We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love at first sight!”
Review of CasKaffeSu

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mindo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
CasKaffeSu
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Mindo
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love at first sight!”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Gorgeously built house with courtyard, garden and restaurant just off main street. By the looks of it you can truly tell the sweet and welcoming owners Susan & Luis put a lot of love and personal care in this place. Wonderful architecture with a very warm and authentic feel. Colourful plastered walls, much attention to detail, lush tropical garden including lots of hummingbirds, great restaurant with fireplace and terrace, fab food, wine and coffee and as mentioned lovely hosts who will go all the way for you. Beautiful, clean, comfy and very affordable rooms.

As I am writing this review, I realise words and pics just cannot describe how unique and atmospheric this little gem is. And although it has been almost 4,5 years since I stayed here as a solo traveler, I will never, ever, forget it. Unfortunately due to a tight schedule I only stayed for one night, otherwise I would have probably stayed forever ;). I think I was the only one there at the time, which made it even more special, 'cause therefore an additional bonus was the long inspiring and admirable chat Susan and I had about how they made their dreams come through by moving here. She also gave me some very reliable advice on how to make the most of my time in Mindo cloud forest and it all turned out brilliantly.

Needless to say I can highly recommend CasKaffeSu to all travellers alike!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LalaLola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    36
    8
    8
    5
See reviews for
23
76
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Twin Cities
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We had such a great experience at this hostel! Susan and Luis Alban really know how to maintain a clean and beautiful atmosphere, and were very accommodating to our group of 12. The rooms were very clean and the showers were nice. Bugs are obviously around the area, but the hostel didn't seem too bad. You do not need mosquito nets at this hostel. The restaurant was also delicious, and the coffee was a very nice treat compared to all the Nescafe that we were drinking in Quito. Best of all, Susan was like a mother away from home. She helped us with everything we needed and gave us extra towels and linens. I would recommend this hostel to anyone! Make sure you take the El Quetzal chocolate tour and zip line if you can. Mindo is a place I will always remember!

Room Tip: We had three rooms with our group. They were all very nice! Some rooms have connecting bathrooms. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HudsonFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed here with a group for one night. Initially, it appeared as if the hostel didn't have enough room, but Susan managed to rearrange the rooms so we could all be accommodated comfortably.
Caskaffesu's grounds are located about a 30 second walk from the main street. The environment is really beautiful, as well as the rooms. The style and color palette of the entire atmosphere is really calming, the beds are comfortable and the showers have hot water.
Luis and Susan are both bilingual, therefore able to help accommodate for you in either language, as well as give you pointers of things to do and answer any questions you have.
The restaurant is AWESOME. I ate breakfast, lunch, and dinner there. My biggest recommendations are the fried yuca with cheese and any of the batidos!
Overall, Susan and Luis really enhanced our excursion in Mindo, and I plan on returning!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaitlinMcGuire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGExplore
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

This was a somewhat disappointing experience. The hostel was overpriced for what it actually was - no breakfast and the "water program"... There are many other hostels in town that are just as nice and include breakfast and water... Also, it is very noisy with people up and around in the court yard early in the morning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AGExplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We spent three nights at this lovely hostel, operated by Luis and Susan Albán. Located a half block from the main street ... just far enough to be away from the noise ... and close enough to get to the restaurants, chocolate factories, main square, etc. They have good food available for all meals, from 8 AM to 8 PM. Many in our group would have liked earlier service in the morning so that they could get out to do bird watching, and exploring the area. Their great espresso machine generally made the wait worthwhile. The only negative is that table service was spotty, especially when a few tables were occupied.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that back up to the bus station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, oregon
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We were not able to stay here because they were full, but we had two good meals here and enjoyed talking with the owners and playing with their dogs. This hostal has three things going for it...1) It is conveniently located around the corner from the bus station, 2) It takes VISA, and 3) It has a restaurant that offers an evening meal. This is especially welcome during the rainy season when it may start pouring rain at 4 PM, stranding you at another accommodation without a restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilredd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We just went there for food, and did we like it. It ticks all the right boxes, from ambiance to the food. Us being vegetarians, this was a treat and the hosts were gracious enough to give us some good recommendations. And yes, we had all our meals here for our stay in Quito.

Strongly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mindo hotels
0.0 mi away
El Abrazo del Arbol
El Abrazo del Arbol
#5 of 8 in Mindo
108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Las Terrazas de Dana Lodge
0.0 mi away
Casa Divina Lodge
Casa Divina Lodge
#3 of 8 in Mindo
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cabanas Bird Planet
Cabanas Bird Planet
#7 of 8 in Mindo
34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mindo Coffee Lodge Spa
0.0 mi away
Hosteria Septimo Paraiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CasKaffeSu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasKaffeSu

Property: CasKaffeSu
Address: Calle Sixto Duran Ballen y Av. Quito, Mindo 3900-400, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Mindo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Mindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Caskaffesu Hotel Mindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing