.00 for a great beef dinner. I would defiantly go back for a longer stay. I don't think that I have 200 characters.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Montinmaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Gorgeously built house with courtyard, garden and restaurant just off main street. By the looks of it you can truly tell the sweet and welcoming owners Susan & Luis put a lot of love and personal care in this place. Wonderful architecture with a very warm and authentic feel. Colourful plastered walls, much attention to detail, lush tropical garden including lots of hummingbirds, great restaurant with fireplace and terrace, fab food, wine and coffee and as mentioned lovely hosts who will go all the way for you. Beautiful, clean, comfy and very affordable rooms.

As I am writing this review, I realise words and pics just cannot describe how unique and atmospheric this little gem is. And although it has been almost 4,5 years since I stayed here as a solo traveler, I will never, ever, forget it. Unfortunately due to a tight schedule I only stayed for one night, otherwise I would have probably stayed forever ;). I think I was the only one there at the time, which made it even more special, 'cause therefore an additional bonus was the long inspiring and admirable chat Susan and I had about how they made their dreams come through by moving here. She also gave me some very reliable advice on how to make the most of my time in Mindo cloud forest and it all turned out brilliantly.

Needless to say I can highly recommend CasKaffeSu to all travellers alike!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LalaLola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We had such a great experience at this hostel! Susan and Luis Alban really know how to maintain a clean and beautiful atmosphere, and were very accommodating to our group of 12. The rooms were very clean and the showers were nice. Bugs are obviously around the area, but the hostel didn't seem too bad. You do not need mosquito nets at this hostel. The restaurant was also delicious, and the coffee was a very nice treat compared to all the Nescafe that we were drinking in Quito. Best of all, Susan was like a mother away from home. She helped us with everything we needed and gave us extra towels and linens. I would recommend this hostel to anyone! Make sure you take the El Quetzal chocolate tour and zip line if you can. Mindo is a place I will always remember!

Room Tip: We had three rooms with our group. They were all very nice! Some rooms have connecting bathrooms. I...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HudsonFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed here with a group for one night. Initially, it appeared as if the hostel didn't have enough room, but Susan managed to rearrange the rooms so we could all be accommodated comfortably.
Caskaffesu's grounds are located about a 30 second walk from the main street. The environment is really beautiful, as well as the rooms. The style and color palette of the entire atmosphere is really calming, the beds are comfortable and the showers have hot water.
Luis and Susan are both bilingual, therefore able to help accommodate for you in either language, as well as give you pointers of things to do and answer any questions you have.
The restaurant is AWESOME. I ate breakfast, lunch, and dinner there. My biggest recommendations are the fried yuca with cheese and any of the batidos!
Overall, Susan and Luis really enhanced our excursion in Mindo, and I plan on returning!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaitlinMcGuire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

This was a somewhat disappointing experience. The hostel was overpriced for what it actually was - no breakfast and the "water program"... There are many other hostels in town that are just as nice and include breakfast and water... Also, it is very noisy with people up and around in the court yard early in the morning.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mindo hotels
0.0 mi away
El Abrazo del Arbol
El Abrazo del Arbol
#5 of 8 in Mindo
110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Divina Lodge
Casa Divina Lodge
#3 of 8 in Mindo
218 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabanas Bird Planet
Cabanas Bird Planet
#7 of 8 in Mindo
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Las Terrazas de Dana Lodge
0.0 mi away
Mindo Coffee Lodge Spa
0.0 mi away
Hosteria Septimo Paraiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CasKaffeSu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasKaffeSu

Address: Calle Sixto Duran Ballen y Av. Quito, Mindo 3900-400, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Mindo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Mindo
Price Range: $45 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your CasKaffeSu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caskaffesu Hotel Mindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing