We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and friendly intro to Mindo”
Review of CasKaffeSu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
CasKaffeSu
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Mindo
Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at Caskaffesu, Susan was really friendly and helpful and the rooms were lovely. We got fresh clean towels every day due to the climate in Mindo meaning that wet towels didn't dry very well. We got great recommendations for what to do in Mindo from Susan and the food was brilliant. The caskaffesu brownies are deservedly famous. Wifi was great but you could only really get a good signal from the restaurant area. It would've been great to have breakfast included in the price as $16 per person for a double room was a little high in comparison to other hostels in the area, but the service more than made up for it. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heygepetto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 166 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2012

My husband and I ate here only a few days ago. The food was fantastic! We had been finding that lots of food in Ecuador was particularly salty but this food was amazing. Would definitely recommend eating here when you are visiting Mindo.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

stayed here for a couple of nights in march. chilled out, friendly and comfortable. great spot to base yourself for the activities and walks that mindo has on offer. nice food for dinner. will be great when they are producing their own coffee and selling it...yum-o!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lacasaverde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Great atmosphere and lovely rooms in this affordable hostal. Really enjoyed the food too.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickOpReis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in Mindo and Caskffesu was perfect. We would've stayed longer and weren't ready to leave yet. Susan and Luis were very helpful and always ready to answer our questions. The rooms were bright and cheery, clean, with hot showers. Clean towels everyday with soap and shampoo. The food was excellent and not overpriced. Susan arranged a birding tour with Julia for us and it was so successful, that we did it again on the next day. We will return again for sure. Thanks to both of you for making our stay so special.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We stayed 2 days in Mindo and visited CasKaffeSu two nights in a row. They cook great food using "disinfected" vegetables as they say on the menu!!! The coffee and brownies are excellent and you can enjoy them inside by the fire if it's raining outside!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

A somewhat hidden “gem in Mindo.” Just ½ block off the main busy street making it very quiet. Rooms are very clean and have the most wonderful HOT showers.

Don’t know when it got painted but the colors are no longer as shown on the pictures, it is very restful. Sorry we don’t have any pix of the place.

THE BEST COFFEE WE FOUND IN ALL OF ECUADOR, and just $1 for a huge cup, made to order for you, not out of a pot that’s getting old.

Sue (the Su part of CasCaffeSu) could not have been more helpful, even when she seemed very busy she always had time to give us tips and useful information. She made reservations for us (for free) for the “frog concert” which is another ‘must see’ but don’t pay the big bucks to stay at Mindo Lago, not worth $75/night when you can stay at Cascaffesu for $16.

Another surprise came when we checked out and found the $16.00 per person/per night that is advertised, included all tax, the room is really just over $14 before tax, etc. Very honest people. They may have given a little discount to our tour guide, we're not sure.

Had dinner one night, a delicious steak dinner with all the trimmings and it only came to something near $20 for my husband and I, including beer and wine. The chefs cook with lots of garlic so it smells heavenly when you walk in.

Will probably never be there again but highly recommend it for anyone looking for a quite, clean, inexpensive place to stay where you feel safe and can actually eat the delicious foods they prepare with lots of care for the American belly...

They do allow their dog in the dining room - I have alergies but just kept my distance.

Room Tip: We only saw the rooms we stayed in and they were very quiet. They were facing the little garden/cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank myraslav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mindo hotels
0 mi away
El Abrazo del Arbol
El Abrazo del Arbol
#5 of 9 in Mindo
113 reviews
0 mi away
Cabanas Bird Planet
Cabanas Bird Planet
#6 of 9 in Mindo
41 reviews
0 mi away
Las Terrazas de Dana Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Casa Divina Lodge
Casa Divina Lodge
#3 of 9 in Mindo
224 reviews
0 mi away
Mindo Coffee Lodge Spa
0 mi away
Bio Hostal Mindo Cloud Forest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CasKaffeSu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasKaffeSu

Address: Calle Sixto Duran Ballen y Av. Quito, Mindo 3900-400, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Mindo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Mindo
Price Range: $47 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your CasKaffeSu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caskaffesu Hotel Mindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing